We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary stay for Golfers!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of No12 Bed & Breakfast, St Andrews

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
No12 Bed & Breakfast, St Andrews
Ranked #9 of 77 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Red Hook, New York
1 review
“Extraordinary stay for Golfers!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

It's hard to say what was best about our stay with Pam and Bunty. Was it the superbly comfortable room with a view of the sea? The amazing cooked to order Scottish breakfast with day fresh salmon and haddock, or perhaps the way she went out of her way to prepare us food for our crazy golf schedule? I can't decide. I think what impressed us the most was Pams knowledge of all the hot courses on the east coast and her kindness in helping us with tee times. She's a golf lover herself and has the local inside track.
I was unsure of booking a bed and breakfast for four of us golfers. We were there to golf like crazy. However we felt like we were treated like Scotish kings!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marbleglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    21
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
62
135
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

We stayed one night mid week, and were offered a twin room with sea view for £95. We would have preferred a double or the option of a cheaper room without view but was under the impression this was all that was available. On arrival I was disappointed that the house was a suburban house with a large extension that housed the rooms slightly out of the town centre.

The room was a reasonable size with a lovely view, tasteful decor and scrupulously clean. Beds were comfortable, but had heavy duvets which were unsuitable for the hot weather and no sheet/lighter option available.
It is a 10 minute walk into St Andrew's with the option of a sea front walk being a couple of minutes longer.
Breakfast was well cooked and presented nicely. I was surprisedthat the bed and breakfast wasn't full, as this was the impression I had received when making the booking.
On the whole the stay was a pleasant experience. However, it was expensive for what was a standard bed and breakfast. Perhaps this just represents the price of staying in St Andrew's in August, but we were slightly disappointed at what our money had bought.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cpa21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

Stayed for 3 nights - warm welcome from Pam and her very friendly 4 legged assistant Bunty. Our room and en suite were decorated in a modern style with complimentary tea/coffee and shortbread every day. Breakfast was freshly prepared with a choice from yoghurt, juice, cereal and toast, aswell as a wide selection of cooked food and an individual bowl of fresh fruit salad. The location was excellent with lovely sea views, ample parking and only 15 minutes walk to the town centre. Pam was open and friendly, taking an interest in our plans for the day and offering further information to improve our day out with her extensive local knowledege. Excellent value for money and would certainly return (probably with golf clubs if partner has his way !!)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stum516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

We stayed at the Suite No12 B&B in St Andrews, Scotland for the week of the British Open Championship. Having left dinner reservations to the last minute, Pam, the owner, arranged them for us--getting us top restaurants and great tables! Many mornings she dropped us off at the course. We had a wonderful room with views overlooking the sea and the town. It was a very peaceful setting after a day watching golf and fighting our way through crowds of people! Coffee and a selection of teas were included in the room along with chocolates and bottles of water. Homemade shortbread often appeared. Breakfast was included each morning and included lots of options--bowls of fresh fruits, croissants, pastries, homemade jams, cereal, yoghurt and a traditional Sottish breakfast. We have been to St Andrews many times. We will definitely stay at Suite No 12 B&B from now on! We could not have been happier with our accomodation! We truly felt like a guest in Pam's home!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanton, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

I traveled with my husband, parents, and my son and his wife to St. Andrews to visit my daughter. I booked this B&B on the strength of my emails back and forth with Pam. I was not disappointed!! Everything was incredible and the fresh fruit to start every breakfast was scrumptious. Pam is a wealth of information as well as personable and humorous. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

Terrific ! A warm welcome from Pam and her lovely dog Bunty (my wife just fell in love with her). We had a tastefully decorated and very comfortable room with a king size bed and a view over the East Sands Bay. Breakfasts were beautifully presented and tasty with a good choice. Quiet location and handy for town. Lots of parking. We stayed for 3 nights and it was a lovely break.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Onholidayagain111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Windsor, Berkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights. It was great place. Very clean - absolutely spotless. The rooms where modern and beautifully decorated and the bed extremely comfortable. Our room had a good view of the sea and the shower was fantastic. Nice touches with water, tannock biscuits and tea and coffee in the room. The breakfasts were to die for. We were spoilt for choice. Lovely fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereal, croissants, toast as well as black pudding from Stornway in the full Scottish Breakfast. The smoked haddock was fantastic and highly recommended. Pam was very friendly and helpful and we all had a good laugh. Bunty the field spaniel is beautiful (I wanted to take her home). It is slightly out of the centre of St Andrews so you need to expect a good 10 minute walk to get there. That didn't bother us as it gave us a chance to sober up a bit before getting back. Thank you Pam for all your help, cooking and advice. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie_Winton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,933 reviews
0.7 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#7 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No12 Bed & Breakfast, St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No12 Bed & Breakfast, St Andrews

Property: No12 Bed & Breakfast, St Andrews
Address: 12 Grange Road, St. Andrews KY16 8LF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — No12 Bed & Breakfast, St Andrews 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely modern B&B with Sea Views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your No12 Bed & Breakfast, St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No12 Bed & Breakfast, St Andrews St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing