We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“extra special” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balmashie Premier Holiday Cottages

Balmashie Premier Holiday Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Balmashie Premier Holiday Cottages
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“extra special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed at these cottages for a weekend, as our niece was getting married nearby. Excellent deal negotiated and this was a wonderful place to stay for all of the family who stayed there. Throughout the planning Iain and Louise were very accommodating and went out of their way when we needed an extra cottage at the last minute. Everything was immaculate and they worked hard to enable us to arrive earlier than 3p.m. Location is beautiful, but the wonderful service made it even better. Everything you could need and also an extra special touch- the little football pitch which kept a very active 11 year old happy!!!

We will definitely stay here again and will be recommending them to friends and family.

Tip- for anyone attending or planning a wedding/event at Kinkell Byre, these cottages are excellent and are so much more value for money than some of the hotels etc. in St. Andrews.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josephine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

I was with Toodles80 on our weekend away - what an absolute gem of a place she found!! As bride to be I didn't pay (yippee) but the girls got such reasonable rates. The location is amazing being just outside St Andrews and with the Fairmont close by, yet quiet enough to allow relaxation. The views from the front cottages are absolutely stunning. The cottages were all well equipped, spacious and very clean. There is a small play park and playing field which makes it great for children or just daft adults like us wanting to recreate a school sports day!! I would highly recommend these cottages and I know a few of our group are already looking into rebooking. Always a good sign!!!

Room Tip: All the cottages were beautiful but the view was just amazing from the front cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

I arranged a girls weekend away and am so pleased to have found Balmashie holiday cottages - we couldn't have picked a better place to stay! Louise and Iain were very accommodating and very quick to respond to my many queries via email. We booked 4 cottages and all were extremely well presented, clean and very well equipped. We did a lot of cooking over the weekend and found the kitchens had everything that we needed and more. Lovely touch to have matching Denby crockery! The location is fantastic, with beautiful views and only a 5 minute drive into St Andrews. Plenty of parking on site too. We enjoyed a lovely afternoon tea at the Fairmont Hotel, which was very reasonably priced with the 25% discount Iain and Louise have negotiated. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay, I'm sure many of us will be back for a return visit very soon! I only hope we didn't disturb any of the other guests staying at the weekend!!

Room Tip: Cottage 9 is well equipped with 3 sofas so we found this best when getting a big group together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toodles80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

Thank you for the stay in your beautiful cosy cottages! They were very comfortable, had everything you needed and the setting is stunning with sea views. We were very lucky to have sunshine the whole weekend as well. The only disappointing thing about the weekend having to leave but we will be back as we had one of the best weekends away!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed at Balmashie over Hogmany as our daughter was getting married nearby-we booked out all the cottages for the wedding party and we couldn't have had a better time! The location is stunning and the staff were wonderful. They were so accommodating and helpful-nothing was too much bother.

The cottages are very clean and have everything you could need. The bothy is a lot more modern and cosy-but all the cottage were nicely decorated and welcoming. some of the cottages are blessed with spectacular views, that are absolutely breathtaking. The location is perfect-so peaceful, yet very near to all the local amenities. It is also an exceptionally safe place for kids and a very peaceful place to relax.

We really couldn't have had a better stay. Thanks to the clean cottages, beautiful location and exceptional staff. It was brilliant!!!

Mary Conway
Hamilton

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

We booked a number of the cottages at Balmashie as a base for our wedding in July of this year. The service and standard of all the accommodation was absolutely first class!

Given the reason for booking the cottages, we asked Louise and Ian to assist us with a number of things which were probably over and above the norm - additional bed sheets for the various guests who came and went over our wedding weekend, barbeques etc etc. They were absolutely fabulous, with nothing being too much trouble. One of our most treasured memories from our 'big weekend' will be the time we spent at Balmashie surrounded by our friends and family. Simply amazing!

Room Tip: All rooms are great and the Bothy is fantastic...far bigger than the name suggests!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CammyandKateWatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

Milton wrote 'Paradise Lost' --------- well Balmashie is 'Paradise Found'
We have just returned from our yearly holiday at 'Balmashie' [this being our eleventh year]
The reason we return year after year is we find it very relaxing. The cottages are very welcoming, well equipped, cosy and clean, and the settee's and the beds are very comfortable. The views are spectacular, and if you enjoy watching golf you will be well rewarded. There is plenty to see and do both in St. Andrew's and the surrounding area, both for adults and families.
Louise and Iain who are responsible for the bookings and organisation of Balmashie are great, and if you have any questions nothing is too much trouble.
We have no hesitation in recommending 'Balmashie' [we have already booked our holiday for next year]
Kind Regards,
Douglas & Pauline Mitchell

Room Tip: Whichever cottage you choose you are not overlooked, and they all have wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MitchellsLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#5 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,935 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vicarsford Lodge
Vicarsford Lodge
#3 of 4 in Leuchars
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Lathones
The Inn at Lathones
#1 of 1 in Lathones
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmashie Premier Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmashie Premier Holiday Cottages

Property: Balmashie Premier Holiday Cottages
Address: St. Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Specialty Lodging in St. Andrews
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balmashie is a charming development of 10 self-catering cottages less than 3 miles from St Andrews. We offer a haven for guests with well equipped cottages and spectacular views over the Torrance and Kittocks Golf Course and out to the North Sea. In the grounds we have a putting green, practice nets and a pitching green with bunkers. For those not taking part in golf we have access to reasonable rates for the Spa facilities at the Fairmont Hotel and are also only minutes from the Fife Coastal Path. For younger guests we have a play area, a games room and football nets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balmashie Premier Holiday Cottages St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing