We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all costs!”
Review of Zest

Zest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $8
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Good vegetarian/vegan options and can cater for Gluten Free diets. We serve speciality coffee with 2 choices of espresso roast and fully trained Baristas. We are a local and independent training cafe. We help to support people facing barriers to employment or with additional needs by providing a friendly, inclusive workplace to learn and develop :)
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Saturday lunchtime, 2 'ladies doing lunch' think, "we'll have a go here". I have been in nicer and better quality, cleaner and far fiendlier greasy spoon caff's than this. We decided on Soup & a Sandwich each and a soft drink. Rudely pointed at the fridge to get our drinks, the sandwiches were really nothing special and the soup was barely warm. The tables were dirty and uncleared, the door to the loo was smeared with something not-very-pleasant, the floor was filthy. I won't be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kath076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaZest, Owner at Zest, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thankyou for your comments, although not constructive i am certain that they bear little resemblance to our cafe. Having taken your comments seriously I have investigated by talking to customers who were present on saturday lunch and all my staff members however it has proved difficult to match your picture with theirs. I also find it difficult to believe that the cafe was " dirtier than a greasy spoon" when i had been in not 3 hrs earlier to a clean tidy cafe which had been completely deep cleaned 2 days previously. You will see from other recent reviews that your experience is not typical or representative.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 106 of 129 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

Popped in for an early lunch with a friend. The cafe is lovely and warm, which is especially welcoming with cold temperatures outside. The regular size coffee was absolutely huge, very good value for money! I had the jacket potato with roasted vegetables and feta which was very tasty - the only constructive criticism I have would be for the topping to be more generous, and for it to be served hot. Our meal was served promptly by friendly staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FreeSpirit246246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaZest, Owner at Zest, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thankyou for your feedback, sorry to hear that you would have liked more toppings.. our team are always more than happy to help & if there is something to improve upon we will make every effort to do so!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

stopped by with some of my elder family here today and will happily return for more coffee, tea and going by one of the party's scone, one of those or another cake from the selection. It is a nice warm relaxing place to stop and the staff are happy to help, clear and clean tables and make the stay comfortable. I don't mind paying up front either; if it was me I'd do the same.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stopstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaZest, Owner at Zest, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thankyou for your review! Feedback is so valuable to us for our improvement. If you liked the scones, then you will love what we are doing for St Andrews day on 30th November. We are going all out on the traditional Scottish Homebaking, with Traditional Homemade soups and our now famous Haggis Stovies!! We'd love to see you again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

great venue, excellent especially for the young and zestful at heart, atmosphere buzzing, spilling onto street with outside tables. Provide a loo for the general public which is great especially when the St Andrews public loos were shut, however they need a good clean and a lick of paint.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank davinasully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaZest, Owner at Zest, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Really glad you enjoyed your visit with us at Zest, following your review we have repainted the bathrooms, retrained all staff to ensure bathrooms are kept to a high standard... and have more plans in place for even more re-sprucing!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Visited Zest for a coffee today which was fine. On visiting the toilet however it was a different story. No soap in dispenser, and the toilet door has a spring on it obviously salvaged from a wolverine trap. The door snapped shut on my fingers, 2 of which are now black and blue, and I fear I may lose a nail. The staff did get me some ice but that is not the point. There is no need for a spring loaded door, there is only one toilet and the lock is on another outer door. If this happened to a small child the consequences could be much worse. The spring should be removed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaZest, Owner at Zest, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Killer door has been readjusted to make sure this doesn't happen again. Very sorry you had a bad experience, we would love to see you again.. and rest assured problem fixed!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zest also viewed

St. Andrews, Fife
 
St. Andrews, Fife
St. Andrews, Fife
 

Been to Zest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing