We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The New Inn St Andrews
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$173
$156
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greyfriars Inn(St. Andrews)(Great Value!)
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$355
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rufflets Hotel(St. Andrews)
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albany Hotel(St. Andrews)(Great Value!)
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$227
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$433
$320
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Du Vin(St. Andrews)
$214
$193
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Dunvegan Hotel(St. Andrews)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveler rating
30
39
25
5
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
39
25
5
6
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 105 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The New Inn is perfectly placed around the corner from the beach...The rooms are spacious, modern & spotlessly clean. We ordered dinner, & the homemade soup, & fish were divine! The owners, John & Heidi, were friendly, welcoming, & very obliging. There's also a full size bar, with pool table , so you get what feels like a hotel experience - with the ambience of a bar! What more could one want?! Give it a try, I thoroughly recommend it, & our friends, who travelled with us, are still raving about it. Best place they've been, we'll be back. Julie Barton.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely - no worries there - we saw our friend's rooms too-all more than happy!!!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julieelvis2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiOrr, Owner at The New Inn St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Thanks for your lovely feed back and we look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed for one night recently. Our room was adequate and clean. The staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble. Unfortunately we had a herd of elephants above us and that combined with the noise from the road meant no sleep.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiOrr, Owner at The New Inn St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

We are sorry to learn that you didn't get a great night's sleep we are always happy to speak to other guests if you feel their behaviour is affecting your stay. We do appreciate your positive comments on our staff and cleanliness. Thanks for your feed back and we hope you return on
another occasion .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

My son and I stayed at The New Inn while he was on a conference trip to Scotland area.
We found the room to be clean and really comfortable. We had wonderful full breakfast and really enjoyed the pub food also. The owner was very nice, friendly, helpful.
We stayed here and found it within walking distance of the St. Andrews University,the Ruins of St. Andrews Castle and The Cathedral. We really enjoyed our time in St. Andrews. We would highly recommend a stay at The New Inn and a visit of St. Andrews.
We were from Vancouver, BC, Canada and really enjoyed our Scotland trip.
Thank you for a great experience from Vancouver, BC. Canada.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grand_Ma_sters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiOrr, Owner at The New Inn St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Thank you for your review of The New Inn we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I would just like to say what a great couple of days we had at the new inn ,with the rooms 1st class and the food and staff just as good all ten of us would like to so a big thanks and are looking forward to booking for next year ps i bet john is itailan and not scottish this week again thanks from Tony wright and all the lads from birmingham

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrightyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We would like to say a big thank you to all the staff at the new inn, first class meals, the host John Marini had plenty of golf talk about the time Tom Watson had Fish & Chips at the new inn, we even stayed at the farmhouse where tom was. The menu was excellent very good balance.
Very good size of potions, plenty of sweets to choose from, Sticky Toffee, very tasty.
We found the locals very friendly.
Can't wait to go back to try John's special fish & Chips, hoping he might put mushy peas with the fish & chips on the menu

10 / 10 well done.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews