We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Steading”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The new properties are really great. They are of the highest standard and they all have views overlooking the sea.It is a wonderful place to stay with plenty to do. The hospitality from Eilidh and her staff is second to none. I would highly recommend anybody looking for somewhere to stay in the St Andrews area to give Morton of Pitmilly a try, they won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: All properties in the Steading have sea views. The properties in the Courtyard are all overlooking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillyEnfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 583 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

We've been going to Pitmilly since the early 90s - obviously we like it!

However, this time we tried the new accommodation in the adjoining complex, which opened at Easter. It's definitely moved up a notch! The accommodation is large and spacious, well decorated and furnishings luxurious. It has that "boutique hotel" feel, with nice toiletries, robes, en-suites in every room. And the view from the bedrooms is phenomenal!

The usual friendly welcome from John & family - all the best for the new complex - we will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Have been coming here on&off since early 1990's. another great week.so much do in and around St Andrews for family and always a new find. MoP plenty to do with walks and exploring and the pool is a stone's throw. Playpark area great for family.

I would complain too about the price of electricity; £46 for a week, in summer so not sure what it was on. The heaters don't seem to go off in a way that we could work out. WiFi patchy and didn't work in our area. Emails unavoidable (which meant we had lots to catch up on when we got home) these days so hope this improves again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank desbaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We recently had a fabulous special birthday weekend for Granny accompanied by all the family. The kids play area was enjoyed by Lauren, Logan, Josh and Harris and the pool sauna and steam room were enjoyed by all. would recommend this area to anyone plenty of activities and lots to see in this beautiful area of Fife. A long weekend just wasn't enough so we will be forced to book again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jinty1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We returned to The Stables at Morton of Pitmilly after a few years' break, for a family birthday celebration, and as soon as we arrived, relaxation took over. With three children of age 3, 18 and 22, plus my daughters' boyfriends, we needed something for everyone, and we found it again in abundance. The kids all loved the pool, the games room (the weather was mixed!), and of course the playground for the little one. A great weekend, and we hope to return again in th not too distant future. I found Morton of Pitmilly just as welcoming and everything to the same high standard, if not more so, as a few years back. Friends visited us over the weekend and were very impressed too. I think the fact that my car did not move from the Friday afternoon until we left Monday morning says it all!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
Thank Miriam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

This is a lovely place to stay in a fabulous area. We stayed 4 nights midweek in The Byre with our 8 year old daughter... who loved it. Luxurious accommodation and great facilities. Play area great and pool/sauna fab...especially when dark outside! Will be back. Ps lovely eggs!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolineparry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

always made very welcome. new gym and tennis court fab, as was the on site massage! frozen meals on site a great option. comfortable rooms that make u relax as soon as you arrive. lovely walk to beach. just wish electricity charge could be waived.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
5.4 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
538 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,413 reviews
6.6 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Cambo House, Cambo Estate
Cambo House, Cambo Estate
#2 of 3 in Kingsbarns
217 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Kingsbarns
The Inn at Kingsbarns
#1 of 3 in Kingsbarns
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort

Address: Kingsbarns, St. Andrews KY16 8QF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in St. Andrews
Price Range: $145 - $537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning four and five star accommodation...and much more! Morton of Pitmilly countryside resort is set in a stunning location just outside St Andrews, the home of golf, and a stone's throw from Kingsbarns Golf Links. It boasts fantastic sea views and is nestled close to the East Neuk of Fife's picturesque fishing villages. It is more than just award-winning four and five star accommodation - offering extensive leisure facilities and activities. Guests love the tranquil setting which combines space and privacy with first class accommodation, many returning for long or short stays throughout the year. Value for money, commitment to quality and exemplary customer service have led to our ongoing succes sover the years and a belief that we offer the most magical holiday experience in the area. Whether you are arranging a reunion, business workshop, golf trip, quiet weekend away, family gathering or an exclusive use venue for a wedding party, Morton of Pitmilly countryside resort is the perfect location to stay, play and relax. Discover the magic of Morton of Pitmilly for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morton Of Pitmilly Hotel St. Andrews
Morton Of Pitmilly Countryside Resort St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing