We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and tasty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St. Nicholas Farmhouse
Ranked #45 of 77 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Vienna, Wien, Austria
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice and tasty”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

It is situated on the east sands of st. andrews and you need a car to go to the city centre. The room was a little bit older furnished but was comfortable and it was almost a flat. It included a living room and a little kitchen with a fridge and a microwave. The breakfast was a full scottish one and you could help yourself to as much as you liked.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PichlerU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    19
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
35
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at a number of hotels, B&B’s and Self-catering Cottages during our six week visit to the UK. We looked forward to our last number of days in the UK in St Andrews as we were also attending a conference at the University of St Andrews. Unfortunately, for all the good ratings it got, St Nicholas Farmhouse was a big disappointment for us.
Everywhere we’ve stayed, we were surprised at the extent to which our hosts have gone to make us feel welcome and at home. We were also impressed with the fact that everything was meticulously clean and tidy.
Firstly, I can't say that our host made us feel welcome as she was going on about how busy she is and that she is only working part-time at St Nicholas Farmhouse.
Our first experience, walking into the house was the smell of mould and cat urine. Although the room was spacious, the bed was not nearly as neatly made as any of the other places we’ve stayed. To be honest, we did not feel comfortable to sleep at St Nicholas Farmhouse.
Needless to say, we were very disappointed and decided not to stay. As it was already 4:30pm, we found ourselves in a real predicament. Fortunately, the guys at Information helped us to get accommodation. Unfortunately finding a place at such short notice came at a price that cut deep into our budget.
I’m glad for all the good comments elsewhere on this site but it was definitely not our experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BasievanRooyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My sister and I spent 5 nights. Although the owners were on holiday, Evelyn took excellent care of all of our needs while we were there. The room was spacious (bedroom, kitchenette with microwave, teapot, and mini-fridge, bathroom, and sun-room with television) which was great for the longer period. The breakfast always always featured fresh berries and was cooked to order. The walk in town was easy either by beach or more directly -- and being out of the busy center was perfect. Freckles the cat was a fast friend, too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sg4427408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were lucky to find St. Nicholas Farmhouse for a one night stay in St. Andrews (I had a hard time finding somewhere that would just take us for the one night!) We were greeted by the housekeeper when we arrived early to drop off our luggage. Our room was great with a king size bed with also 2 twin beds. The location could not have been better as we walked on the coastal path into St. Andrews which was only about a 10 minute walk. Breakfast was very good too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Bill and Ann are the lovely hosts of St. Nicholas Farmhouse - a cozy B&B along the sea in St. Andrews. The room my girlfriend and I stayed in on July 2013 had an ensuite bathroom, kitchen area, king size bed and walk out sunroom with a view to the backyard. Breakfast was delicious - eggs, bacon, sausage, tomatoes, sauteed mushrooms, fruits, yogurt, cereal. You name it they had it. I would definitely recommend St. Nicholas Farmhouse!!

PS. there isn't a swimming pool or fitness centre - it's easy to take a jog down the beach though!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelj1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
104 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed for one night on our journey home from Shetland.
Large room with 4 beds in in 2 singles and a king size(another 2 singles-together) with spacious ensuite.
Clean and well presented.
Little touches like biscuits and fridge with bottle of water in room were nice.
Breakfast was a bountiful feast of cereal,fresh fruit,yoghurt,full cooked buffet and toast.
Bill and Ann were great hosts with lots of tales about there travels.
Easy 5-10min walk into town along costal path into town is also a treat.
Slept really well and would definately stay again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelBeeDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our overnight stay at this B & B was really comfortable, I loved the room which had a separate television, seating area and a little kitchenette. I would have been happy to stay longer. The breakfast was lovely with a lot of personal touches, like the fresh berries, the chocolate on the side plate and a great selection of lovely jams. I would definitely return again. Ann and Bill were great hosts and we listened to many interesting stories about their travels around the world.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St. Andrews
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
No12 Bed & Breakfast, St Andrews
0.1 mi away
The New Inn St Andrews
The New Inn St Andrews
#49 of 77 in St. Andrews
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Spindle Bed and Breakfast
The Spindle Bed and Breakfast
#36 of 77 in St. Andrews
45 reviews
0.7 mi away
Braeside House
Braeside House
#40 of 77 in St. Andrews
115 reviews
6.5 mi away
Vicarsford Lodge
Vicarsford Lodge
#3 of 4 in Leuchars
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Nicholas Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Nicholas Farmhouse

Property: St. Nicholas Farmhouse
Address: East Sands, St. Andrews KY16 8LH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Nicholas Farmhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your St. Nicholas Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Nicholas Farmhouse St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing