We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional hotel, traditional service...perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Scores Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in St. Andrews
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Traditional hotel, traditional service...perfect”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed in a junior suite overlooking West Sands beach (Room 204) and the room was huge with a spectacular view.

Don't expect ultra modern, austere interiors, this is a taditional Scottish hotel with oodles of personality. Most importantly, and echoing other reviews, the staff were amazingly helpful, pleasant and couldn't do enough for us.

Other hotels could learn a thing or two from The Scores.

The only down side was leaving...I can't wait for the opportunity to return.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    229
    75
    32
    23
See reviews for
134
225
51
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at the Scores Hotel on 16 February for a one night stay and we extremely impressed. Our decision to stay was informed by the excellent review on trip advisor and were delighted to find these were true.

The hotel is in an excellent t location opposite the sea and yards from the aquarium. It is a few minutes walk from the beach, old course, castle and cathedral.

The staff throughout the stay were excellent, friendly helpful and welcoming. Clearly the management have invested time and care to ensure that guests are treated well and I struggle to think of a hotel I have stayed in where I have had a better experience.

The quality and value of the food was excellent we had a excellent lunch and breakfast in the champions grill and a superb dinner in Alexander's, frankly I was almost embarrassed at the price we paid for an excellent dinner, I have paid more for far less.

We stayed in one of the new junior suites and were delighted with it, the room was spacious and well furnished. The bed was huge and by far one of the most comfy I have slept on in a hotel. It gave a lovely view out to sea.

A very minor comment was the we could not get a wireless signal in our room, the hotel does provide access to a computer in addition. This was a minor issue and one that on a short stay we didn't feel we needed to raise.

Overall this was probably the best experience we have had staying in a uk hotel. We cannot recommend the scores hotel highly enough and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 497Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed in a junior suite which was huge and had breathtaking views across the West Sands beach. As a party of 2 adults and 2 children it was pleasant to have a room big enough for the kids to move around in - plenty of room for their toys.
The staff went out of their way to be friendly and offer the kids colouring books, crayons, cushions for their seats etc.
Breakfast was delicious - I ordered the pancake and it looked and smelled so good that my husband decided to order one too - they tasted as good as they looked.
Very handy for all the shops and restaurants in the town and an ideal position for the beach.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happychick2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2013

After reading all the reviews on Trip Advisor I had high expectations of The Scores....it didn't dissapoint! ALL staff were exceptional helpful and friendly...and in a way that was genuine and not cheesy. The views to the beach and Old Course were...AMAZING! The wee Snug bar (with log fire) is well worth a visit...and the breakfast choice was great...fresh, well presented, huge choice and menu items to pick from also. A hotel with old character as much as luxury...can't wait to go back. :)
In St Andrews I can also recommend The West Port for food, nice bar and beer garden. Dunvegan for traditional Scottish Golf Bar and try the Jubillee Golf Course if you like golf but can't afford the more expensive courses.

Room Tip: A high floor with a sea view is a must if you can mange to book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larbert
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Only a one night stay but enough to show us the potential of this hotel to deliver an enjoyable experience in the Home of Golf.
Rooms are welcoming and comfortable, public areas generous and well looked after and the staff were all extremely friendly and efficient.
A well cooked buffet breakfast set us up for a bracing walk on the beach, in February, and we would be happy to return to the hotel in a warmer season.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrottingScotNiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemount, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We rented two different rooms for 4 persons. Great friendly staff and very accommodating. Outstanding location across the road from the 1st tee and 18th green on the old course and very quick walks to the university campus and down town. It was only a 3 day trip but we would book at the Scores again. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Very professional and friendly service with a surprising low cost for a prime location. Food was exceptional and freshly served. Staff would all ways go out there way to help, always friendly and with a smile. Parking was a little difficult as work was being carried out in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don_Strang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
3.1 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#11 of 17 in St. Andrews
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Scores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Scores Hotel

Property: Best Western Scores Hotel
Address: 76 The Scores, St. Andrews KY16 9BB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Andrews
#4 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Scores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Scores Hotel is the closest hotel to the 1st tee of the world famous Old Course and the Royal and Ancient Clubhouse.A 5 minute walk will take you to many of the towns attractions including the ancient castle and cathedral ruins, the 600 year old university and the historic town centre.The hotel occupies two traditional Victorian town houses dating back to 1864 and 1880 and retains many of the large former drawing rooms as junior suites. 36 rooms in total, many of which have stunning views views over the West Sands beach whilst others enjoy an outlook over the newly landscaped garden and terraces.Champions Grill has unforgettable views of the West Sands and the 1st tee of the Old Course from its 9 large picture windows - there is no better way to start your day!Alexanders Restaurant offer quality Scottish food in a traditional Victorian setting with white linen, gold chandeliers and a magnificent view.Chariots Bar, names after the film 'Chariots of Fire' (which was partially shot on the West Sands) is a typical Scottish Snug serving Bar and Snack Menus daily, with al fresco dining weather permitting! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Scores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Andrews
Scores Hotel St Andrews
St. Andrews Best Western
Best Western Scores Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing