We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice in Fife!”
other travelers have booked this property
Newly built in 2008 by the present owners, Bag End is a quite unique.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Newly built in 2008 by the present owners, Bag End is a quite unique.
Enjoy the garden patio, dining area, BBQ and even the giant chess set. All with country views Bag End's oak kitchen is a pleasure to use, with access to the garden and outdoor dining area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
109 reviews
Newly built in 2008 by the present owners, Bag End is a quite unique.
Enjoy the garden patio, dining area, BBQ and even the giant chess set. All with country views
Bag End's oak kitchen is a pleasure to use, with access to the garden and outdoor dining area.
The kitchen is superbly fitted with Neff and Bosh appliances and is equipped to a high standard
Bright and sunny for breakfast, stylish and intimate for dinner. An enjoyable holiday luxury.
Handmade by a local craftsman, Bag End's solid Cherrywood staircase curves beautifully.
The best room in the house; have a quick power shower or relax in the beautiful roll top bath.
Enjoy the extra downstairs WC with a large wash bowl, toilet, shaver point and heated mirror.
Lovely wide hallways and displays of vintage 20th Century ceramics add a little quirky style.
King-size master bedroom with dimmable lights, Freeview Television, DVD & black out blinds.
Family room with double bed, single bed, Freeview Tv, dimmable lights and open country views.
Lovey double room with Freeview TV, dimmable lights, blackout blinds and open country views
Even in winter the view from the front door is a delight. Scottish village life at its best.
A little garden detail. Summer brings colour, and light to the lush Fife countryside.
Falkland Palace, Home to Ancient Scottish Kings. Nine miles from Bag End
The Royal and Ancient Golf Club, St Andrews. 9 miles from Bag End
St Andrews cathedral. Nine miles from Bag End
One of the beautifull fishing village on the East Neuk of Fife. 17 Miles from Bag End
Fife Folk Museum, Ceres. 1 Mile from Bag End
Edinburgh Castle. Just an hours drive or a short train journey straight into the the city centre.
One of the rare breed Ryland sheep which habit our large field at the back of the property. They love a little bread...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
St. Andrews, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 109 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Barbara14...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice in Fife!”
Reviewed February 13, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We had a great weekend in Fife and absolutely loved Bag End cottage. If you are impressed with the website photos then you are in for a treat when you arrive as it is so much more than expected. Mark has done a fantastic job creating a lovely space for his guests. The cottage is extremely well equipped and comfortable with lovely personal touches. I would highly recommend Bag End especially if you are looking for peace and quiet and a friendly host. I have a feeling we will be visiting again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 23, 2018
Thank you sooo much for the lovely comments. We try very hard indeed to make Bag End a home away from home and its great when guests appreciate our hard work. We would be very pleased to see you again at any time!
Thank you. Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great find!”
Reviewed November 9, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were looking for a very last minute break and came upon Bag End at a very reasonable price. Booked to stay here for 3 nights and so glad we did. What a lovely, spacious, clean and modern house. We were met by Mark who was so friendly to us and our wee girl and he took the time to explain how everything worked. The house had all the facilities we needed as well as a great play area behind the house for kids. The bedrooms were a good size, there was a separate dining room and the bathroom was lovely. All in all I would really recommend Bag End to anyone looking to get away for some peace and quiet while still within short driving distance of lots of places to go and things to do.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSLB50
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed November 6, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

The owners have thought of everything. Mark told us he would be calling round on Saturday morning which he did, he stayed 5 minutes and gave us a big welcome explaining about the heating and local amenities etc.

Fully equipped kitchen, spotlessly clean cottage, warm underfloor heating, towels, hand wash, bubble bath, T-towels, coffee, tea, washing up liquid...surprises in every cupboard....the list is endless. Folders of information about the area; places to visit, pubs, restaurants, takeaways, recommended walks etc etc. The cottage is easy to find but our Sat Nav told us to go right at the T-Junction in the lane but we should have gone left, no problem we turned around as if you go right its a dead end and then we found it, recognisable by the panelling on the outside of the property. Plenty of parking as we had 3 cars, 6 adults.

The property is very spacious for 6 adults, living room, dining room, nice size kitchen.... we cooked breakfast for 11 one morning as friends and family came over. Outdoor chess was used by our 26 year olds.

We went to the Ceres Inn for a few drinks, easy to park in the car park opposite the pub, lovely welcome from Lennie. Also went to Meldrums pub for a fabulous meal of sea bass, fish and chips etc, superb. Lovely walk along beach at Kingsbarns, went into St Andrews which has nice shops and cafes, very quiet until around 11am then it gets busy! Walked around the cathedral ruin, originally built in the 11th century.

Cupar train station is 5 minutes drive away which has easy links to Edinburgh train station etc.

Would definitely return and recommend. Mark said he is very booked up so book in advance. Would be ideal for a Christmas or New year break with family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caroleann...
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great find- Excellent cottage in a beautiful setting!”
Reviewed November 6, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

The location is amazing! We love Fife with stunning beaches, amazing hill walks and beautiful villages, 'Falkland' being one treasure we found and also the stunning Kingsbarn beach. Bag End Cottage is in the perfect position to explore all of these great places. The sun did not stop shining and we found somewhere new to explore everyday. Mark had thought of everything to make our stay welcoming and comfortable, nothing was too much trouble. It was lovely returning at the end of the day to the underfloor heating and a long hot bath. Pure luxury! There were enough games to encourage a some family competition and we loved the outdoor chess. We tried to rebook for Christmas but sadly for us it was already booked. We look forward to returning to Bag End Cottage and explore the many more hidden treasures in Fife.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_goodwins...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely family friendly cottage”
Reviewed July 19, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This house was a great find and ideal for our family. Very family friendly, kitted out with high chair, stair gates and plenty of toys to keep kids amused. Location ideal to discover Fife and Mark was really helpful in recommending local areas. All rooms in excellent condition and a fully kitted out kitchen with everything you need. Kids loved the play park whilst adults enjoyed the sun trap back garden! Hopefully be back again in the future!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorrainem...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed July 12, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Myself and my family spent 5 days at Bagend we loved every minute of our relaxing stay .

The location is great for taking roas trips to St Andrew's etc

Mark was most welcoming and was available if we needed him

I will 100% be back

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Styne
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family Friendly accomodation in a central location in stunning Fife”
Reviewed July 5, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A well equipped cottage offering generous hospitality with something to offer the whole family. There is a very safe fully equipped fine weather play area for the kids and an abundance of games and books. The kitchen is very well equipped - the best of any self catering cottage I have stayed in. You will want to use it because the local butchers, bakers and numerous farm shops provide first class produce. The strawberries and raspberries were the best I have tasted for years! A fifteen minute walk takes you to the Kingarroch Inn which provided friendly customer service and a great meal. The location of the house makes it easy to spend time in many places e.g Cupar, Falkland and of course St Andrews with its lovely beaches, cafes and famous Golf Course! Playfair's for a good lunch! Along the coast there are some lovely towns and villages again with lovely beaches such as Elie. Don't miss the chance to visit a Highland Games. Having spent a week in Fife there was so much to see but not enough time. A return visit is a must.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing