We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Perfect location"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Annandale Guest House
Ranked #28 of 72 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hel, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Perfect location"”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We recently spent two nights at the Annendale which is located along one of the quieter streets near the university. Fiona and Paul were warm and gracious and made us feel right at home. Our rooms were nicely size, well appointed and quite comfortable. The breakfasts were generous and quite tasty. Also, Fiona was very helpful in suggesting places to visit and eat, including highlighting them on a map of town.
Parking anywhere within St Andrews is difficult to find, but we were lucky enough to find a free on-street spot just around the corner. Otherwise, the Annendale is perfectly located to the beaches, historic attractions and golf courses.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMcDonaldsHouse, Owner at Annandale Guest House, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us at Annandale. Thank you very much for your positive review, we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us at Annandale. We really value your comments and thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Warmest regards
Fiona & Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    30
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
47
53
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great hospitality from the moment we arrived to when we departed. Paul and Fiona are excellent Scottish hosts with great local knowledge. Accomodation is modern and very clean. Two night stay visiting our son at university and so will be definately return. Location is simply fantastic with easy access for golf and the surronding town centre with its brillant selection of bars and resturants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glasgowboy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMcDonaldsHouse, Owner at Annandale Guest House, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
It was a pleasure to have yourself and Heather stay with us at Annandale. Thank you very much for your positive review, we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us at Annandale. When you return to St Andrews to visit your son we would be so happy to have you stay with us again. We really value your comments and thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Warmest regards
Fiona & Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed for ten days in Scotland at the Annendale Guest House. The staff, Pamela, Sharon, and owners Paul and Fiona made our visit memorable. Our top floor bedroom with its tall ceilings and windows overlooked the cobblestone streets below. The beds were firm, comfy and made up everyday, with clean towels in the bathroom. The electric shower was a novelty which performed well, the hot water was really tempest hot. There is a heated towel rack to warm your towels after a refreshing shower. Full Scottish Breakfast on the white linen decorated tables in the dining room each morning with fresh fruit, coffee or tea to start. Eggs your way, bacon, scones, toast and a Scottish favorite blood pudding. We played golf at The Home of Golf on three courses which was within walking distance of the Annendale. There is a shuttle bus every thirty minutes for golfers who would rather ride to the St. Andrews Golf Courses. St. Andrews is a walking town, with the Annendale central to shopping, tours and most important for us, golf. I discovered my Scottish family roots is the Scottish Ancestry store in town. My husband and I may travel to St. Andrews for the Open in 2015. If we do, we will stay at the Annendale.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMcDonaldsHouse, Owner at Annandale Guest House, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you both stay with us at Annandale. Thank you very much for your positive review, we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us at Annandale. If you decide to track down your Scottish ancestry or just visit St Andrews again we would be so happy to have you stay with us again. We really value your comments and thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Warmest regards
Fiona & Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend trip to St Andrews for a wedding. Room was on top floor. Nicely decorated room with a comfy bed. Although the bathroom was also nicely decorated, the shower was awful. The owners blamed it on the old house, and the fact the room was on the top floor, but they must be able to do something about it. It was little more than a trickle of water, which you couldn't even really get underneath because of the holders for your shower gels etc. The light was on a sensor as well, so you could have a rubbish shower in the dark.

The room was also extremely hot, so we opened the window to cool it down. However, first thing in the morning (5-6 am) you get a lot of people leaving for the early rounds of golf, so the street outside can be pretty noisy. At least it helps you get up for the very early breakfast!

The quality of the food at breakfast was good, though after a couple of late nights I didn't really want to speak to the owners, regardless of how friendly they were. If you like that sort of thing, then I'm sure you'll find them very pleasant.

Overall I probably wouldn't go back. Didn't think it was particularly good value, but then again, most of the places in St Andrews are over-priced.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the house may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bands33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMcDonaldsHouse, Owner at Annandale Guest House, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We would like to make it clear that this review was written by the friends of the reviewer of 3 June.
As you never made any negative comments to us when you were here, we were a little surprised to read your review. As we explained to you at check in, this room has an electric shower and you have to flick the switch down or you will just get a trickle of water. Once the switch is on you can have a shower without a problem, you can even tilt the shower head, as you can in most showers, to angle the water jet past the shower gel holder.
We are sorry you felt hot, an open window will cool the room down, unfortunately we cannot control any noise in the street made by early golfers. On the first morning you stayed with us you were an early golfer yourself!
Breakfast is from 7.30 to 9pm which is pretty standard in any guest house, we were happy to make you up a take away breakfast on the first morning when you left early to play golf. We also waited in all afternoon for deliverly of some of your equipment which you had left by mistake at the golf club and stored your luggage for you on check out until you were leaving St Andrews later in the day. We feel we offer our guests a very good level of service.
St Andrews offers many things to it's visitors and is a world destination, prices for accommodation reflect demand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas, ON
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed here for three nights for, what else, golfing in the St. Andrews area. Paul and Fiona, the owners, are very friendly and welcoming, and the cleaning and wait staff were also cheerful and friendly. Breakfast was excellent, lots to choose from. The room was well appointed and decorated. The bathroom was very modern and clean, the shower was small, but it is Europe where small showers are pretty normal. We would definitely return if ever in the St. Andrews area again. The location is perfect, close to the Old Course and all shops and restaurants. The cathedral and castle ruins are just a short walk away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelNFV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMcDonaldsHouse, Owner at Annandale Guest House, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
It was a lovely to have you stay with us again at Annandale. Thank you very much for your positive review, we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us at Annandale. Thank you so much for the bottle of whisky you left for us, it was a lovely surprise. Due to a family bereavment we couldn't spend as much time chatting and hearing about your travels as we would have liked but we would be so happy to have you stay with us again. We really value your comments and thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Warmest regards
Fiona & Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Recently returned from a stay in St Andrews at the Annandale Guest House (£96p/n for a double room - I stayed two nights) and felt compelled to write a review.

The welcome was friendly, and although we arrived earlier than our check in the owners happily put our bags in the room for us as we went off round town.

I was advised the shower was small - I thought this meant ducking to wash my hair (I'm 6'6" and therefore this is no surprise). However, I didn't think it would I actually had to duck to get in the shower - and then shower bent double.

This wasn't the worst thing about the shower though...you could either have it powerful and cold or hot and weak...not a great choice, but since my neck was pressing against the hot ceiling light it wasn't my main concern...the owner didn't seem too concerned though, telling me that she prefers a colder shower. Well I don't. Is it unreasonable to expect warm/hot and powerful? I have stayed in other victorian buildings before (the excuse given) and at the top of them (another reason for the poor shower) and had better experiences.

The bed (two twins pushed together) was uncomfortable. One of those that when you move the springs pop and you can feel the actual bed frame beneath you - so some new mattresses would be a good idea.

Good things? Breakfast and the cleanliness of the room (even with a few stray cobwebs). The welcome and the fact that they were happy for us to leave our bags while wondering around before and after check in. Although this was essential as check out was at 10am...since when has that become standard?

Value for money at £96p/n? No. There are better and cheaper guesthouses on the same road.

Room Tip: To choose a good room...book in another guest house on Murray Park (the same road) in St Andrews - t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tb2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMcDonaldsHouse, Owner at Annandale Guest House, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
As this guest said there was no hot water in the shower I went to check it out. I discovered they had set it to the cold setting and that was why there was no hot water (we always leave it set to a warm setting when we service the room). I then turned it back to the warm setting and asked the guest to feel if this was hot enough as we are all different and some may like it warm and some hot. I mentioned how I like a cooler shower just to illustrate the point! He said he liked it hot so I turned it to a hotter setting for him. He then complained about the water pressure, having owned Annandale for the past 7 years we have had no complaints about the water pressure in the showers and I explained it was not a power shower but a normal domestic shower like most people have in their homes. We appreciate as you are 6'6" the shower would feel small but 'bent double'... really!
This room can be used as a twin room or as it has zip and link beds and matresses it can be made into a superking sized bed and let as a double. The matressess' were replaced last year and are of a good quality, they also have mattress toppers on them so we are surprised they were uncomfortable. I have made a point of asking other guests staying in this room since if they were comfortable and have had no complaints. Our rooms are seviced daily and deep cleaned on every check out. We saw no evidence of any 'stray cobweb'!
We were very happy to make up a breakfast for you to take away with you when you left early to play golf on the first morning and to store your bags on arrival and departure. 10am is indeed the standard time of check out in the majority of guest houses, I would suggest that for a later check out, and a power shower, a hotel would have suited this guests needs better. But then again, you could not stay in a hotel in St Andrews at £96pn (the average price for a double room in a guest house in St Andrews).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

From initial booking to end of stay no problems
I was contacted 2-3 days before arrival to confirm my expected time of arrival -a very nice touch.
Warm welcome and room very comfortable. Given upgrade to Family room at no extra cost. Advised straight away that en -suite was small -- this was obvious but for 1-2 nights perfectly acceptable.
Beds were conducive to a good nights sleep.
Given a voucher to a local restaurant for a free drink --another nice touch and the restaurant was very good ( see later --Dolls House )
Breakfast was fantastic -well cooked and good portions.
Fiona was a perfect host and it is easy to see she makes every effort for her guests to have an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Difficult to comment since I only saw our own room. I would request a room at the back since the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#10 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
No12 Bed & Breakfast, St Andrews
0.0 mi away
Montague Guest House
Montague Guest House
#14 of 72 in St. Andrews
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Braeside House
Braeside House
#42 of 72 in St. Andrews
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annandale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annandale Guest House

Property: Annandale Guest House
Address: 23 Murray Park, St. Andrews KY16 9AW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our charming Victorian guesthouse nestles in the heart of St. Andrews. A modern contemporary style combined with lots of original features gives our guesthouse a wonderful welcoming ambience. Fresh locally sourced food, comfortable surroundings and the true warmth of Scottish hospitality ensure our guests have a memorable and relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Annandale Guest House St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing