We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hogmanay House Party 2013” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rufflets Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rufflets Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hogmanay House Party 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit to Rufflets. We thought the welcome and the attention given by the staff was outstanding. The food was excellent and this was matched only by the care taken over individual dietry needs. The hogmanay party was the best we have attended and the highland games were great fun, despite the rain.


Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear R L

It does look as if we have been able to (yet again) provide a great time for our guests over Hogmanay, and we were all delighted to read your (and other's) comments and feedback.

To travel all the way from the south of England might seem a long journey, it is good to know that we were able to show top class Scottish hospitality and we do hope that this wont be the last time you come and see us!

Best wishes for 2014!

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    186
    57
    12
    8
See reviews for
219
615
14
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is the second year that we spent New Year at Rufflets. It was fabulous last time and if it's possible, it was even better this time. The welcome that Stephen, his family and all the staff give is outstanding. The hotel was warm and cosy and the food was excellent. The Hogmanay party was simply tremendous - we have never danced so much. Thank you so much to all at Rufflets.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear GJ

As you might expect, we were all really pleased to read your comments, and delighted that you had such a great time with us at Hogmany for the House Party.

It is a lot of hard work for the team, but it is something that we all enjoy doing - and a great way for us to end the year.

We are almost at the end of the first week of the refurb projects - lots happening with some new bathrooms and redecorating bedrooms - already looking forward to re-opening the hotel on the 24th Jan!

Hope to see you again soon.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is our 29th consecutive New Year Break at Rufflets although we do use the Hotel at other times as well. We would rate this perhaps the very best visit. The guests appeared to 'mesh' extremely well this time and the Hotel Staff as always were excellent as was the Food. We were particularily impressed with how kind everyone was to our Grandchildren and to their young friends on Hogmanay.Our Grandson Eli aged 6 tells me he missed only 2 Dances the whole evening - one because it was oversubscribed and the other I would have thought through sheer exhaustion but he rallied and carried on at full speed into the early hours. Keep it up Rufflets - well done.

Room Tip: Room 8 suits our needs very well and has an extra linked twin bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hugh j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Well - having been to Rufflets each Hogmanay for so many years, to be told that this one was the best of them all is good to hear - and we will clearly need to raise the bar for the next one!

As always, it was a delight to have your family join you for some of the House Party - and good to see that they also had a great time.

With my best regards,

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had a very enjoyable two night break at Rufflets Hotel at the end of November, 2013. Everything about the hotel was warm. The staff were efficient and friendly, the food delicious, (their home smoked salmon is a must) and the temperature throughout the hotel was very comfortable.
Our room and ensuite were spacious, tastefully decorated and well appointed. A very nice touch was turning down the bed and the hot water bottle!!!
Rufflets location is very good for exploring the picturesque East Neuk of Fife, Dundee, Angus and the north east of Scotland, as well, of course, as the beautiful university town of St. Andrews which is only a couple of miles away.
We were on a dinner, bed & breakfast tariff and felt it was very good value for money. We hope to return soon and would have no hesitation in recommending to overseas and local travellers alike.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robertabrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
We were all delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay at Rufflets.

The hotel is currently closed for a couple of weeks as we are redecorating and refurbishing more bedrooms and bathrooms - and so we hope that you will be able to return soon to see what we have been doing.

Regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We booked a year in advance to travel from Manchester to spend Christmas here after a stressfull Christmas dinner back in 2012, albeit the planning that was needed to get 2 children and 2 OAP's, plus a car and roof box full of presents up to St Andrews was immense, but so, so worth it! The Kinness lodge is beautiful and so well equipped, it was a joy to not have to take home any dirty washing! (anyone with small kids will understand) The facilities in the lodge are so homely. We had breakfast in the main hotel on two of our four days - it was beautiful and highly reccommended. We booked for the Christmas dinner in the hotel and were told that due to us having small children we'd be best suited to the carvery meal in one of the hotel function rooms, so no problem, a slightly less formal dinner suited us too. We have never had a Christmas day, or Christmas dinner away from home before so paying £50 per head for adults was a treat we all deserved. The quality of the food on Christmas day we felt was below what we were expecting considering the high standard of everything else at the Rufflets, however the staff were amazing and very quick to assist with last minute meal changes or requests. We have fallen in love with Rufflets and are considering to return with the children in the autumn with a view to staying in one of the smaller lodges or within the main hotel. It's a beautiful hotel with lovely helpfull, friendly staff. A walk in the grounds is a must - just take your boots!

Room Tip: The Kinness Lodge is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis-Hurst_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
We were pleased to hear that you and the family had such a great time with us over Christmas - and thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

Hope that you might find an excuse to return soon.

Regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

A very civilised place to stay with exceptionally charming staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. Very hard beds but the staff sorted the problem for us after the first not very comfortable night. A perfect place to go at Christmas if you are visiting family in the area; we would strongly recommend Rufflets.

Room Tip: rooms on the south side face the lovely gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Charles

Many thanks for both the feedback and the recommendations - the staff do bend over backwards to be able to make each and every visit a special one. Glad to see that the matress issue was also sorted out quickly for your stay.

Regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

enjoyed a 1-night stay here (we had a discount deal)

good points...
nice and friendly staff
comfortable room
fantastic started and main course
lovely wines
peaceful and quiet
close enough to st andrews for a quick drive
great breakfast

not so good points
nice sofas to lounge on - shame there weren't real coal fires
dessert was disappointing - my poor choice (choc tart didn't taste fresh)

Room Tip: they have bungalows adjacent to the hotel - although a short walk - worth it if you want to take you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loobylu22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Delighted to hear that you had a great time when you came for the short break, and we do appreciate the comments.

The real fires were taken out quite a few years ago - and whilst we do know that they are not quite the same, find that the gas fires do look good, give plenty of heat, and cause less mess.

But perhaps the next time you come we wont need the fires as we will be enjoying another great Spring and Summer in St Andrews as we did last year.

With my best wishes,

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
4.3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#5 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,935 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
1.9 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#7 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rufflets Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufflets Hotel

Property: Rufflets Hotel
Address: Strathkinness Low Road, St. Andrews KY16 9TX, Scotland (Formerly Rufflets Country House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#6 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rufflets Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury family hotel, situated in 10 acres of secluded gardens, has been under the same family ownership for over 60 years. Located a few minutes' drive from the centre of town, golf courses and beaches, the hotel is popular with couples and families. Rufflets is surrounded by mature gardens which supply the fine dining restaurant. Free parking and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Travelocity so you can book your Rufflets Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufflets Country House Hotel St. Andrews
Rufflets Country Hotel
Rufflets Country St Andrews
Rufflets Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing