We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“where's the bags ?”

The Tailend Restaurant and Fish Bar
Ranked #4 of 147 Restaurants in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Scottish, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We are a family run fish bar and restaurant. We have been in the fish business for four generations and we hope to keep the family tradition going. All our fish is locally sourced and is as fresh as can be. We have our own fish house based in Arbroath, Where we are particularly famous for our Smokies! (Haddock cooked over a barrel, giving an intense smoked flavour) and our Humble Haddock is also a customer Favorite! We are passionate about seafood and it comes across in all our dishes from the Humble Haddock to our Seared Tuna steak! We carry a bespoke range of wines and whiskys suited to compliment your dish, just ask our serving staff for advice.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“where's the bags ?”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just stopped in for a bag of chips to take out and eat on my way back to the car park. The chips were so good but why were they served in a poly-plastic type box, I miss the old style bags that chips used to come in.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DBinCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    850
    294
    85
    37
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

It is rather stating the obvious, but don't try this restaurant unless you are an enthusiast for fish and chips. The main dish is the Fish and Chips Special which comes with a number of options. One can choose to have the fish battered or breaded and either garden or fresh peas - both very good and they come in a separate dish. The dish also comes with bread and butter. Chips come in a separate bowl and are excellent. If you enjoy good quality fish and chips then this is for you. There is also a smaller fish and chips dish without the extras. A number of different fish are available - consult the board to see what they have (and what they don't have). Wine is available - by the bottle or by the glass. The restaurant does serve fish starters and other fish main courses but it really is the place for fish and chips. It was surprisingly quiet when we visited with only a few tables taken. Waitresses were pleasant and the service was quite quick given that everything is freshly cooked.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edmund R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great fish & chips”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The best fish & chips I have eaten in a long time. Great value too. I will certainly use this restaurant again - maybe take away next time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Andrews
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was a real find, food was excellent freshly cooked served hot, decent pot of tea, the service 1st class, staff friendly and attentive. Premises and toilets clean. Would not go elsewhere in Fife for Fish tea. Well done Tailend

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uddingston, Glasgow. UK.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Been keen to try here for a "fish tea" but we won't be back. Can't fault the service however the fish was very disappointing. :-( Told both the waitresses when we were asked how our meal was but I don't really think they were listening!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank s4mmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tailend Restaurant and Fish Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Tailend Restaurant and Fish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing