We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place to stay”
Review of Rufflets Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rufflets Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

A thoroughly enjoyable stay with a beautiful turret room . The food was excellent, and beautifully presented.. A great place to stay for a special occasion. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the atmosphere was very relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marionmathie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Marion

Many thanks for taking the time and effort to give the feedback - it is much appreciated.

We do try ever so hard to offer top-notch accommodation standards as well as service, but also at the same time to be able to do it in a relaxing environment - and we are often seen as a haven from the stresses of day-to-day life!

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,153)
There are newer reviews for Rufflets Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

786 - 792 of 1,153 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

A very comfortable stay. All the staff were knowledgeable and very friendly. They were particularly helpful with drying facilities for our clubs when 16 frozen and very wet golfers returned one day. We plan to return.

Room Tip: Minimal road noise, even in a north facing room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamC234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Graham

Delighted that you have been able to find the time to give us your feedback - thank you.

I do remember your group staying back in March - and if I am honest, I was sad that we had to make use of the drying rooms for all the clubs and wet kit - it was a bit wet and cold that week, but it is not always like that!

So I do hope that we will be able to welcome you and the rest of the group back at some point in the future - I cant guarantee the warm weather, but can guarantee warm hospitality.

With my best regards,

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We booked a room and then upgraded to a turret room, loved the four poster bed and reading area and of course the double whirpool spa bath.
Dinner was included and was superb three wonderfull courses along with a nice bottle of red.
Breakfast wonderfull and overall cannot fault the hotel and especially the staff who made us feel very welcome from the front desk to the bar and restaurant they made the stay special.

We look forward to returning this time to jacks room.

Room Tip: If yo can go for a turret room
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 609073Helga52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Helga

It does look as if we have managed to deliver a very special experience - from the quality of the accommodation to the levels of service that the team do work hard to give.

Do let me know when you are planning the return trip - and make sure you give plenty of notice as 'that room' is very popular!

Regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel and it's staff set a very high level of service and we have visited many times because of this and the excellent food presented in the dining room. We have loved every previous visit but were left a bit disappointed this time. It may only be me as everyone else seemed pleased with the food served but this time my choice of food seemed to lack the normal high standards of the past. Is quality slipping a little bit in the kitchen I wonder?
When any special offers appear for Rufflets whether they be direct from the hotel or via discount sites we normally snap them up. Now I would think twice purely based on the food I ate on this visit and I don't like to feel this way about a hotel I love. Perhaps one more chance on the basis I was just unlucky on the night.......

Room Tip: Not found a bad room yet............
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebriggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Thebriggie

As always, we do welcome feedback - whether it is good or less than good, and it seems that on this occasion we have not got it 100% right for you.

You have clearly experienced great experiences in the past (otherwise you would not have come back so often) - and this is what we set out to do all the time.

However, we will be looking at the comments and also at the quality of the food provision so that we can get it as it should be.

Hope that you will give us that next chance - and do let me know when you plan to return.

Regards

Stephen Owen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked this hotel for my wife’s graduation from ST ANDREWS, and although one night was as much a one month’s rent, it was worth it, we had one of the turret rooms (room 5) with 4 poster bed separate seating area and whirlpool bath. Fantastic made the weekend really special.
Food was really great and the atmosphere was relaxed staff helpful and friendly.
Would recommend as a great place to stay

Room Tip: room 5 the best
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wg m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

I was so pleased to read that you had enjoyed the stay at Rufflets for what was a very special occasion - and thank you for the feedback.

We do know that there are some lower-priced options for accommodation in St Andrews, but it is good to see that the extra money spent was seen to be worth it.

And thank you for the kind comments on the staff - they do appreciate being able to read them.

Regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was our second visit to Rufflets Hotel. We stayed in the Kinness Lodge. The lodge has 4 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms. The lodge is immaculate and very relaxing. The lodge has everything you need. A large dining kitchen, all the utensils you need and hairdryers in the bedrooms. It is very homely. The grounds of the hotel are kept beautiful. It is only a 5 minute drive into the centre of St Andrews which is a lovely town and has lovely beaches. I would thoroughly recommend visiting Rufflets and renting the Kinness Lodge for a large family. It was fantastic and we will definitely return again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

We are all very pleased to be able to see how much you and the family enjoyed using the fabulous Kinness Lodge during your stay.

Kinness Lodge is a great choice for families when coming to the hotel - basically it is a four bedroomed house furnished to high quality standard - and situated in what is a truely tranquil spot.

Hopefully you will be able to return for a third visit in the near future.

Regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I booked a two night stay to celebrate my husband's birthday. Having seen photographs on here and on the website of the turret rooms I decided to pay extra as they looked lovely. Unfortunately I dont believe that we were allocated one these new decorated rooms. Room 5 was quite tired looking and although we had a nice whirlpool bath the corner shower was small and the bathroom was generally quite old fashioned looking. I had expected much more having seen pictures of the other turret room and we were both quite disappointed. On the plus side, the reception area and drawing room are welcoming and nicely decorated. You can tell that the downstairs has been refurbished - they could do with continuing this up the stairs and onto the first floor. The beds are very hard and there was something wrong with the heating so it was like sleeping in Sri Lanka not St Andrews! Also, the room had a mini bar price list and a fridge...but with nothing in it!! We very much enjoyed our meals on both evenings although the desserts on both nights were more like variation on a theme than brand new ideas each night. I have to say that the two maitres'd were very hospitable. I booked our stay by taking advantage of a 5pm deal - we feel that were were probably allocated the 'tired' room because of this. Our stay was enjoyable enough but we did not feel that it met the standard we were expecting. The cost of our 2 night stay had we booked it direct with the hotel would have been in excess of £700 and we would have been most disappointed had we been allocated that room at that price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChansonScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

We were also disappointed to read that we had not manage to live up to your expectations - and that you found Room 5 rather 'tired'. The other Turret Room was recently refurbished to a more contemporary style - and Room 5 is perhaps more 'traditional' but does appear to get some rave reviews.

I can assure you that you werent allocated this room because you were on a special deal though.

On the positive side, I was pleased to hear that you found the public areas up to scratch, and also that the staff were very good as well.

Hopefully you will be able to find time to visit us again in the future - and we can look to make sure that you can enjoy one of the contemporary rooms.

Regards

Stephen Owen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
4.3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,273 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
506 reviews
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St. Andrews
681 reviews
1.9 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
412 reviews
6.2 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rufflets Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufflets Hotel

Address: Strathkinness Low Road, St. Andrews KY16 9TX, Scotland (Formerly Rufflets Country House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#6 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range: $166 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rufflets Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury family hotel, situated in 10 acres of secluded gardens, has been under the same family ownership for over 60 years. Located a few minutes' drive from the centre of town, golf courses and beaches, the hotel is popular with couples and families. Rufflets is surrounded by mature gardens which supply the fine dining restaurant. Free parking and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Rufflets Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufflets Country House Hotel St. Andrews
Rufflets Country Hotel
Rufflets Country St Andrews
Rufflets Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing