We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St. Nicholas Farmhouse
Ranked #44 of 72 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely B & B”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is lovely B&B in great location, 2 min walk to East sands beach which leads you on coastal path into town, approx 15 min walk past the harbour, and cathederal ruins. we booked all three rooms to attend a wedding, all rooms are very comfortable, king size beds with additional single if required, large bathroom with walk in shower and lovely good quality fluffy towels, I was pleasantly surprised to find flat scrfeen tv, fridge and tea/coffee ( with biscuits ) provided.Most importantly for a B&B breakfast was excellent, although you do have to advise the day before what time you would like it to be served, it was perfect, we had choice of fresh fruit, ( blueberries, strawberries & raspberries, ) yoghurt, choice of fruit juices, cereals, and full cooked breakfast with choice of cooked eggs and with notice the hosts will serve black pudding or haggits, Bill may have given the impression of being grumpy regarding arrival times, but this is their home and have to fit all daily requirements into the afternoon, shopping and free time etc, so its unfair to say you would like room to be available mid afternoon and then dont turn up until 2hrs later, you have wasted their time and day, so its good manners to be considerate on arrival time, all in all a pleasurable stay and would certainly stay again, most of all very reasonable rates.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank classylady53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    19
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
35
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night while travelling through Scotland.
We arrived at St. Nicholas Farmhouse around 6.00 pm and were greeted by Bill the elderly owner grumpily telling us we were late.
We had phoned ahead earlier in the day from Berwick Upon Tweed and told him we would be arriving some time after 4.30 pm. Bill told my wife on the phone that everyone gets lost trying to find the place using GPS and gave her other instructions.
In actual fact people don’t actually get lost using their GPS, they get lost following the address on the letterhead which is 14 The Steading.
The Steading where the farmhouse is located is the name of a little private road which runs off a street called Albany Park adjacent to a public housing estate.
Unfortunately there is also an officially recognised street called The Steading in the St. Andrews area about 5 miles south and this is the address where the GPS will take you.
Here are the correct coordinates for St. Nicholas Farmhouse N56°20′22″ W2°46′52″.
As I mentioned earlier we had been told we were late by Bill who then went on to inform us that he had invited friends over for dinner and had to go and pick them up and was making a bit of a fuss since we appeared to be inconveniencing him.
His wife Ann ushered him off to pick up the friends saying she would attend to us which was a good move since we don’t enjoy being spoken to in such a manner and would probably have escalated the situation.
We had been on holiday travelling through Europe and England for the previous four and a half weeks and were not running to deadlines especially those being set by other people.
We had stayed at over 20 different establishments on this trip which was our fifth trip around Europe and we had never before been scolded about our arrival time.
Most people in the hospitality industry are aware they have to make some sacrifices and having guests arrive at 6.00 pm is not a big deal.
Fortunately I think Ann must have told Bill to pull his head in as by breakfast time he was a different person, very sociable and talkative.
Bill and Ann had also gone to some trouble to produce and serve what was a really nice cooked Scottish breakfast.
What a pity about our initial experience.
The bathroom finish was quite handyman-ish with a very small shower cubicle and the hot water took forever to arrive at the outlet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NormanND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trier, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

St. Andrews is such a lovely place to stay. St. Nicholas Farmhouse is a great place to stay. We had a big comfy room, breakfast was great, and its only two minutes to the East Sands beach and within walking distance to the city centre. Our hosts were very friendly and gave us some really good advice about where to go and what to do. Pleasant Trip!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed at the BnB for 3 nights for a friends wedding in St Andrews. The accommodation was great - we had a spacious room with kitchenette and tv room all to ourselves. The breakfast was great and Bill and Ann were brilliant hosts. The house is just behind East Sands beach which does mean that it is a 20min walk into the town centre at an easy pace. It's a nice walk along the beach and past the cathedral ruins. We had a hired car and as such had the luxury of driving into town when necessary. Many thanks to Bill and Ann for their hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juzreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
459 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stayed in the B&B for one night. Friendly welcome from the hosts. Car parking a bit tight for a larger vehicle. Room was comfy but tired looking and in need of a bit of a clean. Breakfast was an egg plus buffet bacon, sausage, mushrooms and tomato. Plus, of course, there was a cereal selection. Price was on the cheaper end of the scale.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gfsc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Our latest in a number of stays at St Nicholas was very enjoyable as usual - lovely bright, clean en-suite room with a very comfy bed and super breakfasts in the mornings. Bill and Ann are great hosts and make the famhouse a real home from home. Looking forward to our next visit already.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleandPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I wanted somewhere that was reasonably priced for a visit to St Andrews University. I mainly picked this B&B as it was cheaper than others in the town and hadn't read any of the other reviews. My daughter and I were very pleased with my choice. We had a downstairs twin room with ensuite shower, a small kitchenette with a microwave and a sunroom with easy chairs and TV with DVD. Well I say sun room but for some of our visit their was torrential rain! The owners, Bill and Ann were away on a cruise but their housekeeper was very welcoming and offered us an umbrella as we were out walking a lot!

The beds were very comfortable and the full cooked breakfast the next day was excellent, with cereals, fruit, toast and choice of egg with cooked items.

The location is fantastic, just next to the East sands beach, and next to the coastal walk into the town. My daughter wished we were staying another day so that we could explore further along the headland out of town.

The only negative I would have is that we found the room too hot and unfortuantely the radiator control was behind the wardrobe. Other than that I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.1 mi away
No12 Bed & Breakfast, St Andrews
0.1 mi away
The New Inn St Andrews
The New Inn St Andrews
#50 of 72 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Spindle Bed and Breakfast
The Spindle Bed and Breakfast
#40 of 72 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.7 mi away
Braeside House
Braeside House
#41 of 72 in St. Andrews
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
6.5 mi away
Vicarsford Lodge
Vicarsford Lodge
#3 of 3 in Leuchars
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Nicholas Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Nicholas Farmhouse

Property: St. Nicholas Farmhouse
Address: East Sands, St. Andrews KY16 8LH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Nicholas Farmhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your St. Nicholas Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Nicholas Farmhouse St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing