We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“bliss” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rufflets Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rufflets Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
larkhall
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“bliss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Fantastic relaxing one night stay. Upgraded to a turret room and it was everything I could wish for.the bathroom was amazing lovely big bath and double shower...I love peace and quite and this I received, room 33 is a must if you book. Big thanks to rufflets

Room Tip: Room 33 total peace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandys135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Mandy

Delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the stay - and Room 33 is one of our most popular rooms.

In fact this year we have carried out some refurbishment to that room (and others) - great bathroom, plus some really nice little extras and gadgets in the room as well.

Hope to see you back soon.

Regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    180
    56
    11
    8
See reviews for
207
579
14
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
EDINBURGH
Level Contributor
159 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We have had a lovely couple of nights at this very comfortable hotel. Nice and warm during this freezing cold weather with fires in the lounges and a hot water bottle in bed! The room was spacious and had plenty of drawers and a large wardrobe for clothes. The bathroom was also a good size and had a big bath and a walk in shower. Everything was nice and clean.

Dinner was excellent and my gluten free diet was catered for with no trouble. Breakfast was plentiful, a good Scottish breakfast sufficient to see you through the day.

The staff were excellent, very helpful and pleasant. Would we go back? Definitely!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for one night in February 2013 and had a fantastic time - great hotel, lovely gardens, friendly staff.

The room was large and 5 stars - great little touches such as a teddy instead of a 'do not disturb' sign and top quality shortbread!

Thanks to all the staff for making it a great weekend and would happily recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

It's okay. Food is nice, room was okay. Nice 'do not disturb' sign. Kind service but a bit formal. Old stuff no elevator which is no problem because the bring suitcase up. Bed is hard but nice. Bathroom is okay with nice shower.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edwehnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Many thanks for the feedback - and I am perhaps a bit disappointed to read that we were only 'Okay' - but do appreciate the comments.

I am aware that you were supposed to be staying at another local hotel but they had out-booked you to Rufflets - and therefore you didn't get what you had originally expected.

However, we do look at all such feedback and will look to improve on the areas you have highlighted.

With my best regards,

Stephen Owen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I took advantage of a coupon offer. The room we had was on the second floor overlooking the carpark. It was a lovely spacious, warm and comfortable room with a bath and shower (apparently all rooms don't have both). Some of paintwork needed freshened up and the grouting in the shower needs renewed. The only reason we mention is that if we had paid the full price for the room we would not have been happy with the standard of the bathroom. The meal was lovely and all the staff we met were extremely pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marionweir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

fantastic country house for a wedding the house was outstanding and the staff were very pleasant and i will return there again very shortly .The rooms were very well kept and so clean very nice loved the weekend we were there for my nephews wedding well done Rufflets House

Room Tip: ant room will do . if you disabled the gate house if the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christian11082009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Not only are we a great country house hotel, but we also like to think that we are also a great wedding venue - and the separate Garden Suite allows us to be both!

Delighted to read that you enjoyed your nephew's wedding and we look forward to being able to welcome you back soon.

Regards

Stephen Owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

My mum and I stayed for 1 night on a chilly February weekend at Rufflets, and had a great time. We got a good value deal on booking.com for bed and breakfast, and decided to have a girls weekend. Rufflets is a short drive out of St Andrews, set in some nice countryside. The building is lovely and I can imagine the gardens are beautiful in summer (a little dark and cold to enjoy them in Feb!). After efficient and friendly service at reception, we were shown to a lovely spacious room, with an equally large bathroom (including jacuzzi bath and Molten Brown toiletries!). The home-made shortbread in the room is delicious. Very comfortable beds for a good nights sleep.

In the morning we had breakfast in a lovely room, and the choice of hot and cold food was very good (the cooked breakfast was particularly tastey).
All in all a great stay, and would definitely recommend Rufflets and return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missloobylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
2.9 mi away
Eden Mansion
Eden Mansion
#5 of 19 in St. Andrews
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
4.3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 19 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,781 reviews
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#6 of 19 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#8 of 19 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#4 of 19 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#13 of 19 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rufflets Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufflets Hotel

Property: Rufflets Hotel
Address: Strathkinness Low Road, St. Andrews KY16 9TX, Scotland (Formerly Rufflets Country House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. Andrews
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#6 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rufflets Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury family hotel, situated in 10 acres of secluded gardens, has been under the same family ownership for over 60 years. Located a few minutes' drive from the centre of town, golf courses and beaches, the hotel is popular with couples and families. Rufflets is surrounded by mature gardens which supply the fine dining restaurant. Free parking and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Rufflets Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufflets Country House Hotel St. Andrews
Rufflets Country Hotel
Rufflets Country St Andrews
Rufflets Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing