We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Modernised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in St. Andrews
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Needs Modernised”
Reviewed January 30, 2010

+ Points

Central location.
Convenient for golf course if that's what your visiting for.
Good basement bar


- Points

Dirty and run down. Crying out for modernisation and a refurbishment.
Service was average at best.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rotaxus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    384
    199
    69
    37
See reviews for
194
694
33
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2010

Booked because of great deal £69 room only, which is about half usual rate. Staff very friendly upon arrival. Was worried because of the rate we paid that we would get one of the rooms with poor view but we were allocated 226 which was called (all rooms have names) Swilken Bridge and as such had great views of the 18th hole. The room decor is traditional but it had flalt screened tv and armchairs. Beds were very comfy. Bathrooms well decorated but water pressure is poor so took nearly 20mins to run a bath. Tea and coffee facilites were great. The weather was awful when we were there. It had been -14 the day before but even though we turned the radiator off the room was very hot. This was after opening the window and leaving it open all night. Did not use any of the communal areas but they looked lovely and recently modernised. All in all at this rate was a great hotel very close to town and would definately return.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2009

If you have a chance to stay at this Hotel it is highly recommended. We looked around at several hotels and ended up on the Macdonald Rusacks. We had an 18 month old and they were very accomodating with crib and in the restaurant. The view was outstanding and so was the location.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Musgc407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2009

We've stayed twice here now and have booked a trip back up to the town I went to uni in next year. This hotel is excellent, and although there are probably slightly posher hotels available at a much higher price it's IMHO the best you can stay in without spending silly money and staying out of town. In terms of location, it's difficult to be in a bad one if you're actually in St. Andrews itself as it's such a small town- but this is great particularly for the golf-ists (we don't play, but it's got an amazing view over the 18th green/ 1st tee of the old course, looking out onto the west sands).

This hotel has lots of character and the rooms were lovely. The restaurant was also very nice and the cocktails in the bar were actually some of the best we've had anywhere!

Can't think of any downsides at the moment, and look forward to going back!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkVictormeldrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2009

Visited this hotel when attending wedding. Unfortunately it was the weekend of G20
Booked hotel in August and expected to be given a room which would be up to '4 star' standard.
Room was in basement, damp, dark no central heating, only small convector heater on coldest night of year. Shower door fell off .
Complained but told no other rooms available -hotel full due to G20.
Will never return

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCSC63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2009

Stayed in Rusacks for 2 nights in August 09, the staff is very helpful. However, the rooms are a bit small and need a refurbishment.

The staff is veryhelpful, lots of channels on tv. However, this is not a luxury hotel and is overpriced. No free internet or carparking! Good if you are going there for golf.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adeelwaheed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leighton buzzard
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2009

My husband and I met friends for dinner, none of us having eaten here before. The staff were friendly and very attentive possibly because we were the only poeple in the restaurant at 7-30 on a Saturday night during the Alfred Dunhill championships which at the time was surprising.
The menu was interesting but when the starters arrived although delicious were very small but we all looked forward to the main course which should be more substantial . I ordered fish and when it arrived I can honestly say I could have eaten it in 3 mouthfulls.This included the vegetables one of which was a single asparagus spear.

My husband and I felt insulted that such a prestigiuos hotel could serve such miniscule meals and expect people to pay top prices for them. We were hungry afterwards and considerably lighter of pocket and I cannot remember having such small quantities served to us.

We will never recommend it to any of our friends and can full understand why the restaurant was so empty. What a pity as the food was delicious as far as I could tell in 3 mouthfulls.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magsleightonbuzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
3.2 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 16 in St. Andrews
3,067 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 16 in St. Andrews
475 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 16 in St. Andrews
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#12 of 16 in St. Andrews
668 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 16 in St. Andrews
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#8 of 16 in St. Andrews
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Rusacks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Rusacks Hotel

Property: Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Address: Pilmour Links, St. Andrews KY16 9JQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#5 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Rusacks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel in St Andrews is a golfers paradise. Overlooking the world famous Old Course, you can indulge in a round or simply watch others tee'ing off from our comfortable R Bar. Our award-winning Rocca Bar & Grill serves the finest and freshest food against the backdrop of the Old Course's 18th hole. Our luxurious bedrooms are the perfect place to rest your head after a day exploring this beautiful seaside town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Macdonald Rusacks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Rusacks St Andrews
Hotel Macdonald Rusacks
Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing