We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did you know that St.Andrews has a golf course?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in St. Andrews
Vancouver
Level Contributor
200 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Did you know that St.Andrews has a golf course?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Despite being overwhelmed by this message in and around the town of St. Andrews it really is a great place and this hotel is a perfect base for your trip. The staff are very friendly and the rooms simple but clean. It is an older property and their are some quirks that come with that but the view from the main restaurant cannot be beat and the location is great. I only had breakfast here but the Scottish Fry up was awesome.
We were there during (what we hear) is a relatively rare sunny few days so that helps make the stay better but I think the hotel would be comfortable nonetheless.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thatcraigguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    375
    195
    68
    36
See reviews for
192
669
33
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have just had a 2 night stay at the Rusacks and on arrival were upgraded to room 17 which has patio doors to a balcony - albeit overlooking the car park. The views beyond over the course and beach were lovely though. So we were off to a good start. As my husband had booked this as a treat, and I didn't want to cause a fuss, I didn't mention to him - or hotel staff - about the china cup full of cigarette butts in the corner of our balcony. Totally disgusting. I hate cigarettes and wonder why this wasn't picked up by hotel staff ( or did they belong to staff?) Maybe they are still there! The room was very nice - no bath , but a decent shower, and comfy beds ( 2 beds with small gap in between).
Although the quality of breakfast was good, I echo the comments made about the service and having to ask - and wait considerably - for things like sauce. To be fair to staff, we were warned to stagger breakfast on Sunday due to numbers dining, but the queuing system was not efficient. I was also not impressed with the way staff dealt with a young lady who was not a resident and who had waited over an hour for breakfast. If I'd been her I'd have headed off to Greggs! In all the stay was pleasant, but I expected more from this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We have just spent a lovely three night break here. Hotel has had a make over in recent years and is very comfortable with an extremely welcoming staff who made us feel at home. Car parking is limited but we came by train to Leuchars Junction fro where there is a bus every ten minutes which stops almost outside the hotel. Daytime snacks are served in a beautiful conservatory overlooking the Old Course. Breakfast and dinner are served in the dining room, also looking over the Old Course. Food is excellent. Good food (where prices are cheaper) is also served in the Bar downstairs in a semi-basement - The One Under.
The rates are not cheap, but are comparable with the service offered.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phoenix021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Just spent the one night at this hotel recently on Saturday, arrived at 2pm, check in was quick and efficient. We ate in the afternoon at the Gastro Pub (burger and chips) but it was very good. The room was lovely and clean with a lovely big bed, tea and coffee facilities were well stocked and it included a fancy coffee machine that you insert the capsules into. We decided as a treat to have breakfast in bed, and it came on the time we specified and was very well presented and hot. All in all a good overnight stay with excellent views and accommodating staff :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kendal99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

On arrival, after a 6 hour drive, we were informed that there was no room in the car park and were directed to a free public car park a 5 minute walk away. The hotel car park was manned at the time and no offer was made to help with our luggage. Fortunately the weather was fine, had it been raining we would have been soaked lugging our bags from the public car park.
Our double room had a queen size bed, 2 single beds pushed together, however there was a gap in the middle. The room was a bit tired looking and not the cleanest. We did ask to move but were told there was only a small room left.
We dined in the restaurant which on the whole was very good, although we weren't informed when we booked that only the Valentine's menu was available on Saturday February 15th. Various menus, including the tasting menu were advertised outside the restaurant on a notice board on the evening we were there. In spite of this, the food was well presented and very enjoyable. At the start of the evening, I ordered a glass of House Champagne and was brought a glass of Prosecco. Not only does this smell and taste nothing like Champagne, the price is quite different. I asked what wine I had been brought and was told that it was Champagne. I asked to see the label and was promptly told that a mistake had been made, my glass taken away and a glass of Champagne was brought to me. This is not the first time this has happened to me at a MacDonald hotel.
We didn't sleep particularly well due to the gap in the bed mentioned above. Also the towel rail in the bathroom remained unbelievably hot and we had no way of turning it off, so the room was like a sauna and we left the window open all night to try to cool us down. One would question why this hotel is given signature status.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GirlyShirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We only stayed for one night but were made very welcome by reception staff. Nice room with large comfy bed and lovely shower room (looked new). No view unfortunately but it was a late booking at a very reasonable rate so we didn't really expect a room with a view! Two proper armchairs to sit in.
We had a very nice dinner in the gastro pub downstairs. Excellent fish.
Lovely breakfast in the Rocco restaurant next morning - with a view of the old course & west sands. Plenty of choice of yogurts, fruit & cereals buffet style so help yourself to as much or little as you want. Cooked breakfast made to order - stornoway black pudding included!
The hotel is in a great location overlooking the golf course & beach and near to town centre. The only downside is the parking. The hotel car park is small & was full so we had to drop off our luggage & park in the seafront public car park a few minutes walk away. It is free at this time of year but there is a parking charge there in summer.
All the front of house staff we encountered were very friendly & efficient and local too.
We would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizBroxburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

A hotel that claims to be in the Macdonald hotel signature collection but is NOT of signature status. It takes more than location to make a hotel SIGNATURE.

They clearly have drains issue as on entering the hotel your hit by the smell.

When you book a specific standard of room, you expect just that. NOT at this hotel when that standard of room is taken they down grade you not upgrade you.
When booking they do not tell you the hotel is undergoing work. Why would you travel to St Andrews or Scotland usually the views and countryside here you get to look at green netting on scaffolding.
When you politely and nicely complain they stick you in the basement looking at a car park out of your patio doors.
4 O'clock in the afternoon corridors still strewn with towels and bed linen not even bagged up.
When you nicely complain to ensure your stay is nice you get fobbed off saying head office have dictated no upgrades or I can't comment no ownership taken.
Why would any hotel chain that is less than half empty stick guests in the worst rooms, do they not want you to return. Who at head office would issue such a dictate they deserve the sack.
If your coming to SCOTLAND stay at the Macdonald HOLYROOD HOTEL this general manager clearly knows how to run a hotel. We have stayed their for two days previously and everything is superb could not fault anything. Location Great, Rooms Nice, Food Excellent, Every member of staff smiles and nothing is to much trouble, they even great you by name each day, something you rarely get in a hotel of this size. Superb hotel second to none others in the chain could learn a lot from this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian7450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
3.2 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,981 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#10 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Rusacks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Rusacks Hotel

Property: Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Address: Pilmour Links, St. Andrews KY16 9JQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#5 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Rusacks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel in St Andrews is a golfers paradise. Overlooking the world famous Old Course, you can indulge in a round or simply watch others tee'ing off from our comfortable R Bar. Our award-winning Rocca Bar & Grill serves the finest and freshest food against the backdrop of the Old Course's 18th hole. Our luxurious bedrooms are the perfect place to rest your head after a day exploring this beautiful seaside town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Rusacks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Rusacks St Andrews
Hotel Macdonald Rusacks
Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing