We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing stay in lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rufflets Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rufflets Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay in lovely hotel”
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 1 night with my dad in a twin room on a voucher deal. The room we had was lovely and spacious overlooking the gardens. The dinner was included and very nice, service was excellent. Breakfast was great too with a large choice of cooked options. It is a bit out of town, but we drove in no problem although I wouldn't want to walk the distance. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Wendy

We were all delighted to read that you had enjoyed such a relaxing time at Rufflets - something that many of our guests comment on - and thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.

The town is a very short distance - and when the weather is better it is a lovely walk.

Hope to see you again soon.

With my best wishes,

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    187
    58
    13
    8
See reviews for
220
619
14
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milngavie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We spent two nights in Rufflets last week. Everything was perfect. Lovely room, charming staff, excellent food. The surrounding gardens were charming even in November and must be beautiful in the summer. Will certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenMcF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
We were all really pleased to read your comments - and delighted to hear that everything was perfect - even though we keep on working to make it even better!

We will be closing for 2 weeks in January to carry out some bedroom refurbishments - a lot of work and money, but it will all be worthwhile.

Hope to see you soon - perhaps once we get to Spring you might be able to come and enjoy the hotel and the gardens even more.

Regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

A really pleasant family owned hotel nestled on the edge of St. Andrews. Quite traditonal in style yet not dated or tired with spacious and comfortable bedrooms and beds. Excellent staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive at all times. The excellent quality food seved in their restaurant from a daily changing menu with local ingredients was delicous for each of the 4 meals taken during this stay.
The only negative chat about my hotel stay is that with this property being an old building there was quite a bit of noise transmission from other guests going up and down the creeky staircase and when other rooms were using their showers there was the sound of the water pump which was enough to wake one from sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotel_Inspector00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Glad to hear that you enjoyed the stay so much - getting the balance between the traditonal style and keeping it all up to date is not easy, but we continue to work on it.

The hotel will in fact be closing for a couple of weeks to carry out more refurbishments to bedrooms, and I hope you will be back to see what we have done soon.

We are aware that there is a need to upgrade the shower pumps to reduce the sound disturbance, and this will be looked at over the coming months. The creaking staircase is also known - this does let us know when the ghosts of guests-passed are coming down to reception!

Many thanks for the feedback though - all very much appreciated as it does help us a great deal in making sure that we keep things right.

Regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights,3rd and 4th December 2013 on a 5pm voucher and it was excellent from beginning to end.The hotel is beautifully decorated and our room(36) was lovely.The food in the restaurant was a real treat,and the staff in the restaurant were very,very friendly especially Angela.All the staff in the hotel were really pleasant and very helpfull ,we had a problem when checking out as the Forth Road Bridge was closed and the staff went out of their way to help us with this by finding out info on this,very kind indeed,thankyou.One small suggestion (not a complaint) perhaps background music in the restaurant could be a little louder as it really couldnt be heard!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Many thanks for the feedback - and it is good to hear the staff getting mentioned (and Angela yet again by name - she is a star!).

Glad that you managed to get back home alright after all the storms that day - and hope that the next time the weather will be better for you.

Regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Came here for my dads 70th birthday with the family,6 adults 4 children.We had both family rooms
and a double room,all the rooms were great and both family rooms are ideal for a family of four.Service and food on both dinner and breakfast over the two days was great.The staff could not do enough to help.

Room Tip: Family room in main building is fantastic for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Gordon

Really pleased to read how much you enjoyed the family celebration at Rufflets recently, and especially so with the family accommodation.

We do have the two family rooms (both with 2 separate bedrooms and family bathrooms), and are in fact going to be developing a 3rd family option in the main hotel in February next year. These rooms, in addition to the self-catering lodges, do give our clients great options for the extended family.

Also pleased to see that you enjoyed the food and the service - and that it was all pitched right for the whole party.

Regards

Stephen Owen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I booked the dinner bed and breakfast deal with the rufflets hotel for my mums birthday. I would like to thank all the staff for making the stay so special. All the staff were extremely professional and very friendly nothing was to much trouble they even organised flowers to be in my mums room for her arrival.
The food was of excellent quality and taste and the waiters and waitresses were attentive in a very friendly way without being obtrusive.
Thanks to all the staff, keep doing what you are doing. We plan to return in the near future.
Kind regards
Diane o'neil

Room Tip: All rooms looked lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevotherevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Diane

I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed the stay at the hotel for your mother's special birthday - and that the team's hard work helped make it all that bit more special.

We will keep on doing what we do - but will always be looking to see how we can get better!

Hope to see you soon.

Regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I was on my own and stayed just one night but had a lovely room and an excellent breakfast. It's like a little home from home and I have now stayed several times generally with my wife. The location is out of town which means it is very quiet and secluded but then requires some effort at organising transport. I took my bicycle a couple of years ago which worked really well!

Room Tip: I have always had good rooms and the out of tow location means they are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed the return visit to the hotel, even though you were on your own this time around.

Rufflets is a very special place - and yes - we are on the outskirts of the town which does give the peace and tranquility, and understand that it takes a bit more effort to sort out the transport.

We are only 10 minutes from the train station, and there is a decent public bus that stops at the hotel to take guests into town. If a taxi is needed, again it is a short journey, and only costs £5 for the trip.

Maybe next time you could bring your bike again - there are some fabulous cycle paths in the immediate area that suit all sorts of biking, and we do have secure places to leave bikes over-night.

With my best regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
4.3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 18 in St. Andrews
2,976 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 18 in St. Andrews
447 reviews
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St. Andrews
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St. Andrews
277 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#10 of 18 in St. Andrews
654 reviews
1.9 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 18 in St. Andrews
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rufflets Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufflets Hotel

Property: Rufflets Hotel
Address: Strathkinness Low Road, St. Andrews KY16 9TX, Scotland (Formerly Rufflets Country House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#6 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rufflets Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury family hotel, situated in 10 acres of secluded gardens, has been under the same family ownership for over 60 years. Located a few minutes' drive from the centre of town, golf courses and beaches, the hotel is popular with couples and families. Rufflets is surrounded by mature gardens which supply the fine dining restaurant. Free parking and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rufflets Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufflets Country House Hotel St. Andrews
Rufflets Country Hotel
Rufflets Country St Andrews
Rufflets Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing