We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than the "proper" hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Agnes Blackadder Hall - University of St Andrews
Reviewed August 17, 2013

So. It's a dorm. The rooms are plain and a bit small. But, it's very clean, the beds are very comfy, the breakfasts are completely awesome. You can easily park the car in the car park (in St Andrews this is a luxury in itself.) It's good value for money and the staff are generally nice and helpful. OR you can pay an absolute fortune and stay in a soulless posh hotel and spend big chunks of your holiday looking for somewhere to park the car.

Been coming here for years now. St Andrews in the '60's and '70's was awash with good wee hotels doing Full Board or DB&B. These gradually all vanished and those that remained did (and still do) just B&B. And car parking wasn't an issue. That was then, this is now.

So now your options are dig out one of the remaining B&B gems in town and don't come in the car, come in the car take out a second mortgage and go to one of the big posh hotels (assuming they have a car park), or try here instead (in the summer when the students are not here.)

They used to do DB&B but they sadly went the way of the rest last year and ditched the D. However, that proved not to be too tragic (but hopefully they might bring the D back... hint...)

The third or fourth floors facing out to the front are the best rooms in my opinion (sunsets and sunrises with a - slight - view of the town and the sea.)

It's a 10 minute walk into town but St Andrews is a very walkable place in general so that's not a problem.

Factor in the cost and all in all it's very good value so I don't get what some folk in some reviews are moaning about - perhaps they need a shot in one of the bigger hotels to compare and contrast.

Been here about 10 times now all in and been holidaying in St Andrews for almost 50 years so we do kind of know the territory. Recommended.

Room Tip: Third or fourth floors facing the front; you just have to ask when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 172 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

A very good and relatively cheap alternative to the expensive hotels of St Andrews.
Everything is clean and very well organized.
Good parking in front.
The breakfast is fantastic! Could not be better!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birba52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed here for two nights while attending a wedding. The place is clean and feels modern. The check-in was quick and friendly.

Our room was small and had a small en suite bathroom and a double bed. It would have been fine for single occupancy but was a tight squeeze for two of us with two big suitcases. It was good to have a kettle and nice teabags provided. The toiletries were also good quality Arran Aromatics.

Bizarrely, there was no long hanging space in the wardrobe. I was able to hang my kilt, but it still touched the floor of the wardrobe. Not great, I imagine, for ladies' dresses or long coats. The rooms were pretty well soundproofed and we did sleep soundly.

There was a long (15 minute) queue for breakfast service. The food was however good once we got there.

The place is on the edge of the city but it's only a 15 minute walk to the centre.

A good option if you're on a budget, but the room is tiny. Worth considering one of the university's other, more central halls where you get a much larger room with a shared bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Flying_Scotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is my second stay therefore knew what to expect. Stayed during the Ricoh Womens British Open Golf Championship on the Old Course so very handy for that and lots of secure car parking, specially as car parking in St Andrews town is just impossible. Had a double room for single occupancy small but enough space for me. I always enjoy the full Scottish breakfast included in the price. Ate out in the Jigger Inn (their Hamburger is massive), Bella Italia, Adamson's, and The Dolls House all good food well served and refreshed in the Pub at 1 Golf Place who serve cool Tennents Lager and do the best Hawaiian Pizza in Town. Only disappointment from last visit was that the Halls Bar/Coffee Room did not open until 5pm, a missed opportunity for residents and missed revenue for the Halls. On my previous visit I raised a concern about the Sauna - like temperatures in the buildings and was relieved to find this had been sorted. I look forward to returning for my third visit. Well done to the very friendly staff, it does make a difference.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor with view towards the Old Course Hotel near to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onthecoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed here for 2.5 weeks for a school program.

Pros:
1) only a ten minute walk to the main part of town, where there is enough history, pubs, and shopping to keep anyone happy for at least a few days
2) the room are very clean
3) the staff is very friendly, helpful, and nice
4) the breakfast is a cafeteria breakfast, but offers a wide variety of food for people from all cultures
5) there is a bar in the dorm that serves snack foods from 5pm-10pm
6) if you are a golfer, the big golf course is literally across the street

Cons:
1) the beds are dorm beds, which is a nice way of saying my back was killing me after a few days
2) you can hear everything from your neighboring rooms and the hallways. I am 100% aware that I did not have a single private Skype conversation with my husband, because I could hear my neighbors doing the same
3) large groups of young students (think 10-16 yrs) were here during the summer. They were polite, but sometimes a little loud

Travel tips:
1) Do not leave your room without an umbrella. Even if the sun is shining and there isn't a rain cloud in the sky. Trust me, the rainstorms come quick and strong.
2) Sacrifice cute shoes for comfy shoes. You'll be doing a decent amount of walking, and most of it is on hills and cobblestones.
3) Bring a jacket. It got chilly, even at the end of July.

Overall, my stay at Blackadder Hall was fantastic. I can't wait to come back to St. Andrews, although when I travel with my husband I think we'll need a slightly larger room.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that are booked away from any group blocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend and found it very convenient for the beach and the bus station. The bar meals are well priced. The breakfast service was very efficient given the large number of guests. If you need a taxi back from town, it will cost around £4. We found the staff friendly. The room we stayed in was particularly peaceful. I would agree that given the cost of other accommodation in the town, this is very good value for money.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Trish14-15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We used this place for the woman's open golf. We were well impressed it is clean, tidy. The rooms are a good size and good value for money. Short walk to the golf @ St. Andrews or the town centre. Breakfast was varied and plentiful. Would use again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Clipps11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
3.3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,319 reviews
6.4 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#9 of 17 in St. Andrews
532 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,201 reviews
0.6 mi away
David Russell Apartments
David Russell Apartments
#11 of 18 in St. Andrews
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agnes Blackadder Hall - University of St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agnes Blackadder Hall - University of St Andrews

Address: Agnes Blackadder Hall North Haugh | North Haugh, St. Andrews KY16 9XW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Specialty Lodging in St. Andrews
Price Range: $102 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Agnes Blackadder Hall - University of St Andrews 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open June-August only. Agnes Blackadder Hall is the University of St Andrews' premier residence. We offer the perfect base for those wanting to explore St Andrews, play on the world famous links courses and discover all that the Kingdom of Fife has to offer during the summer months. Our double rooms all feature an en-suite shower room, television, telephone and tea and coffee making facilities. Family rooms are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Agnes Blackadder Hall - University of St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hall - University Of St Andrews Hotel St. Andrews
Agnes Blackadder Hall - University Of St Andrews St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing