We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting even for non-golfers”

British Golf Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$759.70*
and up
Private Tour to Kingsbarns Distillery and St Andrews
More Info
$654.91*
and up
Private St Andrews Day Tour from Edinburgh
More Info
$890.68*
and up
Shore Excursion: Kingsbarns Distillery and St Andrews Tour Including Walk on...
Ranked #11 of 54 things to do in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Tee off your visit to St Andrews at one of the most iconic golf locations in the world. The British Golf Museum is just 67 yards from the 1st Tee of the famous Old Course. Discover over 500 years of golf history, exclusive shopping and a wonderful Cafe all under one roof. A warm welcome is assured at this 5 star venue.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Interesting even for non-golfers”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I don't golf myself but am very familiar with the sport and players so really enjoyed looking at the memorabilia and history of the sport. It is a 2 day ticket so you can take your time and do it over a couple of days rather than OD on everything golf in one trip.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank KathyLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    98
    27
    4
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Centennial
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A must for anyone who loves the game”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This traces the history of the game from its start to the present. The old and ancient clubs on display are amazing.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vfec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
194 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Awesome museum of golf .......”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

You can learn lots of valuable history of golf in this Museum that will amaze and amuse you, especially if you are a golfer :-)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Octovianus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Colwyn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“WELL WORTH A VISIT”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Was visitng St Andrews on a day excursion during a coach holiday, had planned to visit this museum, must say thoroughly enjoyed it.

I am not a golfer my self and know nothing about the sport except what a golf ball looks like!. But I found the place fascinating well worth the entrance fee took us about 1hr 1/2 to go round could take longer if you had plenty of time but we were on a time limit due to being on a coach.

I particularly enjoyed the clothing exhibit with articles signed by the various professional golfers.

I was also amazed by the prize money they get now when you think years ago they got 150.00 prize money now they get somewhere in the region of 850,000.

I did find the gift shop very expensive and there was no cafe or toilets but there are toilets a stones throw from the museum and various hotels and bars round about and cafes and restuarants in the town itself which is only a short walk away.

All in all would recommend a visit if in St Andrews you won't be dissapointed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CheckoutChick37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carluke, South Lanarkshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An excellent experience, in the right place.”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was a long postponed visit for me and I have to say it was well worth waiting for. The entry fee was good value for money especially as it was valid for the next day too.
All aspects of golf are very well catered for: history, the amateur game, women's golf, the professional game. There are many interactive features throughout the museum which would be of interest to younger clients.
All the great moments of world golf are featured as are all the stars of this great game.
A visit to this museum is a must for every golf "nut".
EXCELLENT.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed British Golf Museum also viewed

 

Been to British Golf Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing