We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice spot right in middle of town”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Deveron House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deveron House
Ranked #44 of 77 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Lyme, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
192 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice spot right in middle of town”
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Very nice spot in central St. Andrews. It's on North St, which parallels Market St and South St, all three with plentiful shopping and restaurants. Just a block or two to the university, the castle, the cathedral, etc.

It's not a fancy place, but it is comfortable and clean and well-kept. Breakfast is plentiful and made to order, traditional Scottish fare plus cereals, toast, etc.

Free parking on the street out front.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    10
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
13
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

a genuine welcome and guest experience (well, it feels genuine anyway!!). Many thanks Marion and Graham. You are our first choice over the past 3 years and for next, whilst our daughter is at univ. there. thank you for making her feel welcome as a breakfast guest and for remembering our birthdays!!!!!!..oh and anticipating graduation!! ..and mince pies and punch at Christmas, celebrations at Royal Wedding, advice about PHD's......
Hopefully you will have space in Sep and also Dec and also May and Jun (maybe we should just move in and be done with it?)
Lyn McGlade NI

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

I stayed a Deveron House on a business trip to Scotland, where I leveraged the weekend for some personal travel. The communication with the Proctors both before my trip and during the stay was excellent.

The room was perfect for my needs! It was also obvious that they take very good care of their guest rooms, it looked like there was brand new carpet installed recently, and everything else was updated and clean and organized.

Graham Proctor was very kind to offer me suggestions and some tips on playing golf in the area, and went above and beyond in his offer to help me if I had any troubles. I really enjoyed staying in St. Andrews at Deveron House and would do so again in a minute!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emergencynine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Good location right in the heart of town, but very quiet as well. The room was comfortable but not huge. The house is very clean and rooms very clean and beds made result each day (a nice touch!). Free wifi too. Breakfast is good quality, particularly liked fact it was Tropicana juice, don't like the cheap stuff so it's good they serve good quality products! An added bonus about this B&B was they have passes for The Fairmont so you can use the pool and SPA which is an added bonus. You even get a 25% discount if you eat there and show the pass. Only negative I can say is decor is bit dated but ok and the lock on our room was dodgy (rm 3). I couldn't open it - my husband got the jack, funnily, the front door was the same. Other than that, I would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j0j0expl0rer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

The owners and staff of this B&B are excellent - very pleasant and helpful. My room was not very large but it was well-equipped and comfortable. The B&B is smack bang in the middle of Saint Andrews, which is ideal.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.0 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 18 in St. Andrews
326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 18 in St. Andrews
447 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#10 of 18 in St. Andrews
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#7 of 18 in St. Andrews
480 reviews
0.5 mi away
Braeside House
Braeside House
#40 of 77 in St. Andrews
115 reviews
0.7 mi away
No12 Bed & Breakfast, St Andrews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deveron House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deveron House

Property: Deveron House
Address: 64 North Street, St. Andrews KY16 9AH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Deveron House St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing