We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty decor,comfortable rooms, good food but noisy.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rufflets Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rufflets Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretty decor,comfortable rooms, good food but noisy.”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We used a range of rooms. The suite and superior double were beautifully decorated, large and comfortable. The gatehouse room which our daughters had (it isn't that we don't love them - we took the last three available rooms) was small and very basic. The main body of the hotel is very nicely done with a country house feel. Breakfasts were delicious as were our evening meals. I thought it was a shame that the Terrace dining room blinds and screen cut off the garden views and light in the evenings as the garden is gorgeous. Perhaps management want a more cosy atmosphere. The great breakfasts were slightly marred by the talk radio which was on every morning with the discussions covering topics I wouldn't dream of discussing with my 80 year old mother in law. Weddings were happening on two nights of our stay and were very noisy indeed. A coach came to pick up guests in the wee small hours and sounded its horn continually as our poor girls tried to sleep. Fun for the wedding guests but not for us. If I lived up there I would use it as a party venue or go to the restaurant but I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendymtovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Glad to hear that for the most part you had a really good stay at Rufflets with the family, and thank you for the feedback.

As far as the radio is concerned in the breakfast room, we have the local BBC station on each morning as it gives the best info on what the weather will be doing in the area, plus any traffic issues that our guests might need to know about.

And I am sorry that the coaches taking wedding guests away disturbed the girls - this was an issue that we have taken up with the bus company, and whilst we do have a number of weddings, this type of disturbance, for the most part, is managed so as not to cause any upset.

Regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    187
    58
    13
    8
See reviews for
220
619
14
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

From beginning to end our stay was wonderful! Very welcoming staff-especially being greeted by a glass of champagne as we'd mentioned them on twitter! Food was excellent at both breakfast and dinner, and contrary to other reviews portions were plentiful! Homemade shortbread in room was to die for! Great location for exploring St. Andrews, we booked a taxi and it was only £6 which meant we didn't need to worry about parking in a very busy town! Would def return if ever visiting the area again, highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Nicola

Many thanks for your feedback - and delighted that the team recognised the twitter thing with the glass of bubbly when you arrived.

The comment on the taxi is interesting - some guests think that as we are a country house we are miles from anywhere, but we do know that the taxi option is really easy, and not that expensive to do - we are only a short hop from the town, beaches and golf courses.

Regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

3 night stay in August 2013, We booked a family room , the Décor and lay out of the room was very good and the staff very friendly. The Room 8 consisted of two bedrooms with an inter leading door through the bathroom.

On the negative side , on checking in at a reasonable time were told that the dinning room was full and would have to make our own arrangements for dinner. No offer of room service or collection of a take away. The hotel should have at least contact us to let us know that we could stay and pay but not use the facilities. We refused to use the dinning room for the duration of our stay.

The hotel is a wee bit out of town so it is difficult to go out for a pub night and return to hotel,
by car, need to hire a taxi, The hotel bar lacks atmosphere and hence the draft beer was off as the facility is not frequented.

Besides the above problems quite a nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neville K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to let us have your feedback on the experience at Rufflets, although I was disappointed to see that it had not been perfect.

I was sorry to read that we hadnt been able to offer you a table in the dining room on the first evening. It was rather busy that night, but I do know that we would have been able to have a table for your family on the other evenings.

On the plus side, it was good to see that you enjoyed the rest of the hotel, and I do hope that you had a really good trip to our lovely town.

With my best regards,

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We wanted a special place to stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary and after checking TripAdvisor we choose the Rufflets Country House Hotel as the reviews were so good.

We stayed on the 6th and 7th August 2013 on the second floor overlooking the front drive . We arrived with high expectations and were not disappointed as during our stay the hotel, although quite busy, provided a calm and tranquil atmosphere with relaxing and beautifully furnished public rooms.

Similarly our bedroom [a Classic Double room no.34] was well decorated with a large modernised en-suite. All aspects of the hotel and its services were of a high standard, although special mention should be given to the truly delicious food in the dinning room and the delightful gardens. Overall our stay was very enjoyable and we can only add to the praise given by previous reviews and say that the Rufflets is a hotel worthy of recommendation.

Room Tip: Hotel rooms to the rear overlooking the gardens would offer he best views. These rooms are over two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
We were all very pleased to read your comments after your recent stay at Rufflets.

It does sound like your expectations of the hotel (based on other reviews on Tripadvisor) were exceeded, and as you might expect, we do work hard to achieve this.

I do hope that we might be able to welcome you back for the next special celebration - although it doesn't have to be for something special to come and enjoy the facilities of the hotel.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

As a family with a five year old and a baby we booked into Burnside East lodge as we felt that this would be more convenient for us than the hotel itself. The lodge was perfect for us and a small travel cot was provided at a £25 supplement. The lodge contained everything we needed such as washing up liquid and dishwasher tablets, kitchen roll and Molten Brown toiletries in the shower room. Burnside East has no bath so if this is a problem book Burnside West lodge instead. The staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. They lent us games for our Son and some DVDs which kept him entertained. We did feel that the hotel dining was a little too formal for children and ate in St Andrews instead. This is a very quiet location and there's not much for the children nearby so if it's not a quiet holiday that you're looking for his may not be for you. We had a really lovely week though and enjoyed the countryside location.

Room Tip: The lodges are a good choice if you have children and we thought it was reasonably priced. Be aware...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank secretmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Many thanks for giving us your feedback, and we were delighted to read how much you and the family enjoyed the lodge when you were here.

The Lodges (and we have 3 of them) are a fantastic option for families when coming to Rufflets, and have been designed and furnished to a high standard, with everything that you would need for a short break - all at a great price, and I do hope that we will be able to see you all again soon.

With my best regards,

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Diddles are no strangers to Rufflets having held our wedding reception there last year. The venue is amazing and the staff were unbelievably helpful, especially when Mrs Diddle mis-placed her engagement ring.

We dropped in yesterday for afternoon tea. We've been for afternoon tea there on he service wasn't up to the usual high standard we've come to expect and the sandwiches and cakes were a bit of a let down. That said, there was plenty of them and we both left feeling rather stuffed!

We may have just caught the hotel on a bad day, but this was not nearly as good as previous visits

Dave Diddle gives Rufflets two thumbs up for the venue, but can only give one thumbs up for afternoon tea!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Diddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Diddle

Sorry that I missed you when you were in for afternoon tea - I do remember well trying to find the ring after the wedding - turning the hotel upside down and going through all the trash and the laundry was an interesting way to spend a morning, but I was pleased that it was found safe and sound.

As far as the issues of the cakes and the sandwiches, I do appreciate the comments, and I have taken this up with the kitchen brigade - we do get it very right most of the time, but this drop in standards (whilst unusual) isnt good enough.

Hopefully I will be able to say hello the next time you pop in.

With my best regards,

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Recently spent 2 days in the hotel. Food and service were excellent. I felt nothing was too much trouble to staff and I found the hotel to be spotless. Room was modern and well decorated although it looked like there had been water damage from the room above, so a lick of paint to cover the damage wouldn't go amiss, but I'm sure this is in hand. The evening meals and breakfast on both days were probably the finest I have had in any hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TurnedOutNiceAgain01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you so much for the very kind feedback, and we are all pleased to see how much our efforts have been appreciated.

We do try to 'bend over backwards' to be able to provide a great hotel and fabulous service and at the end of the day, enjoy going that extra-mile for our guests.

The slight water-damage to the ceiling is in hand - the sumptuous bath in the room above had been well used (and enjoyed) and we think that there was some exuberant bath-times going on!

Hope to see you again soon.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
4.3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 18 in St. Andrews
2,976 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 18 in St. Andrews
447 reviews
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St. Andrews
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St. Andrews
277 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#10 of 18 in St. Andrews
654 reviews
1.9 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 18 in St. Andrews
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rufflets Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufflets Hotel

Property: Rufflets Hotel
Address: Strathkinness Low Road, St. Andrews KY16 9TX, Scotland (Formerly Rufflets Country House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#6 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rufflets Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury family hotel, situated in 10 acres of secluded gardens, has been under the same family ownership for over 60 years. Located a few minutes' drive from the centre of town, golf courses and beaches, the hotel is popular with couples and families. Rufflets is surrounded by mature gardens which supply the fine dining restaurant. Free parking and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rufflets Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufflets Country House Hotel St. Andrews
Rufflets Country Hotel
Rufflets Country St Andrews
Rufflets Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing