We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Braeside House
Nearby Hotels
Greyfriars Inn(St. Andrews)
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$350
$168
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$527
$495
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont St Andrews(St. Andrews)
$253
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Albany Hotel(St. Andrews)
$187
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Du Vin(St. Andrews)
$204
$178
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rufflets Hotel(St. Andrews)
$198
$186
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ardgowan Hotel(St. Andrews)
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveler rating
100
17
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
100
17
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjames and margaretnice hoststen minute walkroom was clean and comfortabletee timeseach morninggolf tripporridgeyogurtandrewsscotlandlaundry
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 117 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My daughter and I immediately felt welcome at Braeside House. James and Margaret went out of their way to take care of our needs and answer any questions we had. Breakfasts were delicious and the rooms very comfortable. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vtfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesy39, Owner at Braeside House, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Margaret & I are delighted to hear that you felt very comfortable staying with us at Braeside House.
We do B&B in our retirement years and take great pleasure in helping our guests to enjoy the beautiful town of St Andrews and getting positive feedback from appreciative guests.
Haste ye back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

St. Andrews was the final stop of our 13 day trip through London, Nottingham, Edinburgh and finally St. Andrews. We were begining to miss home and upon our arrival at the Braeside House, we felt so welcome that it felt like home! James and Margaret did not hesitate to share the secrets of the town and where to go, what to see, and where the best fish and chips are! We stayed there for 2 nights and I was up early to get on the golf course and missed out on breakfast. Only to find out later that James sat down and kept my Girlfriend company so she didn't dine by herself. Wonderful people to go along with an incredible town. We will be going back!
Thank you James and Margaret for the Perfect ending to our Journey!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesy39, Owner at Braeside House, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are delighted that you felt comfortable and at home in Braeside House. We are so pleased that your experience was made even more enjoyable by you obtaining a tee time to play the Old Course, St Andrews.
Haste ye back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

James and Margaret were wonderful hosts and our stay was delightful. The location was perfect- a little off the beaten path but a short walk to the city center. My husband was playing golf during the day so I was on my own, but there was plenty to see and do downtown, from shopping to exploring a castle. You won't regret a stay at Braeside House.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKMarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesy39, Owner at Braeside House, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

We are so pleased that you feel we done our job as hosts to perfection. We enjoy doing B&B and meeting lovely people from all over the world. It is nice to hear that you would have no hesitation in recommending Braeside House to others.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had the pleasure to stay in Braeside House for two nights earlier this month and it was a wonderful experience.
James and Margaret were most welcoming and accommodating, as well as a wealth of information regarding the local area.
The room was clean, fresh and comfortable and the freshly cooked breakfasts were something to look forward to every morning.
Without hesitation, we can recommend this guesthouse and would definitely stay here again.
Thank you, James & Margaret for a great stay in St.Andrews!
Sharon & Rick.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesy39, Owner at Braeside House, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We are pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed you stay and that you would recommend Braeside House to others and perhaps we may see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This summer I was travelling with a friend doing a road trip through Scotland and I stayed in Braeside House for just one night. Most of the places we booked were Hostels, but I have to say this Bed and Breakfast was a very good discovery. It's managed by a very kind couple; James and Margaret. It's really clean and comfortable, in your room you even find information of Scotland, fife and St Andrews, and if you have any question they welcome to ask them. You have also a homemade breakfast which it is always pleasant.

It's really good located too, in a street where you can park the car free (if you're travelling with it) and at ten minutes tops from the town center. If you're just passing by (like in my case) or if you are looking for a place to stay for a longer period of time to visit this region it's a really really good place to stay. Sure it's not as cheap as a Hostel but if you can afford it's a worthwhile choice.

I sure will comeback!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mirimagem85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesy39, Owner at Braeside House, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

We are delighted to hear that you consider Braeside House a great place to stay and that you find staying at a B&B was a great discovery compared to hotels.
Thank you very much and hopefully we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews