We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night out.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West Port Bar & Kitchen
Ranked #19 of 73 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great night out.”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Recently had a work night out at the West Port. Great new menu with loads of choice even for a fussy eater like me! Pulled pork to die for. What made it even better were the lovely staff. Nothing was too much trouble, even dealing with our lot! Over all great night would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Chelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPBK, General Manager at West Port Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Many thanks Chelle for taking the time to give us a cracking review. I am so glad that the team helped to make your night a good one - hope we see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    45
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
73
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here with family for a wedding and was very impressed. Rooms are very well appointed including ironing board and iron which in many hotels you have to borrow. Very big and comfortable bed and lots of comp toiletries in the bathroom. Staff are extremely helpful ~Andy deserves a special mention for his welcome and ongoing attention during our stay.

Lovely garden terrace with wet weather awning and nice selection of food. Unfortunately I couldn't manage lunch because our breakfast was so big.
Bar is lively but civilised in the evening. One of the wedding guests told us Prince William spilled a pint of cider over his daughter in here which gives it an element of gentle celebrity/notoriety I suppose.

Also excellent value for money A real find!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dumelarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPBK, General Manager at West Port Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Many thanks for giving us such a splendid review. It does mean a lot that our guests enjoy their stay with us and it is great to hear that your whole visit went so well. If you are ever in these parts again you know who to call!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had eaten at the West Port before and always enjoyed it but this was the first time we had stayed. The room was lovely, very clean and comfortable but the main thing about the whole experience was the very friendly and cheery staff. Everyone we met was so much fun and seemed truly to care what the guests thought. I highly recommend the West Port to parents who are dropping their sons and daughters off at University as a great place to stay right in the heart of St Andrews.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPBK, Manager at West Port Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review, We pride ourselves on customer care and are fortunate enough to have a whole staff team that cares! i am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us to others!

We look forward to a return visit!

Many Thanks

Rory Drummond
Deputy General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I had to stay overnight at the West Port in St Andrews to allow me to meet up with a client at Aberdeen airport. The accomodation is 1st class. I was also very lucky to be entertained in-house by a lovely singer/guitarist by the name of Amy Rayner! It made the stay even more rewarding. Would recommend this 3 star hotel to anyone requiring a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Check out their web site!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPBK, Manager at West Port Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hello,

Im so glad you enjoyed your stay here at West Port! We cater for a number of different customers and try to make everyone's stay memorable! Amy is fantastic and plays every second Wednesday from 8pm :)

We hope to see you again!

Many Thanks

Rory Drummond
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Read the reviews and looked good. Booking over the phone was easy and friendly - got the room we requested based on other reviews (3). All too easy we thought, something will let it down. But no, friendly and helpful service from the time we arrived to the time they served my 2nd cafe standard double espresso during the (rate included) breakfast. Only downside was the noise of the gulls at 5am. Nothing was too much effort and I'm sure if I'd mentioned the gulls then a hit man would have been dispatched or a rifle supplied. Seriously though, friendly service, cooked to order breakfasts and a large, fresh smelling room. Plus breakfast is served 7-11 and theres only 4 bedrooms - now that's customer service. We will be back.

Room Tip: Only minor downside was noise of the gulls outside. Not sure if that's standard for St Andrews o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelscot127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPBK, Manager at West Port Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hello!

Thank you for your kind review! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and in particular your breaky! The gulls are a nuisance but come with the territory unfortunately however we have recently put up an artificial owl to scare them off so hopefully, should you return, you'll enjoy an uninterrupted sleep! :)

Thanks Again for your review

Rory Drummond
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have used this place for lunches and evening meals a number of times. The food and the service are consistently top class. It has an excellent and varied menu and with main meals between £8 and £10. The dining rooms are light and airy and there is dining in the garden as well.
If you are in St Andrews go there you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPBK, General Manager at West Port Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Ian, your review has just made my day!! I am so glad that you like what we do - it really does give us all a boost on long busy days to get such fantastic feedback. Many thanks & I hope to see you next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

This is the fifth time I have used the West Port & it never disappoints. The rooms & service are first class with the excellent breakfast setting you up nicely for 18 holes on the Old Course. Good choice of beers & lovely beer garden to boot. Definitely returning for another stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoodyBlue11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPBK, General Manager at West Port Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hello! Thanks for the fantastic review - it's great to here that we're getting it right. We will look forward to seeing you again :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
3.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 16 in St. Andrews
3,067 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 16 in St. Andrews
1,264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#12 of 16 in St. Andrews
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 16 in St. Andrews
363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 16 in St. Andrews
476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#10 of 16 in St. Andrews
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Port Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Port Bar & Kitchen

Property: West Port Bar & Kitchen
Address: 170 South Street, St. Andrews KY16 9EG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 4 luxurious contemporary styled en suite bathrooms, located above our bar - perfect for a short break in St Andrews. Relax and enjoy your stay at West Port, St Andrews. You can be assured of a great night's sleep and excellent hospitality, together with modern styled en-suite accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your West Port Bar & Kitchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Port Bar & Kitchen St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing