We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West Port Bar & Kitchen
Ranked #19 of 73 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had eaten at the West Port before and always enjoyed it but this was the first time we had stayed. The room was lovely, very clean and comfortable but the main thing about the whole experience was the very friendly and cheery staff. Everyone we met was so much fun and seemed truly to care what the guests thought. I highly recommend the West Port to parents who are dropping their sons and daughters off at University as a great place to stay right in the heart of St Andrews.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPBK, Manager at West Port Bar & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you for such a lovely review, We pride ourselves on customer care and are fortunate enough to have a whole staff team that cares! i am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us to others!

We look forward to a return visit!

Many Thanks

Rory Drummond
Deputy General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for West Port Bar & Kitchen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 150 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

I had to stay overnight at the West Port in St Andrews to allow me to meet up with a client at Aberdeen airport. The accomodation is 1st class. I was also very lucky to be entertained in-house by a lovely singer/guitarist by the name of Amy Rayner! It made the stay even more rewarding. Would recommend this 3 star hotel to anyone requiring a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Check out their web site!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPBK, Manager at West Port Bar & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Hello,

Im so glad you enjoyed your stay here at West Port! We cater for a number of different customers and try to make everyone's stay memorable! Amy is fantastic and plays every second Wednesday from 8pm :)

We hope to see you again!

Many Thanks

Rory Drummond
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Read the reviews and looked good. Booking over the phone was easy and friendly - got the room we requested based on other reviews (3). All too easy we thought, something will let it down. But no, friendly and helpful service from the time we arrived to the time they served my 2nd cafe standard double espresso during the (rate included) breakfast. Only downside was the noise of the gulls at 5am. Nothing was too much effort and I'm sure if I'd mentioned the gulls then a hit man would have been dispatched or a rifle supplied. Seriously though, friendly service, cooked to order breakfasts and a large, fresh smelling room. Plus breakfast is served 7-11 and theres only 4 bedrooms - now that's customer service. We will be back.

Room Tip: Only minor downside was noise of the gulls outside. Not sure if that's standard for St Andrews o...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelscot127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPBK, Manager at West Port Bar & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Hello!

Thank you for your kind review! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and in particular your breaky! The gulls are a nuisance but come with the territory unfortunately however we have recently put up an artificial owl to scare them off so hopefully, should you return, you'll enjoy an uninterrupted sleep! :)

Thanks Again for your review

Rory Drummond
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have used this place for lunches and evening meals a number of times. The food and the service are consistently top class. It has an excellent and varied menu and with main meals between £8 and £10. The dining rooms are light and airy and there is dining in the garden as well.
If you are in St Andrews go there you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPBK, General Manager at West Port Bar & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Ian, your review has just made my day!! I am so glad that you like what we do - it really does give us all a boost on long busy days to get such fantastic feedback. Many thanks & I hope to see you next time you are in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

This is the fifth time I have used the West Port & it never disappoints. The rooms & service are first class with the excellent breakfast setting you up nicely for 18 holes on the Old Course. Good choice of beers & lovely beer garden to boot. Definitely returning for another stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoodyBlue11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPBK, General Manager at West Port Bar & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Hello! Thanks for the fantastic review - it's great to here that we're getting it right. We will look forward to seeing you again :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here again for the 7th time & the service & standards haven't varied.We are made to feel valued & welcome each time we stay & it really is like a home from home. The room is very clean & comfortable & the breakfast extensive.Lunch & evening menu is varied & good value,it has a great pub atmosphere,it can get lively at night at the weekends but it wouldn't be much of a venue if it didn't . Overall it is excellent & have already booked our next stay.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank travelling-golfer-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Had a wedding to attend with family and four rooms were booked, basically all the rooms at West Port, Staff were helpful, friendly and gave us great service. Rooms were spacious. No elevator but just two floors. The inclusive Full Scottish Breakfast was excellent. Parking outside is meter charged but there is a long term car park a very short walking distance away. Free WIFI an added bonus. Great location, walking distance from the Old Course. Reasonable price, highly recommended!

Room Tip: Only four all are good.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPBK, General Manager at West Port Bar & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you so much for the kind review, especially your comments about the staff - it really does mean a lot to us. We are so glad that you and your party enjoyed your stay - and that the wedding was such a success!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.3 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St. Andrews
681 reviews
6.7 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#13 of 17 in St. Andrews
317 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Port Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Port Bar & Kitchen

Address: 170 South Street, St. Andrews KY16 9EG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Price Range: $76 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 4 luxurious contemporary styled en suite bathrooms, located above our bar - perfect for a short break in St Andrews. Relax and enjoy your stay at West Port, St Andrews. You can be assured of a great night's sleep and excellent hospitality, together with modern styled en-suite accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West Port Bar & Kitchen St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing