We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Montague Guest House
Ranked #9 of 73 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed on a Saturday night as in town for a wedding. Checked in just after 3 and was promptly greeted by our friendly host, shown the facilities and then up to our room. We stayed in room 6, right up at the top. Was a lovely clean and fresh room. The bed was huge and comfy. Bathroom was a little small but it served our needs and was lovely and clean. Breakfast the next morning was delicious, I had the scrambled egg and salmon and my boyfriend had the full breakfast. Both of us almost cleared our plates. A good range of fruit and cereals is also available. Overall a lovely place to stay and if we're back in st Andrews again I'd say we'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zarahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 152 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012

We were greeted with warmth the minute we arrived. Gillian and Andrew went out of their way to make our stay first class. Andrew helped our group land a 12 o'clock tee time on the Old Course...a dream come true for our golfers! The rooms were quite comfortable, but small. The location was perfect as you could walk to everything. Wonderful breakfasts...even offered french toast. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curlyhead57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

best breakfast and service that I seen in a long time.
you feel like you are one in the family. perfect place, only a wedge away for a the action and courses

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grodlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed at the Montague house on a 2 week tour of the U.K. in May 2012. I use Trip Advisor religiously when finding a good place to stay, especially out of the country. The Montegue guest house was a real find. It wasn't our first choice but I was so happy to find it. Located just a block or two from the ocean, St. Andrews Royal and Ancient (the old course) and the Univ. of St. Andrews, it was a great location and nice to just be able to leave the car and walk everywhere. The directions that the GPS gave us were a little vague, and I think the directions provided by the guest house, were from a different direction then we came into town, because it was somewhat hard to find. We drove down a street and just happened on it. Fortunately, there was a spot right in front to park or parking might have been problematic. The guest house was somewhat small and our room very small, but adequate. We didn't spend any time there, really. One thing I did find odd, and it must be a common thing in the U.K., as we had it happen at two other places, no top sheet on the bed. It was you and the duvet. The room, bathroom and common areas were very clean and Gillian and Andrew very nice hosts. Breakfast was delicious. I would definitely stay here again and not even consider looking at somewhere else.

Room Tip: Pack lightly....no elevator but not really a bad climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanpbsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

My partner and I decided to have a couple of nights away in St Andrews so i could do a spot of shopping and my partner could golf. We came across this lovely little B & B, a stones through from the golf course and town centre. We had a friendly welcome and were promptly taken to our en suite room which was perfect! Breakfast in the mornings were to die for, which set us up for the day! Or until lunch anyway!

The owners Andrews and Gillian were very accommadating and even organised a round of golf for my partner on the Old Course! Amazing! Will definately be back to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

This was a fantastic place to stay. Great location with many places to shop eat and walk up to. The rooms were a little small but that can be expected at a b&b. Very comfortable very clean and very friendly. The owners are fantastic breakfast is great and you really get a good feel for Scotland while you're there. I would recommend staying here to anybody that is interested.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerryj12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Have stayed in many establishments and would recommend Montague Guest House. My room was very spacious, with a large bathroom and the breakfast was the best I've ever had. Gillian and Andrew were very welcoming and helpful. The location is perfect with everything in walking distance. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FChristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.2 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
452 reviews
6.5 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
229 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,413 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
34 Argyle Street Guesthouse
34 Argyle Street Guesthouse
#1 of 73 in St. Andrews
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montague Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montague Guest House

Address: 21 Murray Park, St. Andrews KY16 9AW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Price Range: $170 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Montague Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montague Guest House St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing