We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay at the WestPort Bar and Kitchen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West Port Bar & Kitchen
Ranked #19 of 73 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed at the hotel in January 2013 where after an initial mix up over the room we thought we had booked we were given quite a decent room on the 1st floor. We did find this room could be a bit noisy from the bar underneath which is why we had booked a 2nd floor room.

Generally found the room to be spacious, clean and of a good standard.We found the staff to be generally very friendly and helpful.

We had chosen to have breakfast as part of the package which we found to be a good standard and portions were good. We also had an evening meal in the restaurant and found the food quality to be very good.

Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 2nd floor to avoid noise from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank forsyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 159 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

I would highly recommend The West Port .. Staff all very friendly , even when busy in the bar. Which is a great place that lots of people like to meet up with friends for the evening , or take the family.

We had a super room, No.3, , beds were brilliant, as was the bedding, a great bathroom , brilliant shower. All very very clean. Breakfast was very good, and tasty, great choice. Service was excellent, with a friendly member of staff on duty.

Everywhere was decorated to a high spec, even the garden with the great covered terrace.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie_f1_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

It was very cold outside but in here we were warm and happy.
The room and en-suite were large and well fitted. The standard of fittings throughout is exceptional for a relatively cheap hotel. Most everything in St. Andrews is exceptionally expensive.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
Cleanliness is obviously a top priority.
The food is good and the bars and lounges well furnished and styled. The beer garden at the back is superb; a real bonus for smokers.
There is a large public car park 2 minutes walk away through the West portal.
The final pleasing touch was the bill; not a lot for what we got.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bardowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We booked a room for one night through laterooms, very very reasonable price of £39.50 for 2 people. Room was a good size, clean and well presented. There's a great choice for breakfast, which is served in the main bar area. Good place to use as a base for visiting the town.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebecca_hazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Been visiting The West Port since 1998 when we first went to St Andrews to university. The West Port seemed to change ownership/management/decor almost annually between 2002 and 2011! However, the varying styles of menus and design have always included wonderful food. It's quite expensive now but I think it does still give value for money. Location is great and the garden large. Always a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tjh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We came here for a family meal and were impressed with the food. We had a range of dishes including thai curry, fish and chips, chicken and bacon pancakes and the venison burger. We all enjoyed the dishes except for my partner who found the burger a bit soggy. the staff were not overly friendly but everything was served in good time and overall we were pleased. Atmosphere is lovely and is in a very central spot which is handy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank oragonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We checked in around teatime so the bar was already quite busy with folk who'd obviously just finished work. Cheerful and friendly staff showed us to room number 1 which is directly above the main bar area so you do get quite a bit of noise from downstairs, especially later at night.
Spacious room well laid out with a separate dressing area, tea/coffee facilities and flat screen TV.
Breakfast was very nice with a great selection. Evening meals were tremendous, we ate there two nights and each meal was spot on.
The bar is the type we would frequent anyway which made it more appealing, just wish it had been warmer to sit outside!
Parking could be a bit hit and miss but we managed to grab a space directly outside both days, it's free from 5pm to 8am.
Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToonBarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#12 of 17 in St. Andrews
694 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St. Andrews
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
537 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#13 of 17 in St. Andrews
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Port Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Port Bar & Kitchen

Address: 170 South Street, St. Andrews KY16 9EG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Price Range: $78 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 4 luxurious contemporary styled en suite bathrooms, located above our bar - perfect for a short break in St Andrews. Relax and enjoy your stay at West Port, St Andrews. You can be assured of a great night's sleep and excellent hospitality, together with modern styled en-suite accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West Port Bar & Kitchen St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing