We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Great Place”
Review of The Old Station

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Station
Ranked #28 of 73 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were two couples playing golf and this was our first stop. Colin and Fiona are truly great hosts. They helped us with golf tee times and dinner arrangements. They were warm and made us feel right at home. Thanks to them our trip got off to the perfect start. The accommodations were lovely with large rooms, king sized beds and wonderful common spaces. We look forward to visiting again and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in the St. Andrews area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HerbH-Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fionawiseman, Manager at The Old Station, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Hi Herb, assuming you are all back over the ' pond ' I hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation. So happy you had a good time here and getting that T time on the Old Course was fantastic. Thank you for your review and Colin and I would love to welcome you all back some time. Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 178 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Old Station is just 2 miles outside of St. Andrews and is a small B&B that ranks very well with the myriad of B&Bs to choose from. The owners are very friendly and the ambiance is quiet and rural. It is on the site of an old railway station but that is not really evident unless you stay in the old railway car bedroom and this is simply wonderful. Only a lucky few can reserve it so do so well in advance. The deluxe room we had #4 was cozy, and very quiet with a firm double bed. They are not large but that did not effect us. The breakfast is great and the view of the fields and birds while you eat add to the ambiance. There is a putting and chipping green that is manicured by the owners for all the golfing fans who mainly frequent the place. If you have a car which most do, there is plenty of parking and it is only five minutes into town. Great location and that adds to it charm. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaleRachmeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fionawiseman, Owner at The Old Station, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

We are so glad you enjoyed staying at The Old Station and enjoyed the peaceful ambience. Thank you for review and we hope to see you again sometime. Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

It would have been a nice B&B if you were paying £50 a day, but for £120 you'd definitely expect a much higher service standard and better customer-oriented behaviour. There were plus and minus points about our stay. The rural setting was beautiful and the breakfast room was nice and cosy. Breakfast itself was fine with plenty of options. However, it was made apparent that poaching an egg was considered a hassle. So much so that we didn't ask the second day, preferring to let them fry them as they were more comfortable with this. The 'Garden Room' we stayed in was spacious but had an alarming amount of 'Daddy Long Leg' type bugs - both alive and dead which remianed after the room had been cleaned. Furthermore, when we requested a later check out of one hour we were told this was impossible - we were dissappointed by this response as we paid a total of £240 for our two night stay. We would have hoped to have been better accommodated at this price. However, they had been flexible when we had arrived early on the first day which we appreciated. Overall, we think it is a nice place but don't feel that it offers the right value for money being quiet overpriced. If it comes to reccommending it, we would say that there are better options in town for £120/night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fionawiseman, Owner at The Old Station, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

I am sorry you had a problem with " daddy long legs " in your room, at this time of year they are difficult to control in the countryside in this damp environment that we would all love do be without. If you did experience any dead ones then I can only apologise as we are not able to check the rooms on a constant basis .We had no problem with you arriving early to check in ( at 9am ) and yes we did make sure staff cleaned your room first and actually asked our guests from the night before if they wouldn't mind checking out of their room early so we could give you the keys to your room an hour before they were due to check out. Our usual check in time is 3pm but we did try to help you out here but this is where the problem arose when you wanted a late check out,. We had guests arriving into that room and it had to be cleaned and turned around for them arriving. We only have 6 rooms so we cannot provide an early check in or late check out for everyone but we did try our hardest to accommodate you on this occasion and allowed you to check in just after 9am on the morning of your arrival which we couldn't possibly have done for our guests arriving into your room on the day you were departing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Picture the scene - you enter your allocated railway carriage and are immediately hit by the sense of luxury. This will be your home for the next few days and already the Colonial style decor looks inviting. A lounge with comfortable seats, tv and dvd player overlooks your own private balcony located at the rear of the carriage. A decanter of port sits temptingly next to two empty glasses and fresh flowers decorate the room. You walk further into the carriage and a small but well equipped kitchenette is on your left. It has a full sized hob, kettle and toaster and all the crockery and cutlery you will need. There is also a fridge, perfect for chilling the champagne you will be sipping during your stay.
Then you enter the bedroom. A double bed is made up, with small wardrobe containing ironing board, hair dryer, robes and slippers and next to that, an en suite shower room, with an abundance of very hot water and a surprisingly powerful shower.
You know you're going to enjoy the next few days and you sit back, imagining the trip to come. Where will we travel to? Rome? Istanbul?
Unfortunately, you're going nowhere as this isn't the Orient Express and you're not in Paris.
However, it is certainly the next best thing.
You are in a refurbished railway carriage on an actual piece of reconstructed railway line which formed part of the long since closed Leven to St.Andrews line.
The carriage sits in the grounds of the equally well preseved former Stavithie Railway Station, now adapted into a Bed and Breakfast called, not surprisingly, The Old Station.
The hosts, Colin and Fiona are very friendly and immediately make you feel welcome.
The interior of the main building is sympathetic to the original station theme, with lamps, tickets, railway books and dvds on display.
The breakfast on offer is self serve continental with an additional cooked breakfast option included. The grounds have a table tennis table on offer and you can even practice your bunker shots on the lawn.
But the real star of the show is the carriage. There are two suites contained within it, with one supposedly slightly bigger than the other, but we couldn't see much difference.
This is a real treat for a railway enthusiast like me, although I'm NOT a trainspotter, but it's also ideal for a romantic getaway, or if you're looking for something unusual and different.
Unfortunately, the last train left this station over 80 years ago, but if you close your eyes and imagine you might just hear the hiss and the whistle of the loco as it waits to transport you on your adventure.

Room Tip: There are 2 suites in the railway carriage. The one numbered '7' has a kitchen with hob, fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank secret-agent-0021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We booked in at The Station Inn for the weekend of a friends wedding. I had phoned up about a month and a half earlier to book, spoke to a lovely man and explained that we were flying up from London so wouldn't arrive until approximately 10 at night. The manager saw no problem with this and told us he would leave a key out for us if they were not in by the time we arrived.

Unfortunately we had a disastrous trip up with our easyjet flight being delayed, meaning we did not arrive at the BnB until 12:30am. We could see lights on in the upstairs rooms, however all doors were locked and no key had been left anywhere for us. We rang the door bell several times and called the house phone - all to no avail. After 20 minutes of trying we decided to give up and went to stay elsewhere.

The next morning we phoned to apologise and explain the situation, and cancel our room for the second night as we were now settled elsewhere. The male manager was very understanding and cancelled the room, at no point was it stated that we would be charged for that night.

When checking our credit card bill we found that we had been charged for the 2 nights stay (and payment had gone through on the Friday before we even arrived - how is that possible?). We called the manager to discuss, and were told that we had not even arrived at the BnB and were basically accused of lying.

We then said we were happy to pay for the first night, however we had cancelled the second night and the managers husband had never mentioned charging us for that night. We were told that it was a 2 week cancellation policy - this is not written anywhere on their website and we were never told this when booking or cancelling.

Very disappointed - I understand this is a business, but I have stayed in many hotels where they have been more understanding to people's circumstances and I have never been accused of fibbing!! We had discussed trying to make it back up to St Andrews and to treat ourselves to a night in the railway carriage - we will no longer be doing this.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank prettypixie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Well what can I say? The Old Station was the right choice as my daughter was playing golf at St.Andrews, which is only minutes away. Colin and Fiona are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble especially the wonderful breakfast. Well, now what can I say about the carriage? Choo, Choo! Words cannot express our 4 night stay - you must visit or go for a stay and you will understand what I mean. What a fab B & B. Highly recommend and hopefully it will not be too long before the next visit.

Room Tip: Go for the Railway Carriage - First Class and non smoking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb10Midlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The Old Station is in a lovely countryside location, beautiful rooms, public areas and garden grounds!!.
Colin and Fiona are great hosts, where nothing is a problem. They are indeed "People People".My Wife and I had a great meal at the "Adamson", recommended by Colin.
We hope to be back again soon.
Would recommend The Old Station to anyone wishing good service, ambiance, and peace an quiet!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigRonGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Andrews
7 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
23.9 mi away
Bay Hotel
Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinghorn
201 reviews
2.7 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#11 of 17 in St. Andrews
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St. Andrews
408 reviews
3.5 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,217 reviews
7.4 mi away
The St Michaels Inn
The St Michaels Inn
#1 of 1 in Leuchars
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Station

Address: Stravithie Bridge, St. Andrews KY16 8LR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Price Range: $210 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Station 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Old Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Station St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing