We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay & service”
Review of Deveron House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deveron House
Ranked #40 of 72 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Williston, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent stay & service”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed for 7 nights -- terrific breakfast and rooms. I was in St Andrews for my son to get started at the University and to play golf -- and I had a terrific time (and place to stay).

Graeme & Marion went out of their way for me -- including sending the starter from the Old Course (JJ) out to find me on the golf course when they had a cancellation to confirm they had spot for me to stay.

The location was terrific -- short walk from golf and university/shops.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    11
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
13
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shetland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Room was fine - but decor a little tired. Bed - mattress and pillows too soft for me so led to not very much sleep (Mattress seemed to be old double bed one balanced ontop of 2 single divans)

Breakfast - OK but limited choice. if you dont like citrus then water is your option. Offer full scottish breakfast but if you are vegetarian then there are limited options other than fried eggs. i asked for poached eggs and got told that they didnt know how to do that. Also you are allocated 2 bits of toast - this decreases if you ask for say beans on toast. likewise tea is enough for one cup. Once you've been given your hot stuff the host doesnt make a reappearance to see if you want any more tea or toast or to see if you are OK in general.

Initial welcome was good but dont see host afterwards. Lots of rules to read in the guide though!

Great location - very close to university, beach, shops etc

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northernstarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Nice and cosy B&B right in the middle of the very cute St Andrews. Helpful and friendly staff. Good cooked breakfast but I missed some cheese or ham with the toast. The room was quite small but there was a common room downstairs, which I never used but it looked nice.They could invest in slightly larger TVs and I missed a morning paper, but overall a very nice B&B.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

This was the first place where we stayed on our two week family trip to Scotland/Ireland. It was so great!!
It may be a little small or "quaint" to those who are accustomed to more fancy places, but as far as I am concerned, it's just what we needed.
The room was small and everything that we needed. I do wish there had been more outlets where we could plug things in. Our room had two, I believe.
There was a tv, with one channel, but we weren't there to watch tv so it hardly mattered.
There were several options for breakfast, and all the ones we tried were delicious.
The staff was very helpful and friendly. Graham spent a long time during breakfast talking to us about golf and the surrounding area. Unfortunately, we didn't get to meet Marian, as she was out of town.
St. Andrews itself is a wonderful place. It was extremely relaxing and calm. There were several shops that my sister and I visited while the rest of the group golfed. There were also some great ruins and a beautiful cemetery.
The only problem is that mostly everything closed at 5:30.

The whole place had a feeling of home, very comfortable and safe. I felt like I could stay forever.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satruman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Delightful B&B -- clean, comfortable, and quiet with exceptionally friendly and helpful proprietors. The location is ideal if you have business at St Andrews University (and it's an easy walk to the golf course and other town attractions as well). Good selection for breakfast, with hot items made to order. As a vegetarian, I always had plenty to eat. I will look forward to staying here again if I have the pleasure of another visit to St Andrews.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Very friendly, helpful and hands on proprietors. Property easy to find and very convenient for all the main spots in St Andrews. Rooms comfortable and clean and adequate in size. Breakfast outstanding!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SammyHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Good location and friendly welcome and nice breakfast.

Sorry to say I found the room we had to be on the grubby side.... I moved the bedside cabinet to plug in my hairdryer and the dust was very visible whereit had built up when the furniture had been vaccuumed around. Also the shower cubicle had mould on the doors and the rail which holds the shower head in place was very loose. The bathroom floor was a grey tile and there was dirt inbetween the tiles :( sadly the room and en-suite just felt grubby and I don't think the nice breakfast outweighed the lack of cleanliness.

Also 9sorry to moan) the room has one small mirror and no full length mirror so you need to know the clothes you have packed look nice on you!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lampone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.0 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#11 of 17 in St. Andrews
307 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St Andrews Tourist Hostel
St Andrews Tourist Hostel
#17 of 17 in St. Andrews
71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairways of St Andrews
Fairways of St Andrews
#7 of 72 in St. Andrews
241 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Spindle Bed and Breakfast
The Spindle Bed and Breakfast
#36 of 72 in St. Andrews
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deveron House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deveron House

Property: Deveron House
Address: 64 North Street, St. Andrews KY16 9AH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Deveron House St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing