We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place”

Playfair's Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 149 Restaurants in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $46
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Playfair's is one of the oldest established restaurants in St Andrews and continues to offer great value for high end casual dining in a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. All our food is freshly prepared with ingredients from local independent businesses wherever possible. Our dishes are created in house by our experienced chefs led by Head Chef Duncan McLachlan. Duncan's skills were refined at Gleneagles before he joined Playfair's last year, and we now have three highly trained Gleneagles chefs. To complement the food there is a tempting wine list with great choices offered at reasonable prices. Children can enjoy their own exciting menu, also prepared from fresh ingredients, in both Playfair's restaurant and bar. Join us in Playfair's and enjoy good food as it should be.
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We went here for lunch on the 22nd march after reviewing reviews on trip advisor and it didn't dissapoint. Fantastic homemade tomato soup followed by a terrific steak sandwich for myself while my wife also had the soup followed by a club sandwich which was also excellent.

It is more of a bar with a number of tvs showing sky sports but this suited us just fine. First class food and service and we will definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ewanmac76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdgowanHotel, Manager at Playfair's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us. We do offer a more casual service during the day with sport showing on the TVs however if you are ever back to dine with us in the evening our televisions are all turned off to allow all our customers to socialise and enjoy the atmosphere.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (825)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

674 - 678 of 825 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Decided to try this joint after reading good reviews here, and I was not disappointed. Good food (my fish and chips was fantastic), service and value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Milchpuder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playfairs, General Manager at Playfair's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.
We value guest feedback, and it is always nice to read positive feedback.
Hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards
Gary
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Recently went to the playfair for Mother's Day on the strength of other reviews. The menu available was the shorter lunch one.

At our table we had the bread and oil starter, the highlander burger, standard cheese burger and haddock. All pretty standard fair but the food that arrived was excellent.

The starters were very generous in size and tasty. The haddock was light and full of flavour. Both burgers were spiced just right and the highlander was ideal with black pudding and a perfectly runny egg. All set to massive chunky chips that tasted like roasted potatoes. Nice.

Our server was attentive and made sure we were lacking for nothing. We would go back in a heartbeat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AndreBoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdgowanHotel, General Manager at Playfair's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you very much for your review.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your mothers day meal.
We hope forward to welcoming you back to Playfair's and I will pass on your comments to the rest of the staff.
Regards
Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We chose this as it is 2nd on best restaurnants in St Andrews after Peat Inn. We went on a Saturday evening at 8 pm and left as soon as we could as it was so noisy with all of the other tables full of groups shouting over each other and drinking pints of beer as fast as they could. There are 5 TVs that are left on, showing Sky sports news despite no-one was watching them. Can't understand why it was 2nd most recommended restaurant- it's a sports bar. The food and service was great but the they have made a huge mistake with the TVs

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Hubby and I had a meal here tonight and it was absolutely gorgeous.
Staff were so friendly and accommodating,
Food was beautifully presented and the taste could not be faulted.
We will definatley return when we are in St. Andrews.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank honey40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playfairs, Manager at Playfair's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your meal here at Playfair's! We always love to hear that our customers enjoyed their meal! See you next time you're back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playfair's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Playfair's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing