We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveler rating
256
12
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
256
12
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floorpremier roomgolf coursesmall balconylittle toucheswalk into townb and broom was spaciousgolf tripfeel very welcomesandraowenandrewsstgolfersaccommodationcourses
Filter
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 268 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I were visiting St Andrews to attend the Dunhill Link's Championship and this wonderful B&B was the perfect base for the week.

The guesthouse is located about 150 yards from the 18th green of the Old Course and we could see the home of golf's fairways from our balcony. The room was spacious and beautifully decorated in a contemporary, yet comfortable, style. The facilities were spot on and there were several little touches that were greatly appreciated - make up wipes in the bathroom, etc.

A tasty breakfast was prepared by Jane and Hugh, the guesthouse owners, each morning at a time arranged the evening before.

Our time in St Andrews was made all the more enjoyable by Jane and Hugh who were so friendly and helpful. They really have made this B&B special and i will be recommending it to all of my friends - fantastic people and a superb place!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SFoz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

There is nothing bad, poor or even mediocre to say about this wonderful little B&B, the location is wonderful, the rooms clean, spacious, very thoughtfully equipped and comfortable and the owners Hugh and Jane welcoming, friendly, charming, helpful, and just the loveliest people. My Partner and I were in St.Andrews for a wedding and Jane and Hugh could not have been more flexible with breakfast times, lent us an I-pad charger and even drove us to the wedding venue, truly they could not have done more.
This was a wonderful place to stay I cannot recommend it enough. We stayed in the top floor room which was slovenly and clean, bright airy and even had a small balcony. Everything had been thought of, all the things you expect, hair dryer, alarm clock, dressing gowns, tea and coffee and then a whole load of things you don't, hair straighteners, iron and ironing board, fresh home made scones, q-tips and even make up remover wipes! We were so comfortable, and made so welcome, Jane and Hugh thank you so much for all your kindness and hospitality. Rosie and Catherine

Room Tip: Top floor room with balcony is fabulous
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We just returned from a wonderful 4-night trip to St. Andrews, made more enjoyable by Jane and Hugh, owners of Fairways. This 3-room bed and breakfast is ideally located: steps from the Old Course starter house, a 2-minute walk to the beach, 5-minute walk to shops and restaurants, and a 10-minute walk to the castle and cathedral ruins. The rooms are clean, modern and well-appointed.

Jane cooks breakfast in the morning: eggs, ham, bacon, and haggis (you should try it at least once!), plus fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals and homemade breads. Hugh even ran my husband out an egg sandwich while he waited to sign up with the starter in the early morning.

They are great about making recommendations for dinner and golf, even calling around to arrange tee times. Hugh is an avid golfer and knows the ins-and-outs of getting to play where you'd like. Tip: while all golfers want to play the Old Course, don't miss the spectacular scenery and play at Kingsbarns, just 15 minutes from St. Andrews.

While there are several upscale hotels and inns in St. Andrews, you won't find more personalized attention for the money. Wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed three nights at this wonderful B&B on a golf vacation. 4 guys from Alabama shared two rooms. The rooms were nice, the location is outstanding, and Hugh and Jane, the owners were wonderful. Very helpful with advice on restaurants, etc. The breakfast was always magnificient and the only problem was dreadful weather!

Room Tip: The room at the top is especially nice!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were in St. Andrews from the U.S. to help our son get moved into his flat as a second year student at the University. We had such a busy time, but our time at this lovely guesthouse was terrific. Jane and Hugh were delightful hosts, prepared filling, delicious breakfasts and really went above and beyond to make our stay there and visit in Scotland go as smoothly as possibile. When they saw that our arrival flight was going to be a little late, they even emailed us to see if they could perform an errand that was first on our list, before the firm closed for the weekend and Jane purchase some thread for me, as I mentioned that I needed some for a sweater. A+ sevice, beautiful guesthouse and charming hosts made for a memorable stay. Thank you Jane and Hugh!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim and Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews