We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel, great position in a lovely town.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in St. Andrews
Inverurie
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, great position in a lovely town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

We have just spent two night at the Rusacks and cannot praise it highly enough! We paid for our B&B with our Teso vouchers so did not expect a room with a fab view and we did not get one. The room was very spacious with a large bed. The ensuit was also spacious with plenty of good quality towels. The barman in the conservatory bar was excellent as were the girls in the dining room. They knew it was my husbands birthday and put a candle into his cheese and sang Happy Birthday! Early nice touch. The girls on reception gave us a lovely welcome and a hearty farewell. The hotels location is perfect and we enjoyed a walk along the beach as well as a walk round the golf courses. The town is a two minute walk away. We had a fabulous few days and can recommend the hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shonapona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    375
    195
    68
    36
See reviews for
192
669
33
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2011

Rusacks is first and foremost a golf themed hotel, with photos and memorabilia in every room. But don't worry if (like us) you are not a golfer as the hotel has plenty of plus points like the great views, good food and friendly staff.There is a choice of restaurants - a more formal one and the downstairs bistro. We dined at the latter which was good value. The car park is a bit tight when the hotel is full and sometimes you need to double park and leave your keys. However this was a minor issue and would certainly not stop us going back

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willwizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

Stayed at a few of the MacDonald hotels in Scotland. they are normally pretty expensive but you can usually get an off peak deal in winter but any sort of deals at Rusacks, St Andrews have escaped us for years now. However we finally got a brilliant 2 day B/B and evening meal last week. The hotel is super, right on the lane at the 18th fairway of the Old Course.
Everything is 'period' and top quality from the room to the stair carpets and dining room. The meal in the restaurant was 5 star and for breakfast we were sat in the bay window with a view of the 18th hole that you just couldn't buy during a golf tournament there. All the staff were brilliant, typically Scottish, kind and witty. Can't say enough about this hotel. Might be a long time till a deal comes round again, but will keep looking.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimPoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

Great hotel, staff very attentive without being overbearing. Breakfast was outstanding and the view over the 18th and beach was just a great end to the stay!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeezyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

Handy hotel near the eighteenth hotel. Nice clean rooms comfortable bed. Has a bit of a dated feel with the carpets but no complaints. £59 online on one website. Bill was £64 and £2 for paying by credit card. Room service breakfast was £14 so passed. Other website insisted on a two day stay for the same daily charge. Service was professional

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdmurray17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

Our planned trip to St. Andrews was uncertain up until the day before we were due to travel to St. Andrews because of the weather conditions at that time.So much snow had fallen.e hoped not to be disappointed and have to cancel, as we had made this booking three months in advance.
Well, we did make it, the slow journey was worth the stress. We were greeted very warmly by members of staff, We felt very comfortable immediately. Our room was very nice, a classic double, very comfortable bed, and every little extra touches you could possibly want..
We did not have the convenience of Wi-Fi in our room. It was available in the downstairs area in the Hotel.
The Hotel is steeped in the History of Golf. Absolutely amazing.
It is oh so relaxing, in the Conservatory ,sitting having a coffee or an aperitif, or Afternoon Tea, watching the world go by, both inside and outdoors. The view too is wonderful, you have The Links, and the Shore. Who could ask for more.
We ate in both The One Under a Gastro Pub, and The Restaurant. The food is gorgeous, Cannot fault at all. Such choices for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, and served by very accommodating staff. Nothing is too much trouble. A wonderful experience for a special Birthday.
So, Thank you very much Rusacks, we will see you very soon, as we have made another booking recently.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highlandfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

The hotel staff were really friendly and made us feel very welcome during New Year in St Andrews. The double room we had was very homely, clean and comfortable with every thing you could need. The bathroom was huge and the shower powerful and hot (just what you need in winter). The twin room my children had was huge with an even bigger bathroom. Would recommend a visit and make sure you visit Rocca Restaurant whilst there.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Roz069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
3.2 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,981 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#10 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Rusacks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Rusacks Hotel

Property: Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Address: Pilmour Links, St. Andrews KY16 9JQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
#5 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Rusacks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel in St Andrews is a golfers paradise. Overlooking the world famous Old Course, you can indulge in a round or simply watch others tee'ing off from our comfortable R Bar. Our award-winning Rocca Bar & Grill serves the finest and freshest food against the backdrop of the Old Course's 18th hole. Our luxurious bedrooms are the perfect place to rest your head after a day exploring this beautiful seaside town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Rusacks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Rusacks St Andrews
Hotel Macdonald Rusacks
Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing