We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice breakfast, but the room was a converted garage with very little natural light!”

Ashgrove Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ashgrove Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 12 Kirkcaldy B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 20, 2009

Agree with the other reviewers about the breakfast being very good and the welcome being friendly, but the double en-suite room that we stayed in was, we found out later, a garage converted into a double bedroom! It was comfortable enough for one night and clean, but very little natural light as the light came from a door in the L-shape of the room. And it would be a little cramped for a longer stay that's for sure and not really a great place to retreat to for a break during the day because of the lack of light.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catalan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 69 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2009

Was really lucky in finding this b&b when visiting Kirkcaldy. It was like a home from home Keith the owner was the perfect host and his breakfast was the best I have ever had eat your heart out Gordon Ramsay. The rooms were of a very high standard and will go back.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kchrisScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2009

Stayed here on a few occasions, very helpful and obliging owner... immaculate rooms with clean, crisp bedding and superb en suite especially in the family room! The breakfast alone is worth booking for, not just for the superb 'fry up' on offer but a vast range to choose from.

Well worth the stay!

Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
Thank liggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2007

I stayed in Kirkcaldy for one night on a business trip and if you take the train there from Edinburgh there are some stunning views. I arranged to stay at The Ashgrove rather than a larger hotel as it offered great value at £35 for the night. Guest House/B&B's can be a bit of a gamble but this one certainly paid off.

The welcome was incredibly warm and totally genuine, with some useful hints on where to eat/drink. The room was well decorated with really comfortable beds, plasma TV, range of tea and coffee, biscuits and toffees as well as an en-suite shower with nice fluffy towels provided. Also has a radiator on which you can control the heat.

Breakfast was superb - freshly cooked to order with lovely bacon, sausage, eggs, toast, potato cake, orange juice and coffee - yummy.

The owners were helpful in giving me directions and I would definitely stay there again. Certainly one of the best places I have stayed anywhere and for the money I can't recommend it highly enough

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank anglopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer 3 schlechte Matratze
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith011, Owner at Ashgrove Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WorldTravelerTuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith011, Owner at Ashgrove Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank d0we
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kirkcaldy hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beveridge Park Hotel
The Beveridge Park Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
266 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
202 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Dean Park Hotel
The Dean Park Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lothrie Bed & Breakfast
Lothrie Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 12 in Kirkcaldy
62 reviews
2.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 12 in Kirkcaldy
43 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Elbow Room
The Elbow Room
#7 of 12 in Kirkcaldy
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashgrove Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashgrove Bed & Breakfast

Address: 213 Nicol Street, Kirkcaldy KY1 1PF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Kirkcaldy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkcaldy
Price Range: $81 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashgrove Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashgrove Bed&Breakfast is a family run 3 star Visit Scotland listed bed and breakfast. We are central located to all amenities and travel 5 mins walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Ashgrove Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashgrove Bed & Breakfast Kirkcaldy, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing