We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warmest welcome in St Andrews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Montague Guest House
Ranked #10 of 73 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed for one night and that was enough to make a lasting impression, what a great guest house, warm welcome, clean room, great full Scottish breakfast served with a friendly smile, and a few minutes walk from the first tee of the Old course , what more do you need when visiting the home of golf. Would highly recommend and can't wait to visit again ......many thanks to Andrew & Gillie for their hospitality

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwoodward90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 150 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2012

I stayed for one night, in the single room (Room 7). Though at the top of the building, it was not too arduous to get there. The room was very fresh indeed, with a beautiful ensuite attached. The shower was great! If fault was to be found in the room, it was only that the material on the chair arms was well worn. Apart from that, it was almost perfect. Breakfast was plentiful and very tasty. Though I would always like things to be cheaper, £55.00 was pretty good value. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deauville-biker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I ahve stayed in several guest houses in St Andrews over the last couple of months, and I have found that the Montague Guest House is by far the best.
Th value is superb, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the entire house is exceptionally clean and the breakfast is all you require for the entire day.
Thoroughly recommeded.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Had the pleasure of spending 2 nights at Montague House while in St. Andrews for family wedding. Lovely facility, spacious bedrooms with en suite bath; peaceful garden in back. Fabulous breakfasts by Chef Andrew that I chose from menu! Operated by husband & wife, Gillian & Andrew, I couldn't have asked for better accommodations. Great walking about St. Andrews. Highly recommended.
R. Kozar, San Francisco, CA

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I have visited St.Andrews on numerous occassions with my friends for golf and last year (2011) we found Montague House. The owners are accomodating, welcoming and had secure golf club storage for the whole house!! (which as a golfer is a major plus). I enjoyed the stay so much i came back with my wife and was not dissapointed witht the stay. From arrival to departure we were looked after and were treated to a fantastic and varied breakfast. I hope every one finds time to visit St.Andrews and when they do i thouroughly recommend staying at Montague House

Room Tip: the room at the top (room 6 i think) is a relaxing and calmly decorated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I don't stay in b&b's as a rule but was recommended by a friend and having spent 1 night I am converted, Montague was warm & friendly and the breakfast was to die for, I would definitly stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

If you are a hotel snob like me and you like the best, The Montague House in St. Andrews gets Five Stars in my book. The cleaniness, the warm and cozy feeling I feel each time I stay there always make me sad to leave yet happy to know I can return. As I traveled all of the UK and stayed in numerous B & B's over trhe years, nothing compares to the Montague House. The food is exquisited. My needs never fail to be met, from airport transportation to my daily needs in general. I would never dream of staying any place other than the Montaque House while in St. Andrews. If it helps to know I am a Four Seasons Hotel kind of gal!!!

Room Tip: Any room at the Montague House will be a pleasure to stay in. My favorite room is the downstairs roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larry g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.2 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
446 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
532 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#9 of 17 in St. Andrews
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#12 of 17 in St. Andrews
692 reviews
0.9 mi away
No12 Bed & Breakfast, St Andrews
0.5 mi away
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montague Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montague Guest House

Address: 21 Murray Park, St. Andrews KY16 9AW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Price Range: $169 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Montague Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montague Guest House St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing