We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing, picturesque home”
other travelers have booked this property
Newly built in 2008 by the present owners, Bag End is a quite unique.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Newly built in 2008 by the present owners, Bag End is a quite unique.
Enjoy the garden patio, dining area, BBQ and even the giant chess set. All with country views Bag End's oak kitchen is a pleasure to use, with access to the garden and outdoor dining area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
109 reviews
Newly built in 2008 by the present owners, Bag End is a quite unique.
Enjoy the garden patio, dining area, BBQ and even the giant chess set. All with country views
Bag End's oak kitchen is a pleasure to use, with access to the garden and outdoor dining area.
The kitchen is superbly fitted with Neff and Bosh appliances and is equipped to a high standard
Bright and sunny for breakfast, stylish and intimate for dinner. An enjoyable holiday luxury.
Handmade by a local craftsman, Bag End's solid Cherrywood staircase curves beautifully.
The best room in the house; have a quick power shower or relax in the beautiful roll top bath.
Enjoy the extra downstairs WC with a large wash bowl, toilet, shaver point and heated mirror.
Lovely wide hallways and displays of vintage 20th Century ceramics add a little quirky style.
King-size master bedroom with dimmable lights, Freeview Television, DVD & black out blinds.
Family room with double bed, single bed, Freeview Tv, dimmable lights and open country views.
Lovey double room with Freeview TV, dimmable lights, blackout blinds and open country views
Even in winter the view from the front door is a delight. Scottish village life at its best.
A little garden detail. Summer brings colour, and light to the lush Fife countryside.
Falkland Palace, Home to Ancient Scottish Kings. Nine miles from Bag End
The Royal and Ancient Golf Club, St Andrews. 9 miles from Bag End
St Andrews cathedral. Nine miles from Bag End
One of the beautifull fishing village on the East Neuk of Fife. 17 Miles from Bag End
Fife Folk Museum, Ceres. 1 Mile from Bag End
Edinburgh Castle. Just an hours drive or a short train journey straight into the the city centre.
One of the rare breed Ryland sheep which habit our large field at the back of the property. They love a little bread...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
St. Andrews, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 109 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
yangjuanj...
Libertyville, Illinois
1 review
“Amazing, picturesque home”
Reviewed June 27, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We rented this cottage from Mark and he made us feel right at home. He was incredibly welcoming and went above and beyond to help us with anything we could ever need. The cottage was beautiful and set in the most picturesque setting imaginable -- it really lives up to its name of Bag End! The cottage is comfortable inside and very well furnished and taken care of. It was very comfortable for six people to stay in this cottage and we never felt cramped. The location is about a 25 minute drive from St. Andrews, which was very convenient since we had a rental car. The cottage was pretty easy to find, thanks to the driving directions that were available to us. Mark really thought of anything we could need and anticipated it. I would highly recommend this rental to anyone! You won't regret it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashleighG...
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely home from home”
Reviewed April 25, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Just returned from a weekend in this lovely house, it has everything you need and more. Well done Mark you have put in a lot of thought to giving your guests an enjoyable experience and loved all your vases and glasswork. It is ideally situated to visit the Fife coast and is within walking distance to a lovely village gastropub. Would love to make a return visit

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin517
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage ideal for Exploring Fife Coast and Countryside”
Reviewed February 13, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Just returned from a lovely weekend at Bag End. The communication and hospitality was first class throughout. The cottage has personality and is stylishly appointed as well as being well cared for and impeccably clean. It is nicely tucked away in a small hamlet - with walks right from the door - yet conveniently close to excellent local amenities.

Lots to see and do within half an hour you can be anywhere in the Fife coast and in less that ten minutes in Cupar, with a good range of shopping restaurants and pubs. The owners were thoughtful and readily contactable if needed whilst respectful of our privacy as guests.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
feehatesr...
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay in a beautiful cottage in Fife”
Reviewed December 14, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We are just home after a long weekend at Bag End Cottage and what a fabulous time we had!

From the initial contact with Mark to our arrival and departure everything was easy and straightforward.

Bag End had everything our group needed, beautiful spacious bedroom, great for travelcots. Separate eating & living spaces with high chair and stair gates. Great for our group with young kids. The garden with its play area was also a big hit!

The kitchen was the best equipped I've seen in a holiday cottage with everything you could possibly need.

All in all a fabulous find right in the heart of fife.

Don't hesitate to book a stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 15, 2016
Not sure that I can add anything to that fab review apart from.....Thank you..... It makes all the hard work we put in worth while.

Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise K
Glenrothes
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation”
Reviewed November 28, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our wedding and it was fantastic. We stay only half an hour away but wanted just to get off our door step and it felt like we were a million miles away. Everything you could ask for and more. The cottage is stunningly beautiful and wished we could have stayed longer.
The owner was great and has thought about absolutely every need.
Would 100% recommend staying here and would love to stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 29, 2016
I am so pleased that the cottage made such a contribution to your very special day and thank you for the very very kind comments. Myself and my family wish you and your husband all the best for the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A
1 review
“Miss”
Reviewed November 1, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Excellent value for money and great location for lovely days out. Mark was extremely accommodating and was always on hand for help and advice. The bottle of wine and cake was a lovely greeting at Bag End.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed October 24, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This was a great property and the owners were extremely helpful and friendly. The house was very generously equipped- plenty of crockery, cutlery, glassware, bedding etc.- and very comfortable indeed. We usually visit the other side of St Andrews- Crail, Kingsbarns etc.- but we were delighted to see another area and this was a great base from which to have lovely walks (e.g. to Scotstarvit Tower and Hill of Tarvit). We would definitely go back.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing