We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rufflets Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Greyfriars Inn(St. Andrews)(Great Value!)
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$355
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albany Hotel(St. Andrews)(Great Value!)
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$227
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$173
$156
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$433
$320
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Du Vin(St. Andrews)
$214
$193
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Dunvegan Hotel(St. Andrews)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Russell Hotel(St. Andrews)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,281)
Filter reviews
1,283 results
Traveler rating
973
221
67
12
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
973
221
67
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturret roomcountry house hotelhomemade shortbreadkinness lodgemolton brown toiletriesterrace restaurantstunning gardensorchard suitea hot water bottleteddy bearfirst classfour poster bedthe main hotelturn down servicelovely hotelafternoon teahigh standard
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
988 - 993 of 1,283 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We expected more for £170 per night.

Positives: beautiful hotel and grounds. Lovely little touches like the toiletries and the homemade shortbread.

Negatives: the room we had was above the kitchen so we were woken early by a loud noise which could have been the air on or a generator?
The service at breakfast was slow, we got our cooked breakfast before we were brought any tea or toast.
Other guest had said they got a turn down device with hot water bottles but we did not receive this service.

If we had paid less for the room we probably wouldn't have noticed many of the negative points but when you do pay as much you expect it to be perfect

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephers84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Whilst it was good to read that you found the hotel and its grounds pleasing, I was concerned to read of the negative issues that made the stay not entirely satisfactory, and I am sorry that this was the case.

I have been able to speak to the housekeeping team with regards the turn-down service - and it appears that they felt it inappropriate to carry out the service as they didnt wish to disturb the personal items that had been left on the bed, but with hindsight, a note to that effect should have been left for you.

With regards the issue of the fan noise - this is something that we are looking into. The fan does need to be running when the kitchen is in operation, however we are investigating ways of how we can reduce the impact of this on this particular bedroom.

I do hope that we might have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel at some point in the future as we would like to think that we would be able to leave you with a fully positive memory of the hotel.

With my best regards,

Stephen Owen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Having stayed 2 nights at the Rufflets Hotel, St Andrews we again had an amazing time the food and the room were perfect the staff were friendly and professional especially Gavin and the little Irish girl Angela who helped to make our short stay a holiday. Loved the walk around the hotel grounds. Will Definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmettcurran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Emmett

I wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay at Rufflets.

We do work very hard to be able to deliver (exceed) the expectations of our guests, and the effort that Gavin, Angela and the rest of the food service team put in is frequently commented on - and it is most gratifying to read when it is appreciated.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at some point in the near future.

With my best regards

Stephen Owen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights. The room was fabulous, huge bed, spotless bathroom. We ate both nights in the restaurant and the meal was amazing, although it was quiet. The hotel was lovely and warm with open fires. Loved the teddy you put outside if you dont want disturbed. The service was flawless although my partner found it a bit stuffy. The hotel is well decorated.Pity there is no pool or leisure facilities. My only criticism .......and it is a minor one......is the cheap and dirty plastic toilet brush in the ladies toilet. Would recommend hotel to all.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 957Norma957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights (14/15 Nov) to celebrate my birthday and must agree with most reviews on this lovely hotel. We are having our house re-decorated and it was a delight to find such a place to relax, unwind and escape the hassle. We upgraded to a Turret Room ( 11 ) for only £70 extra for 2 nights and could not fault the accommodation. Huge bed, raised sitting area with seperate TV, great shower and stand-alone bath. Staff proffesional, friendly and attentive. ( impressed by barman Tom's knowledge of Scotch whiskey. (although didn't sample his favourite malt at £10.00 per nip - maybe next time). Head waitress was lovely and showed so much patience and understanding with a couple of very over fussy breakfast guests who despite an extensive menu decided to ask for something different, she even opened the bar to prepare a cappuccino, politely explaining that it may take a bit more time since the machine had to be switched on and heated. Afternoon tea, dinner and breakfast were all excellent. Unlike some other establishments ( 2 in particular in the Loch Lomond area) there was no problem having a bucket of ice for the room. Found the wine list and the prices in the bar to be reasonable for such a quality establishment and since my wife and myself enjoy entirely different wines it was helpful that there was such a good half bottle selection offered. All in all a great place to chill. Many thanks to the manager and all his hard-working staff .

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BEENELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Have eaten here several times before, usually special occasion - Christmas Day, etc. Popped in with a friend for Saturday afternoon lunch. Restaurant was quite quiet, only around 8 diners. We had the set menu 2 course lunch which was under £12. Good quality, well presented food, nice friendly staff - all in a nice spacious and well decorated room with great views over their extensive gardens.

Portion sizes were just right for lunch, good food but not overly fussy - several notches above pub food, but not fine dining - ideal for a reasonably priced reliably good lunch trip. If nearby St. Andrews and you want somewhere upmarket and relaxing to eat without having to trawl round the pub chains in town for something decent and reasonably priced - head out to Rufflets, it's only a mile or so out of town.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank stevejubilado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews