We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in St A's holiday season”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Agnes Blackadder Hall - University of St Andrews
Reviewed July 29, 2012

As an alumni who never stayed in hall, it was great to finally get the chance on my recent visit.

Other reviewers have noted that rooms are small. They're not massive, but we booked a twin (which is actually a double double) and had plenty of room, including a large wardrobe and two desks. Beds had cheap mattresses, but were fine for one night. Shower was well powered. Overall, rooms were clean but very very warm. We had the windows open 24/7 and were never cool, and the sun rarely came out.

Reviewers are correct when they note that the hotel is a ten minute walk from the town; but so is the Old Course Hotel ... A shop would be good though, agreed. Breakfast is entirely self-service so somewhat chaotic, but excellent quality.

Overall, if you set your expectation for a budget hotel similar to Travelodge or Premier Inn, you won't be disappointed. You might even be delighted. You'll definitely have money leftover to eat and drink somewhere lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoctorSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 172 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2012

Booked into the New Halls for 2 nights over the Glasgow Fair as St Andrews was very busy.
This place is very well appointed for student accomadation,close to the town,only 15 minutes easy stroll and even closer to the golf courses.
Room small and cosy with en-suite so has all you need,very clean and felt very safe,staff are very cheery and helpful and even had a good laugh with the Janitor.
Ive stayed all over St Andrews from Fairmont to renting a house on North Street and for no more than a couple of nights you cant go wrong here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foodtec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

It's not exactly centrally located, but we could still walk to the main sites of St. Andrews. The continental breakfast and the bar that's open until 11 p.m. were both very useful. And the staff was helpful and allowed us to store our luggage for a few hours after checkout so we could see a few more places before our afternoon train. The rooms aren't big, but hey, it's a dorm. Having an en-suite bathroom was enough of an amenity but be sure to ask for a hair dryer at the front desk because they don't come in the room. The WiFi is easy to use once you get the access code and a printer and two computers are available in the front lobby. And most of all, it's way more affordable than anything else in town during the summer. The only thing we'd do differently next time is to look up the directions to the hall from the bus stops because the campus isn't well-signed.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank 920ElizabethP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The main attraction of New Hall, a dorm at the University of St. Andrews gussied up as a hotel, is that it's much cheaper than many of the other very expensive hotels in this very expensive city that caters to golfers (who are willing to pay exorbitantly to get a shot at the city's famous course). But it's still nearly $100 for a double and that's a lot for a dorm room. There's free WiFi and nice soap and body wash in the bathroom and the woman in the coffee shop whips up a mean vanilla latte. But there's no place to hang up clothes and no room in the rooms for anything much but sleeping. The breakfast is mediocre. And the elevator was out (all day, on a weekday, Why?) I may just be grouchy about all of this because I had to lug a suitcase up four flights of stairs. On the other hand, New Hall's website makes it look better than it is and whoever wrote in Wikipedia that it is a three-star hotel in the summer was hallucinating -- or a golfer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r2croak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Ten or fifteen minutes' walk from town, but not an unpleasant one. You can hop on and off the bus on the main road 5 minutes away instead if you ask reception to point you in the right direction. Friendly staff, spacious bar- even had an ale on, food until 1800. Bit of a warren inside, but comfortable ensuite rooms. Quiet, nice view- lots of rabbits on the lawns. Generous breakfasts- even had gluten free bread, though the hot breakfast was self service with shared tongs so probably tricker for real coeliacs. Wifi worked. I could happily have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phantomtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed at New Hall for one night whilst attending a conference and it was exactly what I would expect from university halls of residence.
The rooms are small but sufficient for one person. It would have been a bit of a squeeze if staying there as a couple. The facilities in the room were basic but included everything you need like en-suite bathroom, tea and coffee making facilities and a TV. The bed was a standard double but was very firm. Not a problem for me but I suspect people who like a soft mattress might find it uncomfortable.
They obviously work hard to try and make it feel like a hotel and not a university hall with things like individually wrapped complimentary toiletries and even a note with your towels that tells you the name of the person who prepared your room for you. Entirely unnecessary but a nice touch.
My one gripe was the fact that there was nowhere on-site to buy newspapers, food etc. There is a small bar but if you want anything else you have to walk into town. It isn't far but if the weather is as bad as it was for me you have to go without. The other minor irritation was the fact that the wifi signal was poor.
All in all - entirely satisfactory for a night on your own on business but not the sort of place I would want to stay if travelling for pleasure

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamieA152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We have used this (summer) Youth Hostel before with no problems but this year (on the first night it was being used as such) we experienced two problems: 1) TV not working due to no remote-a remote was supplied by the time we got back in the evening but the TV still did not work. This was remedied by a very helpful night porter (reception closes at 9pm) supplying the correct remote and a missing aerial lead! 2) The cold water tap did not work leaving us with a choice of scalding hot water or nothing. This the helpful night porter obviously could not solve. This was sorted the next day of our two day stay. What rankled,however, from the whole business, was the cursory attitude of the (manageress?) on departure when we enquired if she wanted a note of our complaints, e-mail address etc. was 'they will get in touch'. Well, they never did as regards our complaint and I'm still waiting!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank happyholidays8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
3.3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,321 reviews
6.4 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#9 of 17 in St. Andrews
533 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,201 reviews
0.6 mi away
David Russell Apartments
David Russell Apartments
#11 of 18 in St. Andrews
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agnes Blackadder Hall - University of St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agnes Blackadder Hall - University of St Andrews

Address: Agnes Blackadder Hall North Haugh | North Haugh, St. Andrews KY16 9XW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Specialty Lodging in St. Andrews
Price Range: $102 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Agnes Blackadder Hall - University of St Andrews 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open June-August only. Agnes Blackadder Hall is the University of St Andrews' premier residence. We offer the perfect base for those wanting to explore St Andrews, play on the world famous links courses and discover all that the Kingdom of Fife has to offer during the summer months. Our double rooms all feature an en-suite shower room, television, telephone and tea and coffee making facilities. Family rooms are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Agnes Blackadder Hall - University of St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hall - University Of St Andrews Hotel St. Andrews
Agnes Blackadder Hall - University Of St Andrews St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing