We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real dining experience!”
Review of Rocca Restaurant

Rocca Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 142 Restaurants in St. Andrews
Price range: $25 - $70
Cuisines: Italian, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: At Rocca St Andrews our recipe for success is a fusion of exquisite food with a backdrop of one of the world's most famous sporting locations - the Old Course. Like the many champions that have graced the hallowed course, we too top the leaderboard as one of only 25 restaurants in the country with three AA Rosettes in 2013 - a reward for the creativity and passion of the Rocca family. The stunning view over the 18th means guests enjoy much more than just a delicious meal. Our menu features Scottish cooking with an Italian twist. Fresh ingredients are sourced from artisan producers either on our doorstep or in Tuscany and there is something to suit every palate. With a real pedigree in both our front-of-house and in our kitchen, you can rest assured a visit to Rocca will live long in the memory. Come and visit us and let our passion for food become your passion for delicious dining.
Fishcross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A real dining experience!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The food was beautifully presented and tasted even better. The service could not be faulted. I recommend this dining experience to all. Excellent all round at a very reasonable price.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    124
    47
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dechmont
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Make memories what else is there in life.”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

From the minute you enter until the minute you leave you will enjoy your visit. The surroundings, the friendly attentive staff. You don't know whether you should just look at your food or eat it. I wish I had taken pictures. We all enjoyed our meal and would return in a heart beat.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rcr272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded expectations - will definitely be back”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

On a rare kid-free evening to celebrate my partner's 40th birthday I was looking for something a bit special. The reviews were promising and the menus looked appealing and so the booking was made.

We both enjoyed every aspect of our visit from the location to the décor to the service to the food and wine. I had a crab risotto, partridge, a side of truffle fries and the finest interpretation of tiramisu I have ever had. My partner had white onion soup, sole and a cheese plate. The food and presentation were of a very high standard and not unreasonable at £35 a head for 3 courses.

Given our respective food choices we ordered wine by the glass from a good selection. The sommelier seemed pretty young, but was very keen and seemed well informed about the wine list.

We're now looking ahead for an excuse to go back.

If you go during daylight, try and get a window table overlooking the Old Course. If going at night, ask for a booth.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cocojunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“First Class”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I went to the Rocca with friends to celebrate the New Year. We were greeted by friendly staff serving champagne and canapés who were attentive for the whole night. We were served an exquisite meal with flowing wine with each course. The presentation and quality of the food was superb.

I would highly recommend this restaurant - decor,staff,food and the whole experience was
'First Class'.

Thanks to Rocca for a fabulous start to 2014.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

This was a lovely dining experience. Lovely decor in the restaurant. Warm welcoming staff, also well informed of each course we chose. Food was beautifully presented and was delicious too. Will return.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sparkly66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocca Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rocca Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing