We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”
Review of Rufflets Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rufflets Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2014

We stayed here recently as a base for playing Kingsbarns and St Andrews. The rooms were well sized and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was modern and roomy. We dined in one night and the food was good. They have a good wine list. Breakfast seemed a little disorganised, and the girl there wasn't too keen on making us some espresso coffees, but aside from her cold mood, everything was fine. Pat the manager was very helpful. The only drawback is that you need to drive into St Andrews and if you are from overseas, you may prefer to stay in the town itself, as it is a beautiful place to walk around.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank 888kiwitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2014

Delighted to see that you had a good stay with us - and I hope that you have some great memories of the golf as well.

Sorry about the issue with the coffee - on investigation it seems that the machine was on the blink and so it wasnt as straight forward as normal to make the coffee - glad to say that there is now a new one in place......and making great espressos!

And as far as being out of town - it is one of the delights of the hotel (peace and tranquility) and a taxi is only £6.00 to the town centre.........which means everyone could enjoy a drink as well.

Thanks for the feedback - always very welcome - and we hope that you might make it back our way in the future.

Regards

Stephen Owen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

593 - 599 of 1,233 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed in the hotel for a wedding and the care and service could not have been better. The bedroom was extremely comfortable and the view, beautiful. the staff were very friendly and helpful. We would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Many thanks for the feedback - it does appear that you did have a great experience with us at Rufflets. Hope that the next time you are in Scotland you will have the chance to come and see us again.

Regards

Stephen Owen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We booked this last minute for a weekend away so got a relatively good price.

The room was fine but nothing special given the price. A nice touch was the card to welcome us back as previous customers. The home made shortbread on the tea tray is really good.

The highlight of the stay was the evening meal. The East Neuk crab was delicious, the beef cheek just melted in the mouth and the playful dessert of rhubarb 3 ways took me back to my child hood with one way being a delicate strips of rhubarb and a "poke of sugar" to dip it in.

The staff are all lovely so worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Egglesbrech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Delighted to see that you enjoyed the last minute visit to Rufflets - and especially the food and service, and many thanks fopr taking the tiem to give us your feedback.

Hope to be able to welcome you back at some point in the near future.

Regards

Stephen Owen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Myself and my two daughters stayed in the Gillroy Suite in mid August 2014, we were very impressed by the hotel as a whole from the quality of the staff , standard of rooms to the food in the Terrace Restaurant . My younger daughter loved the private gardens , notably the stream that runs through it. We would come here again and stay in the same Suite.
Raj, Aneeka and Reah.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raj A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Wtih so many options of hotels in the area, we do feel that, over and above the top quality accommodation and service that we provide, Rufflets does have a very special character, something that others do not have, and we were pleased to see how much you and your daughters enjoyed the experience.

In fact it has often been said that the building has 'a soul' - and I am sure that if stones could speak, the ones that make up Rufflets would have some interesting tales to tell!

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback - always appreciated by the team.

With my best regards,

Stephen Owen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We had lunch last Saturday in the library area of the bar. We thought the selection to be very good, from the table d'hote menu @ 12.75 for two courses and 15.75 for three .
The quality of the food was very good. The Pecora made from haggis though was overcooked.
Service was very efficient . We will return

Room Tip: Secluded spot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Wyandour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback - and we were pleased to see how much you enjoyed the lunch - and we look forward to be able to see you again in the near future.

Regards

Stephen Owen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Have both stayed here and eaten in bar and restaurant and everything has always been great. Rooms lovely, clean, spacious and very well-appointed; food and drink excellent; service top-drawer. Quite expensive - but you get what you pay for!

Room Tip: All rooms are good in my experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack_Bosworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Dear Simon

Good to see that you have been able to enjoy a wide variety of the facilities at Rufflets - and we very much appreciate the feedback. We do work hard to make sure that the levels of quality are maintained across the board and it is re-assuring to read when it has all been achieved.

Do keep an eye on our website - we do have some great offers available from time-to-time which makes it a bit softer on the pocket....and so we hope to see you again at some point in the future.

With my best wishes,

Stephen Owen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

After lots of research, we held our very small, intimate wedding here in late July, at relatively short notice (for a wedding!). What a fabulous hotel, in a beautiful location, with easy access to the wonderful St Andrews. We didn't book the weather, but it turned up anyway (26C with beautiful sunshine). The accommodation is fabulous - reception, public rooms and bedrooms (can recommend the Orchard Suite and Turret Room). The food was excellent (breakfast and dinner) and the staff.....absolutely fabulous. A special mention to Kerry Hinton and her team for their superb wedding arrangements, making our wedding day, relaxed, fun and very enjoyable. A final mention must go to Happy Mutts (via Rufflets) for looking after our two Labradors during our stay. Thank you everyone so much for helping to create a fabulous memory. We'll definitely be back in the future. Rick & Anne (Mr & Mrs Dickson)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear Rick and Anne

I was pleased to see that all the hard work done in the research for a venue paid off so well - and also that we even managed to make sure that the sun shone for the wedding as well. It was really good to be able to provide such an intimate and personal location for your wedding - and thanks to Kerry's hard work it did all seem to go well.

Happy Mutts are a small business that we work with - they can provide kenneling if needed - and they also supply us with the special dog treats that we put into the doggy welcome pack and they do go down well.

Hope to be able to see you all again soon (inc the labs).

Regards

Stephen Owen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
4.3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,500 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
554 reviews
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St. Andrews
697 reviews
1.9 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
466 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St. Andrews
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rufflets Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufflets Hotel

Address: Strathkinness Low Road, St. Andrews KY16 9TX, Scotland (Formerly Rufflets Country House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. Andrews
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#6 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range: $141 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rufflets Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury family hotel, situated in 10 acres of secluded gardens, has been under the same family ownership for over 60 years. Located a few minutes' drive from the centre of town, golf courses and beaches, the hotel is popular with couples and families. Rufflets is surrounded by mature gardens which supply the fine dining restaurant. Free parking and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rufflets Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufflets Country House Hotel St. Andrews
Rufflets Country Hotel
Rufflets Country St Andrews
Rufflets Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing