We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel, great service”
Review of Rufflets Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rufflets Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed one night in the Turret room in the Rufflets hotel in December 2011. The room was lovely and well-equipped with WIFI, a whirlpool bath and homemade shortbread! We enjoyed a beautiful meal in the restaurant with great service, coffee in the drawing room beside a roaring fire, then a cosy night in comfortable bed (and our very own hot water bottle placed by staff during the 'turn down' service!) Breakfast was very nice. We would return to this hotel due to good location, clean and comfortable rooms and great food/friendly and professional service. Would recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GerryR_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2012

It should perhaps go without saying that all the different things that we do in the hotel are aimed at providing the experience that you have clearly enjoyed - things that we look to do for all our guests.

It is so nice to read that the little touches are all appreciated (and the hottie is always warmly received).

Good food, rooms and location - backed-up with warm friendly service is what we do - and thank you for the kind comments.

We are always working hard to make it even better. In fact we are closed at the moment as we are redecorating the front hall and reception areas so as to make it all even more comfortable - will be unveiled around the 20th January!

Do let me know when you are coming back, and I will see if chef will part with a copy of his special shortbread recipe!

With best wishes,

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,021 - 1,027 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed at the Rufflets overnight and enjoyed a fantastic meal in the Dining Room.
We enjoyed walking in the beautiful gardens. Everything was so peacefull.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThemuirsWestLothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2012

Thank you so much for giving this feedback - I am delighted to hear that you had such a good time at the hotel - albeit a short one.

The chef does work hard to produce excellent menus in the Terrace Restaurant - and the service team love to read when they have done so well.

Even in winter, the grounds and gardens are a real joy and all help to provide a peaceful retreat for that relaxing short-break.

With my best regards,

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

As a party of 8, plus baby and dog, we stayed in the Kinness Lodge for 5 nights which incorporated a nephew's wedding held in the Garden Suite as well as staying on for New Year's Eve celebrations. The hotel itself was an excellent choice for a wedding and reception. The wedding meal was very good and the staff were attentive and welcoming. The Lodge was ideal for our requirements - the 4 en-suite bedrooms were well appointed and much appreciated by our family group. The large, modern lounge with a 50 in. flat screen tv was very comfortable and the kitchen had all mod.cons with an adjoining larder and utility room. Set in lovely grounds it was a peaceful getaway.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DerbyshireSpireites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2012

So pleased to read that you all had such a great time in Kinness Lodge - it is a really good option for accommodation at Rufflets - both for self-catering breaks, and we also have breakfast inclusive rates available for it as well.

We continue to look to improve the facilities in the Lodge and are glad that you found everything that you needed.

I will pass on your compliments to the team with regards the food and service - we do work hard to make sure that we provide high quality whether it be for a wedding or in the Terrace Restaurant, and I look forward to being able to welcome you back sometime soon.

With best regards

Stephen Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

This is a hotel of the highest order. The Building was beautiful inside and out and only a short trip into the town. The hotel really lived up to its reputation, the room was great, very comfortable and spacious. The staff were absolutely wonderful,pleasant,polite could thank or praise them enough made our stay memorable. The food was out of this world especially the steak which was cooked to perfection, the waitresses were always attentive and polite. I could not fault anything, even down to the hot water bottle in the bed, that was a pleasant surprise. I would thoroughly recommed this hotel to anyone infact I already have and our friends are looking forward to their trip in January. I would definately stay at this hotel again.Well done to the manager for getting a great team together.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank williedor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2011

Thank you so much for the feedback - it is always really good for the team to be able to read how much their hard work has been appreciated - and I am delighted to know that you have already recommended the hotel to friends.

Have a great Christmas!

Stephen Owen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We stayed here for two days while visiting St Andrews University. The hotel is half a mile outside town and maybe a mile from the centre – walking distance if you're energetic – but in the countryside with peace, quiet and an attractive garden. The food was good and the staff courteous. The out-of-season rate was also pretty attractive. Could not fault it

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rashid513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2011

I am delighted that you enjoyed the hotel so much - thank you for the feedback. We do know that whilst we are not in the centre of the town, we can offer a great base for visiting the university and town. The plus point is that we do offer some wonderful tranquility!

We do have some seasonal offers for room prices - do let me know if you would like to be included on our mailing list so we can send you details from time to time.

Hope that we might see you again.

Stephen Owen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Rufflets as part of our office Christmas celebrations a few days ago (a dinner dance evening including a three course meal and stay in the hotel).

The only let down of the trip was my wife's inability to read a map to get there =) (... we got a bit lost before St Andrews which resulted in us arriving a little bit later than planned, woops.) Still - we got there in the end, and were greeted by staff who were unfailingly friendly and helpful.

The food during the evening was exceptionally good - we both had the chicken and leek terrine starter, turkey main, and choc tart dessert - all wonderful. The after-dinner homemade mince pies were particularly good (even though I don't usually like them - never found a mince pie I'd readily take a 2nd of, but these were lovely and buttery).

The room we stayed in was also excellent - Room 16. I've spotted that a previous reviewer has listed some complaints about it (chiefly – they said they were unhappy with the room size, temperature, and noise from a fan outside the window), but during our own stay, we didn't notice any noise from outside, the room size was on par with similar hotels we've stayed in as a couple, and the temperature was a welcome change from the bitterly cold and frosty night outside. So no complaints from us in any of those areas.

In summary, a very enjoyable stay - a great hotel, with delicious food - we don't tend to stay away in hotels very often these days, but if we're ever in the area we’ll definitely make a beeline for the restaurant again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Our stay was 5 star, staff are very friendly food excellent and accomodation 1st class, we have in the past stayed at one of St Andrews 5 star hotels and we will not go past Rufflets Country House on our next vist, it matches any 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PAL000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2011

Thank you very much. It means a lot to me and the team that you enjoyed the stay. We do try very hard to be the best and it is lovely to hear that you won't drive past us again! Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Be sure to ask for me when you are making your next booking.

Stephen Owen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
4.3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,413 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
539 reviews
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#12 of 17 in St. Andrews
695 reviews
1.9 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
453 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St. Andrews
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rufflets Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufflets Hotel

Address: Strathkinness Low Road, St. Andrews KY16 9TX, Scotland (Formerly Rufflets Country House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. Andrews
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#6 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range: $133 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rufflets Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury family hotel, situated in 10 acres of secluded gardens, has been under the same family ownership for over 60 years. Located a few minutes' drive from the centre of town, golf courses and beaches, the hotel is popular with couples and families. Rufflets is surrounded by mature gardens which supply the fine dining restaurant. Free parking and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Rufflets Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufflets Country House Hotel St. Andrews
Rufflets Country Hotel
Rufflets Country St Andrews
Rufflets Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing