We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“another ideal trip to MOP”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“another ideal trip to MOP”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

this was our 4th or maybe 5th stay at MOP, and fortunately for us we were about the only ones there (it is Scotland in earlyFebruary after all!) which meant we had free range of the pool, sauna and steam room - win!

We stayed in the Old Dairy which was as comfortable and suitable as normal, the sofa had been reupholsered with some new colourful cushions which freshened the look of the living area, The kitchen was as well equipped as normal.

we find MOP to be the ideal destination for a few days away

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    45
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
334
101
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

This place is lovely and some great views! There was group of 14 of us, we were due to stay somewhere that cancelled last minute, so found this place by chance really. MOP were able to accommodate us at last minute and was great about it! We stayed in two cottages in the steading area. They were perfect for us! Loads of things for self catering, such as oven dishes, pots, and glasses, not just the bare minimum. Both of the houses were spotless and made you feel like you were in a 5* hotel. Lovely comfy beds and brilliant large en-suite bathrooms. It was really nice that there was a bath as well! Great big dinning at living area which meant there was enough space for us all to have dinner together. The pool and other facilities were great as well, the pool was lovely and warm! Only a 10min drive from St Andrews but felt like you were in the middle of no where with fantastic views of the sea! All the staff we met were lovely but they also were only there when you needed it, which was fab! Great wee rolls/eggs service as well for breakfasts! Would highly recommend this place, we are already thinking about when we can go back together and individually! Thanks MOP!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haribo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We LOVE Morton of Pitmilly. It is perfect in every way. Our grandsons favourite part is of course the swimming pool (spent a lot of time there) but they also loved the play area; football pitch with nets - wonderful; tennis courts and a putting green too. We could go on and on but actually we don't want everyone else to book in case it becomes to overcrowded! We'd like to thank Catherine and Janet for being so friendly and helpful. We couldn't find ONE fault with our accommodation - 5 stars! We want to return again and again. We had two visits to Balgove Larder ... YUM! read less

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fruach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We originally stayed at MOP 21 years ago and have stayed a few times since, always in the Granary. We had Mum & Dad's 50th wedding anniversary celebrations there. We had tried for 10 years to book it for Christmas and finally managed to have Christmas 2013 in the Granary. It was great fun for the grandkids, friends and family just loved chilling out and using the facilities.There was plenty of dishes, casseroles etc for Christmas dinner and a huge fridge and freezer took all the Christmas food. We had a great time, thanks again to all the staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I found Morton of Pitmilly quite by chance when searching the internet for self catering accommodation in or around St Andrews. What a find, it was superb. We stayed in Cart-Arch Cottage (a two bedroom apartment) in the Courtyard with 9 other apartments. It was very cosy, comfortable and very well equipped. There is another block of 6 apartments in the Steading. All apartments vary from one to four bedrooms.

The complex has a good variety of activities on offer including a small indoor swimming pool, sauna, snooker table, pool table, table tennis, gym and both inside and outdoor tennis courts.

The staff were most welcoming and attentive, dealing efficiently with any queries that arose. The Reception area supplied a selection of groceries and included two freezers with ready meals.

If you are looking for a peaceful and relaxing break in lovely surroundings then Morton of Pitmilly is the place to go. I will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janders10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Been staying at Morton of Pitmilly for 16 years now - and that says it all. Great place, especially with children, but fine for the adults too. Lovely, warm, little pool. Super children's play area. Bring wellingtons and woollies for walking down to and playing tennis/working out in the (brisk)sports barn

Room Tip: Best small house is the Doocot - large sitting room/kitchen and best patio for (any) sunshine. Unles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parsimony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Another great at MOP - - and our granddaughter was with us for the first time. Everything went well - a couple of problems with radiators - but fixed right away and an additional radiator provided,just in case.

3 trips to MOP in 2013 - hope we can manage 3 next year - -just perfect and so relaxing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jch0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
2.3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,981 reviews
6.6 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
5.3 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
5.6 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
11.7 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort

Property: Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort
Address: Kingsbarns, St. Andrews KY16 8QF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning four and five star accommodation...and much more! Morton of Pitmilly countryside resort is set in a stunning location just outside St Andrews, the home of golf, and a stone's throw from Kingsbarns Golf Links. It boasts fantastic sea views and is nestled close to the East Neuk of Fife's picturesque fishing villages. It is more than just award-winning four and five star accommodation - offering extensive leisure facilities and activities. Guests love the tranquil setting which combines space and privacy with first class accommodation, many returning for long or short stays throughout the year. Value for money, commitment to quality and exemplary customer service have led to our ongoing succes sover the years and a belief that we offer the most magical holiday experience in the area. Whether you are arranging a reunion, business workshop, golf trip, quiet weekend away, family gathering or an exclusive use venue for a wedding party, Morton of Pitmilly countryside resort is the perfect location to stay, play and relax. Discover the magic of Morton of Pitmilly for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morton Of Pitmilly Hotel St. Andrews
Morton Of Pitmilly Countryside Resort St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing