We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The New Inn St Andrews
Ranked #49 of 77 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The hospitality of The New Inn was top notch--what you would hope to encounter on your first trip to St. Andrews. The food was delicious and the room/bedding was very clean. My husband was accompanying our son to settle him at the university and Ms. Heidi Orr went out of her way to help two tired Americans find their way. We emailed back and forth and she had some recommendations on how to make the trip more manageable and even offered to take their luggage before the room was ready so that they could explore. She also offered help in securing a taxi for my husband to return home. Her responses were prompt and she was very gracious.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    37
    23
    5
    5
See reviews for
25
40
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thurso
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A great wee coaching Inn/pub, Excellent room, spotless, really friendly atmosphere and the owners/staff were helpful and attentive. Good breakfast, just a short walk to town centre and beach. Could be a bit noisy with traffic if you wanted a long lie with the roms at the front otherwise comfy with plenty of space. Good bar with good choices of ale and drams and reasonably priced freshly cooked food. Great choice of restaurants in town and of course the golf courses.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlastairFoggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

At time of booking this was the only reasonably priced hotel we could find. It is a bit out of town but not too bad and a nice walk along the beach to get into the centre is no more than 10 minutes. Situated on a main road means it may not suit light sleepers - we found that the consumption of whisky helped us sleep!! The welcome was warm and friendly. The accommodation is just a few licks of paint and other small touches away from being good but is not quite there. Breakfast was okay but again with a few touches could be good. Probably okay for 1-2 nights - we were there 3. In terms of value we have paid a lot less for a lot better elsewhere but this was St Andrews in summer at Lamas time so what did we expect?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bled, Slovenia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed in the New Inn for seven nights this July, in the family room (Castle). There was more than enough room for three people, and we found it, as well as the bathroom, to be spotlessly clean upon our arrival. In addition, there was thorough room service every day - they even replaced the tea mugs each time. Despite being on the ground floor with the pub next door, the room was quiet even when there was live music.

The inn doesn't have parking lots of its own, but during our stay there was always plenty of space on the road in front of it. The town centre is within easy reach (10-15 minutes if on foot). You can opt to walk along the streets or by the sea (East Sands and the Harbour). The latter offers really nice views and takes you past the cathedral and the castle, two of the most famous sights in town. All in all, despite not being in the centre, the New Inn presents a nice base for exploring the town.

The breakfast was excellent - there was a large basket with all kinds of cereals, and an assortment of jams and butter, as well as toast, was brought to the table. The option of ordering eggs or sausages was there as well, and John was always very helpful. They don't offer dinner with the accomodation, but the option of eating in the pub is there. There's also plenty of great restaurants within easy reach.

I found St Andrews to be a generally expensive town, and what we got in the New Inn for the price we paid was great - it's good value for money, and I would certainly stay there again if I returned to town.

Room Tip: I'm told one of the rooms on the ground floor is noisy when there's live entertainment next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiOrr, Owner at The New Inn St Andrews, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our property with Trip Advisor and we hope to welcome you to the New Inn again in the Future. If people wish to include an evening meal in the room package they only need ask and we will be happy to quote on that but we are open for meals every day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

If you're looking for great value accomodation within easy reach of the town centre-here's the place.Takes about 10 minutes to get to one end of the town and the bonus once you've had a few beers its down hill back.Parking on road outside the premises was a bonus.Very friendly staff and room spotless and comfortable. We took our dog which was welcome. Breakfast excellent.Bar meals available at other times and bar prices reasonable.
Free wi-fi in bedroom.
We had the room on ground floor opposite access to bar area, okay for mid week but would opt for a room higher up at weekend.
Would go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEORGE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingate
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Good stuff

Rooms were clean, facilities were fine, the owners/staff/whoever were very helpful, price was reasonable, you get a key to access your room anytime.

Bad stuff

We had a room just across a corridor from the attached pub which was quite noisy until closing time (12:30 ish I think) and the TV barely larger than a Galaxy Note.

Overall

I would stay there again. For the price you can't complain. We booked it very quickly but it was one of the cheapest hotels we found in our brief search.

Room Tip: Not the one closest to the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tallintheair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiOrr, Owner at The New Inn St Andrews, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review our property on trip advisor. We are glad that over all you enjoyed your stay and would return. On your next stay call us so we can place you in one of the higher up rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here on a short golfing break and found the place to be very good value in an otherwise expensive resort. The staff were friendly and helpful, breaksfast was excellent and the rooms, although in need of a lick of paint in the bathroom, were perfectly servicable. We had a large twin roon with en suite, TV, tea / coffee making facilities and a good bathroom with lovely soft white towels. Would I visit again ..... yes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St. Andrews
276 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#10 of 18 in St. Andrews
654 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 18 in St. Andrews
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
192 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 18 in St. Andrews
447 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Inn at Lathones
The Inn at Lathones
#1 of 1 in Lathones
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn St Andrews

Property: The New Inn St Andrews
Address: 23 St. Mary Street, St. Andrews KY16 8AZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Inn St Andrews 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Inn is a lively local with five contemporary en-suite bedrooms. All rooms have free wifi access, refreshment tray and free view TV. We offer a good selection of home made meals using local produce. A warm welcome is guaranteed at this ideal affordable base for exploring St Andrews. Walking distance to town centre and centrally located for many golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The New Inn St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Inn St Andrews Hotel St. Andrews
The New Inn St Andrews St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing