We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rufflets Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$266
$237
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greyfriars Inn(St. Andrews)
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fairmont St Andrews(St. Andrews)
$256
$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$368
$256
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Du Vin(St. Andrews)
$206
$185
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albany Hotel(St. Andrews)
$140
$136
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ardgowan Hotel(St. Andrews)
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$565
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,292)
Filter reviews
1,293 results
Traveler rating
981
223
67
12
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
981
223
67
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturret roomcountry house hotelhomemade shortbreadkinness lodgemolton brown toiletriesterrace restaurantstunning gardensorchard suitea hot water bottleteddy bearfirst classfour poster bedthe main hotelturn down servicelovely hotelafternoon teahigh standard
Filter
Updating list...
789 - 794 of 1,293 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely place to stay and work. We stayed for 2 nights and all the staff are so nice and show an interest and understand customer service. You can even tell they enjoy their work. The management are always on hand and talking to customers and setting the scene, the food is fresh and local so really good and some nice wines to choose from. It is a country house so lots of fires to sit around with comfortable seat and couches with loads of magazines to glaze through. We will be back.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Barry

Many thanks for the kind comments - and yes - it is a great place to work!

Hope to be able to see you again soon - perhaps when the weather is warmer and you can enjoy sitting outside in the gardens as well.

Regards

Stephen Owen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I enjoyed a very pleasant overnight stay at this hotel, while attending a business meeting in St Andrews the following day. Hotel location is ~0.5 miles out of St Andrews and is set in the peace and tranquillity of the surrounding countryside. The hotel grounds are well kept and give a very good initial impression to the visitor or guest on their arrival. Reception staff are warm and welcoming, with the rooms and hotel communal areas being furnished and cleaned to a very high standard.

We chose to eat in the hotel and enjoyed an excellent 3 course evening meal. Breakfast the following morning was also a delight, with items on the cooked menu being particularly tempting (e.g. cinnamon French toast, buttermilk pancakes, kippers etc). In summary, the hotel was excellent value and I would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndianaJonesA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your comments - I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed the short stay at the hotel.

We may not be the usual type of 'business hotel' (no bad thing) - but we do offer a great place to escape to away from the buzz of the town, and do offer all the things that today's business person needs (and the good free wifi does go down well especially when there are some hotels that continue to charge for this!).

Perhaps you might find time to come back for a more leisurely trip?

Regards

Stephen Owen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 1 night with my dad in a twin room on a voucher deal. The room we had was lovely and spacious overlooking the gardens. The dinner was included and very nice, service was excellent. Breakfast was great too with a large choice of cooked options. It is a bit out of town, but we drove in no problem although I wouldn't want to walk the distance. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Wendy

We were all delighted to read that you had enjoyed such a relaxing time at Rufflets - something that many of our guests comment on - and thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.

The town is a very short distance - and when the weather is better it is a lovely walk.

Hope to see you again soon.

With my best wishes,

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We spent two nights in Rufflets last week. Everything was perfect. Lovely room, charming staff, excellent food. The surrounding gardens were charming even in November and must be beautiful in the summer. Will certainly return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevenMcF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

We were all really pleased to read your comments - and delighted to hear that everything was perfect - even though we keep on working to make it even better!

We will be closing for 2 weeks in January to carry out some bedroom refurbishments - a lot of work and money, but it will all be worthwhile.

Hope to see you soon - perhaps once we get to Spring you might be able to come and enjoy the hotel and the gardens even more.

Regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

A really pleasant family owned hotel nestled on the edge of St. Andrews. Quite traditonal in style yet not dated or tired with spacious and comfortable bedrooms and beds. Excellent staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive at all times. The excellent quality food seved in their restaurant from a daily changing menu with local ingredients was delicous for each of the 4 meals taken during this stay.
The only negative chat about my hotel stay is that with this property being an old building there was quite a bit of noise transmission from other guests going up and down the creeky staircase and when other rooms were using their showers there was the sound of the water pump which was enough to wake one from sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotel_Inspector00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Glad to hear that you enjoyed the stay so much - getting the balance between the traditonal style and keeping it all up to date is not easy, but we continue to work on it.

The hotel will in fact be closing for a couple of weeks to carry out more refurbishments to bedrooms, and I hope you will be back to see what we have done soon.

We are aware that there is a need to upgrade the shower pumps to reduce the sound disturbance, and this will be looked at over the coming months. The creaking staircase is also known - this does let us know when the ghosts of guests-passed are coming down to reception!

Many thanks for the feedback though - all very much appreciated as it does help us a great deal in making sure that we keep things right.

Regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews