We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Country Manor Hotel”
Review of Rufflets Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rufflets Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Our golf group stayed here while playing Carnoustie and The Old Course and thoroughly enjoyed doing so. The hotel and grounds are top notch, the service is excellent, and the restaurant serves very good breakfasts and outstanding dinners. The only downside is that it is a short taxi ride from downtown St. Andrews and the golf courses, but we found the wonderfully landscaped private grounds to be worth the short trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Phil

Glad to hear that you and the rest of the party had such a great time at the hotel - and I am sure that the golf was good too (although we can't help you hit the ball any better!).

The fact that we are just outside the town can be a good thing - being away from the noise of the town centre, and in the tranquil setting of Rufflets, is often remarked on, and we always have a plentiful supply of taxis top take our guests into St Andrews (only £5.00 each way....)

Regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

739 - 745 of 1,201 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

The hotel is in a pretty setting on the outskirts of St Andrews and set in lovely gardens. The decor is of traditional Scottish design. The room was £230 a night with breakfast. We were in a small double room within an annexe of 3 rooms which bordered a road.The room was pleasant and clean but expensive for the size and for the noise from the road - and getting wet dashing across to the main building in the rain! The majority of the staff were very pleasant but I must agree with a previous reviewer - "The dining room staff headed by a lady Maitre d'hotel .. blunt and verging on being rude". We also had this unpleasant experience so it was not a one off as the manager's response implied. The woman (?? Eastern European) charged off up the restaurant leaving us unsure whether to follow as she barely acknowledged us. We were spoken to in a very blunt, unfriendly and unprofessional manner when we requested to sit by the window and we were told no despite there being several empty tables-which remained empty throughout the whole time we were there. We had to sit where she put us, she was obviously annoyed as she left us without any info re helping ourselves to juice, etc. We sat for 10 minutes before we were served by another waitress-who was very pleasant I may add.This really spoilt a nice stay. I did complain on leaving to the receptionist about this woman's appalling attitude and said she would pass it on to the manager.

Room Tip: Not in the "gate lodge"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Nexthol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback, and clearly for the most part, you had a very good stay.

Clearly I was disappointed to read the comments with regards the team member who was looking after breakfast, and I am very sorry that her manner came across as being so abrupt and rude.

She too was upset that this had made such an impact on the experience, but will learn from the comments (as we all look to do). She is in fact a local girl, born in a village 10 miles away, and so I am not sure what made you feel that she was eastern European - but neverthertheless, your feedback has been taken on board.

With my best regards,

Stephen Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We return to Rufflets year after year as it is our favourite Scottish hotel. The ambiance, quality of food and welcome is second to none, thanks to manager Stephen, charming Irish head waitress Angela and the Rufflets staff.
Dinner was delightful, and at £35 for three courses, exceptionally good value. I opted for breast of pigeon, followed by halibut with creme brulee and shortbread for dessert while my wife chose gravadlax, loin of venison and a selection of Scottish cheeses, all accompanied by by an excellent bottle of Peter Forrester 2012 'Petit' pinotage.
Our two night break was fabulous as always - can't wait to return, probably early next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable, cozy and above all, remarkably peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Dave

It was a pleasure as always to be able to welcome you and your wife back to Rufflets, and thank you for the kind comments.

We do work hard to be able to present that 'home-from-home' feel, all with the necessary luxuries that our guests expect.

Angela asks me to send her thanks as well - she was pleased that you had found such a great wine from the extensive list - there are some really good choices in it (and in fact the list has just received an award from the AA).

Will look forward to being able to welcome you back next year.

With my best regards,

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Had family Sunday lunch here. Most fantastic meal! The hotel is beautifully decorated with
amazing views. The food was memorable. I would love to go back and finish what I left on my plate because I was just too full. Thoroughly recommend this beautiful hotel for Sunday lunch.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Karen

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback - and we do very much hope that you will get the chance to come back to enjoy the hotel more.

Keep an eye on our website - we do from time-to-time have some really good special offers for bedrooms.

Will tell the chef to keep an eye on the portion sizes as well!!

Regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Having lived in Scotland many years ago, we were looking forward to our return after 30 years. We couldn't have chosen a nicer hotel for our stay. The setting is perfect, with beautiful gardens and paths that wind around the property. The interior is absolutely charming and beautifully furnished, reminiscent of a country estate from a bygone era but with all the amenities of the 21st century. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. We were lucky to stay in one of the suites overlooking the garden. Our room had a king bed and was extremely comfortable. Only had lunch and breakfast but the food was wonderful. The homemade shortbread in tins in the room was so delicious!! All in all, wonderful trip and when we return, we will stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite between the turret rooms and loved it. It was very quiet and peaceful. Beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

We were all delighted to read how much you enjoyed the visit to Rufflets, and many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback - it is much appreciated.

Hopefully the rest of the trip back to Scotland went as well, and I can only hope that it isnt another 30 years before you manage to get across to enjoy our fabulous Scottish hospitality.

With my best regards,

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were only here for a single night whilst visiting friends in St Andrews but now wish we could have stayed longer. I had known of the hotel for several years and we looked forward to finally staying here: We were not disappointed.
It is set a short distance out of town in its own beautiful grounds so gave us the peace and tranquility that we like to find from time to time as an antidote to our London life.
The feel of the hotel is very much that of a country house and personally I welcome the fact that it hasn't gone down the slick, homogeneous, over-plumped route that so many have. The furniture and overall decor is a mix of modern and traditional but wonderfully comfortable throughout and our room, overlooking the croquet/putting lawn, clean and quiet and with a delicious box of home-made shortbread waiting for us on arrival.
Polite, friendly service both at dinner and breakfast (both very good) from staff that looked like they were actually enjoying their jobs and were genuinely happy to help in any way possible.
We got the feeling that this is the kind of hotel that suprises a guest returning after an absence by remembering their last visit. We hope to put this theory to the test before too long!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Iain B

So pleased to read that you had enjoyed the short (too short?) visit to Rufflets, and also that you clearly enjoyed not only the excellent service, but also our beautiful Scottish country house.

Do let me know personally when you are heading back to our area, it would be a pleasure to be able to welcome you back - on the condition that it is for a longer trip!

With my very best regards,

Stephen Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

At short notice, we decided to book a break at Rufflets - (again!). Most rooms were booked so we had to accept a 'standard' double. When we arrived, we had been upgraded to a TURRET ROOM! Wow! As in the past, we had a lovely relaxing break in our favourite hotel. What makes a good hotel?; Comfortable, clean rooms; excellent food; friendly staff; well kept gardens. Rufflets has it all. I can happily recommend Rufflets to any visitor from home or abroad and be proud that we can offer this standard in Scotland at a reasonable price. Check the website and book now - you will not be disappointed - we never have been - and we'll be back soon.

Thank You to all the staff at Rufflets.

Maxine & Dave Green

Room Tip: Just book a room - they're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Maxine and Dave

Many thanks for the time that you have taken to give us your feedback.

We are always delighted to be able to welcome back past guests - and when we can , we do look to try and offer the best room available - and whilst sometimes the 'upgrade' can cost a bit more, we were pleased that we were able to do this at the booked price.

So, hope that you might be able to find a gap in the diary to come back again soon.

Regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
4.3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,387 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
532 reviews
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#12 of 17 in St. Andrews
692 reviews
1.9 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
446 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#9 of 17 in St. Andrews
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rufflets Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufflets Hotel

Address: Strathkinness Low Road, St. Andrews KY16 9TX, Scotland (Formerly Rufflets Country House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. Andrews
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#6 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range: $148 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rufflets Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury family hotel, situated in 10 acres of secluded gardens, has been under the same family ownership for over 60 years. Located a few minutes' drive from the centre of town, golf courses and beaches, the hotel is popular with couples and families. Rufflets is surrounded by mature gardens which supply the fine dining restaurant. Free parking and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rufflets Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufflets Country House Hotel St. Andrews
Rufflets Country Hotel
Rufflets Country St Andrews
Rufflets Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing