We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent home cooked food in a pleasant unrushed atmosphere”
Review of Giovannis

Giovannis
Ranked #18 of 127 Restaurants in Kirkcaldy
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent home cooked food in a pleasant unrushed atmosphere”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Freshly prepared food that is very reasonably priced, home made bread and good honest service. I have never had a bad meal at giovannis, decor not that great but who cares the food does the talking

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 12456shazyba234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    29
    13
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great little Italian”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I have been going to Giovanni's for years. Food is always superb, always cooked fresh and always piping hot when it arrives to the table. They also have a set menu midweek which includes 3 courses for £12, which in this day and age is a rarity. I know a lot of people who compare Giovanni's to Panevino's just down the road, the food at Panevino's is nice but is more microwaved and a little tasteless. Giovanni's is usually very busy at the weekends so its worthwhile booking a table, and definately worth a visit!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank striker200181673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Favourite italian without a doubt - only visited Giovannis for the first time a year ago but we go quite regularly as we enjoy it so much. Lovely food, nice staff and a real family atmosphere. It is a real treat to dine here! They have a really good early evening set menu which is great also.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“You're better off with a microwave lasagne.”
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Visited this restaurant a few times and I really cannot see why it is so popular. Cramped tables, inept staff and distinctly average food. Avoid, there are much better Italian restaurants in the fife area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gillian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice food, terrible service.”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I went here for a family meal on week night. To begin with, drinks ordered were very slow to arrive and then the drinks did arrive (after complaining) they werent what we asked for. Starters were lovely. We then waited about 1 hour until our mains arrived. Most of the meals were lovely. Apart from the salmon which was overcooked. Overall, service was slow and waitress was inattentive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jennascotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovannis also viewed

 
Kirkcaldy, Fife
 

Been to Giovannis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing