We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back...”

Balmashie Premier Holiday Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Balmashie Premier Holiday Cottages
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Good comfortable attractive accommodation in pleasant surroundings in a part of the country with much of interest to see. Friendly owners and welcome small selection of tea, coffee, milk and biscuits to refresh you after a long journey.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 41 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2013

Our daughter and family, who live in Elgin, come to St Andrews each year around Xmas time to meet up with us. Unfortunately one of their children is severely asthmatic and is liable to react badly to our dog suffused house, no matter how assiduously it is cleaned before she arrives. Fortunately one of the Balmashie cottages is kept pet free, so we are able to enjoy their company for a few days.
Their youngest child was a bit below par for a day, but the heating was very effective and kept her as warm as toast while she recovered.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C_Donald_Sinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at theses lovely cottages and they were just perfect. My sister was getting married at the kinkell Byre, so almost the whole family stayed here. There is loads of space for the kids to run around and it's within walking distance to the fairmont and the beach. There is everything you could need, tea, coffee, milk provided really comfy beds and lovely and clean. Thank you for a fantastic stay.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Katy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I recently stayed in cottage number 2 with a group of 7 friends. The cottage was perfect - nice big clean bedrooms with lots of wardrobe space, big kitchen, massive comfy sofas and dining area. The people running the cottages were so kind and helpful - we couldn't have asked for more. At only a 5 minute drive away, I would strongly recommend Balmashie cottages to anyone (groups/families) looking to stay near St. Andrews.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We had a look at Balmashie on a previous visit to St. Andrews and decided to try it out on our latest trip. It was important that our holiday should be relaxing. Our past experience with B&Bs is that having to get up at a set time for breakfast and having to eat out in the evenings can be quite trying after a few days. Balmashie proved to be the ideal solution. The facilities in the cottages are excellent and they are so comfortable that we were happy to spend much of our time there. When not indoors we were out walking in the vicinity as the landscape around Balmashie is inspiring. Many thanks Louise and Iain... we'll be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in cottages 4 and 5 (4 person). Both were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We needed pet-free accommodation over the Xmas period for our daughter and her family. They cannot stay in our house because one of the children is severely asthmatic and is allergic to our dogs.The Balmashie people could not of been more helpful in arranging for a suitable cottage and about returning a charger that had been left behind.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C_Donald_Sinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

we had such a wonderful holiday at balmashie cottages this summer. Perfect for children and dogs- beautiful views, excellent equipment, comfortable living and much much more. We used the hotel near by for swimming, cocktails and lunch! So lovely knowing i can return to my home town with my partner and children, and have a fab place to stay!! just booking next year!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.0 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Lathones
The Inn at Lathones
#1 of 1 in Lathones
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,381 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Kingsbarns
The Inn at Kingsbarns
#1 of 3 in Kingsbarns
202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vicarsford Lodge
Vicarsford Lodge
#3 of 3 in Leuchars
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmashie Premier Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmashie Premier Holiday Cottages

Address: St. Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Specialty Lodging in St. Andrews
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balmashie is a charming development of 10 self-catering cottages less than 3 miles from St Andrews. We offer a haven for guests with well equipped cottages and spectacular views over the Torrance and Kittocks Golf Course and out to the North Sea. In the grounds we have a putting green, practice nets and a pitching green with bunkers. For those not taking part in golf we have access to reasonable rates for the Spa facilities at the Fairmont Hotel and are also only minutes from the Fife Coastal Path. For younger guests we have a play area, a games room and football nets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balmashie Premier Holiday Cottages St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing