We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frist Trip To Scotland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Scores Hotel
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in St. Andrews
Reviewed April 27, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (694)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 694 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

My Wife Son and I Spent Saturday and Sunday 19th & 20th April DBB. We occupied a Suite to the front of the Hotel, it was spacious. The view from our window of the Old Course Hotel and West Beach was Excellent.
The meals were First Class and Compliments to the Kitchen and Waiting Staff.
The Management and Reception were very Helpful/Friendly and could not do enough.
We will Certainly Return.

Room Tip: View from Rooms to the Front is Excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HENRY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend as we were getting married in the University. It's a lovely hotel - although a bit quirky in its functionality. However the character of the place, the size of the accommodation and the really friendly staff all make for a relaxing time.

They ran an evening welcome reception for us and managed the unusual food (Basque Pintxos and Cider) to perfection. The Crema Brie was fabulous. Donna and her team did us proud. Our guests were VERY impressed with it all.

It is probably due something of an overhaul to the rooms but for the price, the location and the welcome it is great value. Having the suite with its own terrace overlooking the West Sands was very relaxing.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms have good sea views. None are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scruff1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and played golf at the old course. Everyone of the 8 of us could not fault any part of our stay here. We all had excellent rooms, very comfortable, spacious and clean with lovely high ceilings. The breakfast was very good, with an ample selection.
The best part of the Hotel were the staff who made us all feel very welcome and nothing was ever too much trouble.
Thanks

Ian & friends

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Forest9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

nothing was to much trouble could not do enough to help all the staff need a particular recommendation on there care and respect of nothing was to much trouble could not have done anymore for anyone really would like to thank certain people Thank you all very much

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alig35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

we stayed for 2 nights in april and really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. we have 2 kids under six so managed to secure the flat like apartment with 2 bedrooms, for a really good price (phoned direct). location is great also, with about a 5 min walk to the town centre and 1 min walk to the beach. breakfast as you'd expect with great views.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Mr M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The hotel is beautifully sited, overlooking the magnificent beach at St. Andrews and within easy walking distance of the university. Our room was large, comfortable and reasonably well appointed. It's not the Ritz, but it's comfortable. Front desk staff were welcoming and pleasant, and the dining room staff were happy to meet our requests for food and drink. As a university parent, I am happy to make the Scores my St. Andrews home.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
537 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,328 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,213 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St. Andrews
405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Scores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Scores Hotel

Address: 76 The Scores, St. Andrews KY16 9BB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#4 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range: $116 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Scores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Scores Hotel is the closest hotel to the 1st tee of the world famous Old Course and the Royal and Ancient Clubhouse.A 5 minute walk will take you to many of the towns attractions including the ancient castle and cathedral ruins, the 600 year old university and the historic town centre.The hotel occupies two traditional Victorian town houses dating back to 1864 and 1880 and retains many of the large former drawing rooms as junior suites. 36 rooms in total, many of which have stunning views views over the West Sands beach whilst others enjoy an outlook over the newly landscaped garden and terraces.Champions Grill has unforgettable views of the West Sands and the 1st tee of the Old Course from its 9 large picture windows - there is no better way to start your day!Alexanders Restaurant offer quality Scottish food in a traditional Victorian setting with white linen, gold chandeliers and a magnificent view.Chariots Bar, names after the film 'Chariots of Fire' (which was partially shot on the West Sands) is a typical Scottish Snug serving Bar and Snack Menus daily, with al fresco dining weather permitting! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Scores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Andrews
Scores Hotel St Andrews
St. Andrews Best Western
Best Western Scores Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing