We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The owners have obviously spent time thinking about the extra touches”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kinkell House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #48 of 73 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We had a most enjoyable stay, with a lovely view of peahens and rabbits on the lawn first thing in the morning from our spacious bedroom. The bathroom was large and I had lovely long soaks in the bath with plenty of magazines provided. The owners have obviously spent time thinking about the extra touches. We particularly appreciated the extra heater in our room; blood thinned long ago from living in Bermuda! We had an interesting walk along the coast (watched by several apparently friendly bulls) and we enjoyed meeting the other guests at breakfast. Our hostess could not have been nicer, wonderful breakfasts and could not do enough for us. At every opportunity she was offering us tea, even when we came in at 10pm at night. If you want to experience country life in St. Andrews, go to Kinkell House! Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotscotjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 42 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2011

My husband and I were lucky to book in for one night during the busy graduation weekend. We slept so well - comfortable bed and wonderfully quiet! Breakfast was delicious - above and beyond expectation.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dublin730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

This is a hidden gem!!!
Located on a farm on the coastline just outside St Andrews. You have spectacular views of the farm and coastline. Wonderful hosts, Frippy and Sandy makes you feel at home in this beautiful historic country house. The rooms are beautiful decorated and the beds are very comfortable. Breakfast is a real feast with a huge variety from muesli to a full Scottish breakfast. We will definitely go back.
Highly recommended to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank 186394Claudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

we passed through st andrews on a tour of scotland and found this bed and breakfast a very peaceful and beautiful place to stay. you can walk into st andrews from the house with great views of the abbey and the harbour and stunning coastal scenery and views all the way across to arbroath. the owners were friendly and welcoming and there is a lovely room where you can put your feet up in front of a big log fire after a long day of walking.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjf18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Located a couple of miles from St Andrews this was a great place to base ourselves for a golfing holiday (the property backs on to two golf courses!!). The country house is set back from the road on a diversified farm, with a beautiful view of the sea. We received a warm reception on arrival. Our room was clean and comfortable. We received a good cooked breakfast (plus delicious oatcakes and homemade marmalade).
Unlike some other B and B's I have stayed in, there is plenty of room and the owners are more then happy to share their house with you, their is a spacious living room; a good spot for reading a book in front of the fire or a game of backgammon.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patrickjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Lovely homely home, had a very nice stay. Traditional Scottish farmhouse, would highly recomend for a relaxed and unique guesthouse .

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauraclairef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2009

The house is a short drive from St. Andrew’s and is well sited to explore the area. It is set in beautiful surroundings and is very peaceful. The owners are welcoming, friendly and attentive. The house is large and roomy however it is in need of much modernisation including rewiring and fitting with 13amp sockets. Carpets, bedding, towels etc. were all clean but well worn and tatty. No tea and coffee making facilities or TV in room. We stayed as a result of receiving a voucher, which effectively gave us one night free. Even with this the value was not good and we would have not been at all happy to pay the full rate.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yogi9260Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillAlex, Owner at Kinkell House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2010

We are a very busy B&B and have many very satisfied and repeat customers. We welcome guests as if they were friends and although we do not normally provide tea making facilities in rooms this is available on request, and guests are welcome to use our sitting room with open fire, television and tea or coffee if required.

Parts of the house have been rewired and all of the wiring has been tested to ensure safety.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.5 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,314 reviews
3.9 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,171 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Spindle Bed and Breakfast
The Spindle Bed and Breakfast
#39 of 73 in St. Andrews
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Old Station
The Old Station
#28 of 73 in St. Andrews
178 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cambo House, Cambo Estate
Cambo House, Cambo Estate
#2 of 3 in Kingsbarns
216 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Golf Inn
The Golf Inn
#31 of 73 in St. Andrews
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinkell House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinkell House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Kinkell Farm | Kinkell Farm, St. Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Price Range: $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinkell House is a family home on a farm on the coast to the south and east of St Andrews where Sandy and Frippy offer a warm welcome, good food and friendly hospitality. An ideal base for golfers, or those interested in the historic medieval city ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kinkell House Bed & Breakfast St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing