We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very reasonable and comfortable B&B. Clean and comfy bed”
Review of Arran House

Arran House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arran House
Ranked #70 of 72 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very reasonable and comfortable B&B. Clean and comfy bed”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Great B&B right smack in the middle of town and minutes walk from shops, golf and the beach. Reasonable rates with a full and hearty breakfast cooked to order. The lady that greeted us was very helpful and friendly giving us keys to the room and front door so we could come and go as we please. Definitely a change from hotel life especially when you only want to sleep in the room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
15
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Andrews, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I live in St Andrews, & my Mum, who can't manage stairs, stayed here for a few nights in December as they have ground floor bedrooms with a walk in shower. I chose the twin room, in case she got confused, she did, so I ended up staying too.
We were treated with total understanding, and all in all were delighted with our stay.
The room was very warm & comfortable, there was a comfy sofa to sink into, everything was as it should be.
Many thanks to Anne & her family, & Carol.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet, ground floor bedrooms great for the less able.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annakucat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed for one night whilst attending a wedding. Room more than adequate with comfortable bed. Everything spotless. Breakfast was well cooked and appetising: more than enough for us. Owners very friendly and helpful throughout. Was picked up by the police for going the wrong way down the one way street but I understand this is rather a common occurrence as the police simply gave me a quiet and polite ticking off! I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fifer_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Stayed here for one night while attending a wedding in St Andrews. Have no complaints.....accomodation clean, comfortable and warm.Breakfast was plentiful and well cooked. I forgot to take soap etc and was pleasantly surprised to find everything was provided. A word of warning Arran House sits on a one way street take care when arriving in the dark as the signs are not very clear...thanks to the local boys in blue for their kind understanding!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed for one night and while there is nothing wrong with Arran House, there is nothing particularly good about it either. It is in a great location, close to everything but then again there is nowhere in St Andrews town that is a bad location, it is a small place. The room was a good size, the bathroom was fine but quite odd - it was like a little box that was placed in the corner, with the roof level much lower than that of the room. Overall, the room and place are just tired looking. Breakfast was fine, nothing spectacular. And the lady running the place was nice enough, but as other people had mentioned she seemed to prefer standing on the pavement smoking and gossiping, which was a bit unpleasant considering she was doing this in between cooking breakfast. All in all, there are MUCH nicer places in St Andrews.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank furtive01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

The welcome from the owners and their initial communication was a bit odd so I didn't have high hopes but our room was really spacious and the bathroom was huge. The seagulls did disrupt my sleep but that's not their fault.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC Canada
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

The Arran House is in a great location in St Andrrews. It is a short walk to everything and a few minutes to the Old Course. The rooms are comfortable, clean and good value. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georges-road-trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.2 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,286 reviews
0.0 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#11 of 17 in St. Andrews
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hoppity House
Hoppity House
#15 of 72 in St. Andrews
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairways of St Andrews
Fairways of St Andrews
#7 of 72 in St. Andrews
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
St Andrews Tourist Hostel
St Andrews Tourist Hostel
#17 of 17 in St. Andrews
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arran House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arran House

Property: Arran House
Address: 5 Murray Park, St. Andrews, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Arran House St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing