We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Chinese dining with Scottish welcome”
Review of The Dining Room

The Dining Room
Ranked #85 of 146 Restaurants in St. Andrews
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superior Chinese dining with Scottish welcome”
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Extremely impressive example of the Chinese kitchen tucked away down a small alleyway in St Andrews. Staff very friendly & attentive, food even better -some of the best Chinese we have ever had in fact ! Nice cottage feel though was a bit chilly, they would do well to sacrifice a table and light the attractive fireplace in winter!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RTA64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    44
    28
    20
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Chinese Food”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Just off the Cobbled street area near town centre ..
If you look closely you will find Crails Lane, blink and you could miss it.
They offer a super lunch menu served till 4pm ...so no need to rush if your on a leisurely day out.
We mostly eat of the 2 course set menu and the choices are very adequate but above most realy tasty , and they don't scrimp on portions.
Occasionally splash out and eat a la carte , but feel best value for money at lunch time.
Staff are always lovely and attentive...great job the owners..
Oddly though for a lovely place ..upstairs hall way could do with new carpets ..but I hope they have this in hand.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vincent w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice hidden little gem”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

I visited twice in December and had to say was not disappointed with the food or service.
Only two small issues . The rooms need some additional heat , or at least go when it's busy , so the overall heat can be bearable. Because of lack of heat, it does have a background damp smell .
It is still somewhere nice to go and food good . Service also very good .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gmoncur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very Good Asian Food”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I went there once for lunch and therefore I can judge only on the basis of a fixed menu in which you can choose a starter, a main course and a dessert, for a very reasonable price. You have a range of about six options for each course.
The restaurant serves mainly Asian cuisine (not only Chinese): I tried something from Malaysia, which is moderately spicy, and I liked it. Service is very friendly and accurate. Ambiance is nice, though they do not have much place. I rate my experience there as very good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TongBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Visited early evening on a Sunday, The restaurant was quiet when we arrived, but had got busier when we left. Service was pretty slow considering. We chose from the fixed price menu (£15.90 pp for 2 courses), We opted for the crispy duck starter, and main courses of Pepper Chicken and Shredded Crispy Beef, the food was excellent if pricey. We had coke to drink costing £2.10 for a small glass - a real rip off.

Great food left down by slow service and high prices.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Forfhais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dining Room also viewed

St. Andrews, Fife
St. Andrews, Fife
 
St. Andrews, Fife
 

Been to The Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing