We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Scores Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$350
$168
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greyfriars Inn(St. Andrews)
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fairmont St Andrews(St. Andrews)
$254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Du Vin(St. Andrews)
$204
$178
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albany Hotel(St. Andrews)
$187
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Vicarsford Lodge(Leuchars)(Great Value!)
$105
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Rufflets Hotel(St. Andrews)
$198
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$527
$495
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (724)
Filter reviews
724 results
Traveler rating
329
250
82
37
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
329
250
82
37
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationwest sandsjunior suitegolf coursesea viewtraditional hotelfantastic roomroom was largeenjoyable stayfantastic viewsthird floorbreakfast roomgolf tripshort staystayed for one nightbreakfast was excellentplay golf
Filter
Updating list...
329 - 334 of 724 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed in room 206 this was a small double no good for anyone tall. We had a view over the water which was nice. The bathroom was bland and dated along with the facility's down stair in the hotel. We were originally charged over £200 for bed and breakfast . As we were with the wedding party we got a discount still almost £170 not worth it. Breakfast was good but the service and attention was slow. St Andrews is a beautiful place to visit and the hotel is central. Parking is limited outside but there is a pay and display further down the road .

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbour79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipRolfe, Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear Barbour79

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us.

We do apologise that we did not meet your expectations, we do take on board your comments with regards to the decor of the hotel.

I would also like to apologise for the drop in standards of the service you received at breakfast, this is not our usual practice and the hotel prides itself on having great staff who look after all our guests as you can see from previous trip adivsor reviews.

I do hope that this does not detract you from giving us another chance to show you what the hotel has to offer.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Right on top of the first tee at the Old Course. A short walk to anywhere. Stayed there a week. Excellent service- incredibly responsive & fast. Be sure to try the lamb shank in the restaurant.(so tender it falls off the bone).

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipRolfe, Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear Jmthor

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us.

We are pleased that you had a great time with us and that our staff looked after you. We have also passed your kind comments onto our kitchen team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your return visit to St Andrews.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

This hotel is all about location. Located only steps from the Old Course, a few blocks from Town Centre and a few blocks from the Castle & Cathedral. Ideal for golfers & non-golfers.

The rooms are a standard room but nice and clean. What more can you ask for. We were fortunate to have a sea view room and you could even get a peak at the Old Course too.

Our booking included breakfast which was very convenient. Breakfast included continental breakfast items as well as a hot buffet there were also some additional hot items that could be ordered off the menu. One morning we had to leave the hotel before breakfast was to start but the front desk let us know that the continental breakfast was set-up early for those heading out for early rounds of gold. So that was nice as we didn't have to sorry about finding breakfast at 6am! The staff in the restaurant was was very friendly and service was quick.

We also had a dinner included I our booking we weren't even aware of. It was a very nice 3 course meal. The hotel dining room isn't bust at all at dinner so it was also a nice quite dinner.

The front desk staff are great. Always would greet us with a smile and a hello. Very friendly. The day we checked out they even stored our luggage for us until after our round of golf so we didn't have to have it sitting I our rental car all day.

Overall a good place to stay

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 519Saskatoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipRolfe, General Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear 519Saskatoon,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the comments about our service. The staff will always be here to greet you with a smile and a hello. We do hope to see you if you return to St Andrews in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I have stayed here twice now and I'll stay here again and again. The staff is incredibly friendly, food is good and the scenery is truly incredible. The hotel itself is beautiful and I love how they have maintained the architecture. Easy walking distance to all the great restaurants and shops. There are newer hotels in and outside of St. Andrews, however I will be hard pressed to try anything different since these folks have always made me feel welcome.

Room Tip: Parking is limited so if you can park and walk, recommend that. We did park and walked all over town and thoroughly enjoyed it.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank guinnessc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipRolfe, General Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear Guinness C,

Thank-you ever so much for taking the time to post a review about the hotel. We are very pleased to hear you have enjoyed staying with us these last two times and will endevour to maintain a high standard of service for your next visit.

Looking forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

The Scores Hotel is one of the most conveniently located hotels to the St. Andrew's Old Course and other attractions in St. Andrews. Our junior suite overlooked the Royal & Ancient Clubhouse and the 1st and 18th holes of the Old Course. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. The on site restaurant was very good for the morning breakfast and the one dinner. Aside from easy access to the Old Course, the hotel is situated just a few minutes away from the Leuchars train station for easy access to Edinburgh. I would consider staying at the Scores Hotel during any future visit to Scotland.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews